We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food has gotten better, service still spotty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maggiano's - Richmond

Maggiano's - Richmond
11800 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23233
8042530900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggiano's - Richmond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The food has gotten better, service still spotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a special occasion so we decided to get one our favorites another try. After being seated it took about 5 minutes to locate our waitress. After that the pace was pleasant and the waitress was nice. Entre arrived was hot, first time in 3 visits, and was delicious. One problem. Our waitress disappeared. She was gone at least 20 min. I flagged another to fill our water glasses. A manager approached and was very polite and I ordered coffee from him. The waitress finally showed back up and placed bill on table and left, I called her over to inquire about her absence, She then apologized in rather not very genuine and phony manner.
So, we will have to think long and hard about going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    71
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great service. Fun atmosphere. Near shopping at Short Pump Mall. Even has an outside patio with a fountain. Food always superb. Big groups well taken care of. Great Italian food. Sometimes they have buy one entree, take one home specials.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to have a birthday dinner here. There were 5 adults and 1 child in our party, all of the adults are in agreement on this review, a rarity in our family for all to have the same opinion.

The reservation system is great; restaurant sends email notices and telephones a reminder. We were seated promptly at reserved time.

The tables are very close together, one person in our party had her chair continually bumped by servers for nearby table.

Server was extremely slow and forgetful. We ordered milk for the one child, a 2 year old, in our party. After 20 minutes and several reminders to server she brought the milk. Was not very attentive, during appetizers and meal she did not come to table to inquire if more drinks needed nor to ask if we needed anything. Came only at the end of the meal to ask if we wanted dessert.

The calamari was excellent, the meals were ok, just ok. Granted, they give you huge portions, but we would rather have smaller portions of excellent food. Each one of us had a different meal and all agree that meals were ok, nothing great.

If you want huge portions this is the place to go, if you want excellent Italian food go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
549 helpful votes 549 helpful votes
“Mother’s Day Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

For this last Mother’s day our oldest daughter wanted to treat her mother to a special dinner at Maggiano’s Little Italy. She made reservations well in advanced and had planned all the details to make this a memorable evening. Our dinner reservation was for 7 PM and thinking ahead, we arrived in plenty of time to find parking and make it to the restaurant with plenty of time to spare.

Upon entering Maggigano’s it was obvious they were doing their best to get waiting patrons seated as quickly and efficiently as possible which turned out to be a bit chaotic. We finally made it to the reservation area (it was 7 PM at this point) and were given a blinking handheld device to alert us when our table was ready. 20 minutes later we were led to the second floor seating area. Our table was towards the staircase and we were surrounded by several large groups are well as smaller 4 person tables. As we looked over the menu’s several other couples and families were seated around us. My wife was especially looking forward to a great dinner and my daughter (just out of college) was beaming with pride that she was able to afford this outing. Wait staff immediately ascended on the recently seated couples and families with orders for drinks and appetizers. We waited 15 minutes before receiving any attention.

Our server ‘Wade’ approached our table and started pouring water into our waters glasses all the while looking at the other servers. When he got around to asking for our drink preferences, my wife looked exasperated and ordered a glass of red wine. He called me ‘Captain’ and asked what I would like and then he asked our daughter. 25 minutes later he brought our drinks. At this point the other tables had finished their appetizers and were enjoying their entrees. My wife ordered the Tomato Caprese (absolutely delicious) for our appetizer and Mom’s Lasagna – Meat Source for her entrée. My daughter ordered the Parmesan Crusted Tilapia and I ordered the Crab and Shrimp Cannelloni with an Italian Tossed salad.

While taking our orders, our server seemed distracted and when he repeated our orders he had to be corrected. 30 minutes later our food was served. Now it has to be said the food was absolutely fantastic (presentation, portions, flavors, etc.). By this point the dining area was starting to empty as more and more couples and families were leaving. We waited for our server to return and check on us; however it was not to be. I asked another wait staff person if she could locate our server and she looked both surprised and bit shocked. She apologized and set off to find him. We were now among the very few in the dining area when he showed up. No apology, no concern, I asked him to please box my wife’s dinner. It would be another 20 minutes before he appeared. To say the service at this upscale restaurant was deplorable would be an understatement. My daughter wanted to show her mother how much she appreciates her and this was the event. Our server seemed uninterested in providing quality, attentive service, which poorly reflects on Maggiano’s management and hiring selections.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Va
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great exciting place with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Celebrated a birthday with just the two of us. Food was fantastic. Server was very pleasant. Noisy, energetic, enjoyable time. Need to make a reservation. It's usually full but that's because everyone loves it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggiano's - Richmond also viewed

 

Been to Maggiano's - Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggiano's - Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.