We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bang for The Buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Dogs

City Dogs
1316 E Cary St,, Richmond, VA 23220-4851
(804) 343-3647‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 1,373 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Clintwood, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best Bang for The Buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We ate at City Dogs,a small establishment located a couple of blocks from the Richmond Omni.This place was manned by two people,one who did all the cooking ,the other who placed the orders,brought the food and beverages,and tallied your bill.ANYONE who is in the downtown Richmond area,must give this place a visit.They have a variety of hot dog dishes,with fresh cut french fries prepared fresh for their patrons.The night I ate there ,they had a special for hot dogs,one dollar a piece,plus a great happy hour.This venue is small but one of the best places to get lunch fare anywhere in downtown Richmond.Trust me,you will not be disappointed!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Horrible service, bad attitudes, didn't even get to the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family and I didn't bother to order food. Our waitress rolled her eyes at us when she saw that our party was 8 + two toddlers. The restaurant isn't set up for parties of more than 6. We didn't mind splitting up our tables and we didn't think it would be a problem since the place was completely EMPTY, save for the waitresses' boyfriend.

Between the eye rolls and whispering to the cook and her boyfriend, my family and I decided to leave after our drinks without ordering food. We also left no tip. We apologized for inconveniencing the waitress during working hours. A competing restaurant in the neighborhood was more than happy to seat us and serve us with politeness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hot Dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very nice place, comfortable with TV's well placed. The servers are friendly and the service was fast. The hot dogs are excellent, can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cold Beer and a Snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We wound up here on a fluke while killing time waiting for the canal cruise. Looking for a cold beer and a snack we got just what we bargained for. The hotdogs were skinny, selections were plentyful. Frenchfries were plentyful but over cooked. Good selection of beer which hit the spot. Waitress did her job... no flair, charm or charisma... she took our order, served are food and that was it... no smile, or welcoming greeting. I would not search this place out... but if had time to kill and needed a beer with a snack while waiting on the canal cruise I would do it again. Oh I forgot to mention... the hotdogs and beer were reasonably priced... everything else on the menu was way overpriced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Not Exactly Tubular Steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you're looking for an inexpensive meal in Shockoe Slip and can tolerate a cramped joint serving a variety of so-so hot dogs, this is the place. Otherwise, I'd pass it by. It's not one of the great tube steak emporia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Dogs also viewed

 

Been to City Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.