We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Dining At It's Finest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maggiano's - Richmond

Maggiano's - Richmond
11800 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233
8042530900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggiano's - Richmond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Granville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Business Dining At It's Finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Service is great. Food quality is on par with some upper end Italian restaurants. There is price / value in their menu offerings.
Adequate wine list. Ambience is great and the booths are comfortable.
It's a great venue for entertaining business clients.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    71
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Favorite That Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Maggiano's is a favorite that never disappoints. Although a chain, the food is consistently good, plentiful, and fairly priced. The service is usually prompt and courteous. What's not to like? It is especially a good value if you choose the "Buy one, take one home" deal on their classic pastas. Although the service on my most recent visit was a bit sluggish, I was not in a hurry and it didn't really matter that much (as long as they kept the bread basket refilled).

My dining companion and I ordered the $39.99 meal for two (one shared appetizer, two entrees, a shared dessert, plus TWO classic pastas to take home). I had a $10 coupon for my birthday, so all of this came to $29.99 plus tax and tip. Considering that I took home part of my main meal, plus an extra full meal ..... this is quite the deal. No cooking for me this week!

The stuffed mushroom appetizer was very good - juicy and crunchy and flavorful. My mushroom stuffed ravioli was heavenly -- although a little bit skimpy. I did take two home because I wanted to see what they were like heated up the next day. I took home the four-cheese stuffed raviolis. My companion had lasagna as his main meal, and also took home the four-cheese stuffed raviolis.

We shared the tiramisu for dessert. It is heavenly. Fluffy, creamy, light and just the right amount of coffee flavor. Probably one of the best tiramisu desserts I've had.

The downside to Maggiano's is the noise level. It is not good for an intimate dinner, since there are usually large (and often boisterous) crowds. But it is a place where you feel comfortable and go away knowing that you had a good meal, total comfort food, and didn't break the bank. And having leftovers for a day or two afterwards is always an added bonus.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a favorite never a disappointment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Been going to this place since it opended always have the best experience with food and drinks. Recommand to have reservations for weekend otherwise be ready to wait.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is my husband's favorite! The food is always good and fresh. The management and wait staff treat us like family after all these years! The bogo pasta dishes are a great deal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delayed by weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Had lunch here due to a weather delay and wanted to eat in a familiar place. The menu and the food were just like home but the sunny waitress made this a special meal. Her ability to tweak our choices to our requests was amazing. Each couple chose the "2 for" special which gives you 2 entrees, 1 appetizer and 1 dessert plus 2 entrees to go. The process is so refined that the to go portions come from the refrigerator in plastic tubs and a website address to use for reheating instructions. Overall this was your typical chain restaurant experience enhanced by southern hospitality

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggiano's - Richmond also viewed

 

Been to Maggiano's - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggiano's - Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.