We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Richmond-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Richmond-West to your Saves list
HYATT house Richmond-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with Hyatt House. Clean interior lobby and friendly staff made check-in simple. The room was fantastic with a kitchenette, including fridge-freezer, microwave and dishwasher. No bath but good-sized shower which was nice. Breakfast was complimentary, buffet-style and fine. Little shop in the lobby was handy.

Couple of things that could be improved (niggles rather than anything serious): -outdoor pool was closed for the winter, though I hadn't seen this information on the hotel website so had packed swimming gear; -arriving late after a long flight and drive from Dulles, I found it difficult to work out the food situation. The H bar was heavily advertised throughout the hotel, but when I asked about food I was given a menu for an external restaurant and was told to call them to deliver. I only realised the next day when I had time that the hotel was on the mall with loads of restaurants to pick from. -water from shower went everywhere!

As I say, these are niggles for the hotel to be aware of and didn't overly detract from my very pleasant stay. The location on the mall is excellent for food options without needing to drive, and the rooms really are perfect - especially for a longer stay. I would come back if I was in the area again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    84
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
92
95
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel because my husband and I were eating at Texas de Brazil which was right there. I skimmed a couple reviews that said it was good and made our reservation. I should have read a little closer as we were shocked when we pulled in and it was actually at the mall. I was nervous at that point, however I was mistaken. This is in fact one of the best hotels we have stayed at. It is beautiful and is very modern.

Bad things, the doors are loud as described but we were lucky and didn't have have a bunch of noisy people in the hall. We did have a group out by the pool making some noise, but I slept through it, my husband told me the next morning that was why he left the tv on. The shower is beautiful, although I am glad I don't have one of these in my house water goes all over the bathroom floor.

We would absolutely stay here again and talked about maybe even coming back to shop and go to Dave and Busters.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed last night...We live about 30 mins away, but was celebrating my boyfriend's birthday all day in the same area.. A day of pampering at Red Door Spa, dinner at Lehja and shopping all in the same mall so this was a perfect relaxing hotel for us... The room was clean, modern and spacious...and a very comfy bed.. I had reserved a king suite, but was upgraded to a one bedroom King suite (Thank you, Katherine Holland) .. We ordered wine and a fruit cheese tray and it was at the door within minutes..breakfast buffet was included and very good... Overall a nice weekend getaway close to home...I would have given it a 5; however the a/c-heater unit in our room was crazy loud and I woke up every time it come on during the night .. they may need to look into that room...(625) and not the fault of the hotel, but people coming in from partying around 2 and 3 in the morning became ridiculously loud and kept slamming their hotel door.. Def would return :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was a great weekend getaway for me and my husband. This hotel has a bar which opens at 5:00 and a hot breakfast in the morning. The room was really nice and cozy loved the large walk in shower. The staff was very helpful and very knowledgeable with every question I asked. This hotel is in the center of the Shortpump Mall. We met another couple for dinner at the Firebird resteraunt, which you walk out of the front of the hotel and around the corner to the right less than a minute walk, perfect place to stay. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A friend and I flew in and rented rooms as part of a wedding party hotel block, and we couldn't stop saying, "Wow!" I've stayed in rooms all over the world, and this was perhaps one of the nicest, if not *the* nicest. For $119/nt., we had a large room each, including a full kitchen, desk/office, living room with couch and tv (which we never turned on), vanity area, and bathroom with toilet and fantastic shower - even the amenities like toothpaste, shower gel, soaps, etc. were high class. Service was absolutely top-notch with friendly staff everywhere, from the front desk to the breakfast area.

The lobby was very inviting with a slightly Asian motif, and greenery everywhere - very clean lines, and everything was practically gleaming, it was so spotless.

The hotel itself is located in one of those new, upscale outside mall villages with a lot of shops and a lot of dining options. It seemed to be located within a reasonable distance from downtown Richmond, too, which was helpful.

Only negatives to mention would be the very loud doors; even when being very careful, they made a loud noise. Also, the breakfast was a bit on the cool side, but that's going to happen when other guests have the lids on the serving dishes up more than down. It might be helpful to place the toasters at the end of the breakfast line, as well, since it seemed to clog the queue in the middle, forming a sort of people pile-up. :)

All-in-all, one of the very best hotels in which I've ever stayed. Thank you, Hyatt House Richmond-West!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm always hesitant to give five stars to a hotel that is not a luxury five star resort. I mean, do I think this hotel is as luxorious as the Four Seasons Maui? No.

But, this hotel is an extraordinary value. At less than $120/night, this hotel is situated in a hotel complex in the wealthy west-side of Richmond. You can walk to the stores, restaurants or movie theater. Plus the suites are beautifully decorated and spacious, with a full kitchen.

In toto, this hotel is five stars for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Overall, i really like this Hyatt House. The rooms are well planned, spacious, clean, fresh, friendly and comfortable. Great place to stay.

I really like that it is adjacent to the Short Pump Town Center Mall. Great place to spend a day. The Mall is GREAT! The area is GREAT! Everything is right here. Movie theaters, entertainment, food and dining options abound!

If i had one disappointment, it was breakfast. It is 'OK', but nothing special. Hyatt usually does breakfast great! Bacon was 'barely cooked', instead of 'crispy' as is typical of this chain (My neighbors remarked that it was 'raw'), Oatmeal was cooked 'solid' and not eatable. They were out of bananas. Omelette station was nice, but most ingredients were not fresh (Soggy frozen spinach, etc), no egg whites or egg beaters. Disappointing. I would stick to the cereal, juice options.

Overall, great hotel though. Love it...REALLY love to location. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Richmond-West

Address: 11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your HYATT house Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Richmond-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.