We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Richmond-West

Save Saved
You added HYATT house Richmond-West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Richmond-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Slow Down Spa Package
Ranked #3 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hyatt House is a superior hotel located minutes awawy from downtown Richmond. This hotel is conviently located near a mall and many restaurants. Its a beautiful hotel room with a kitchenette and sofa. I stayed in the studio and it felt like I had my own little apartment for the weekend. My window over looked the courtyard where I saw a cozy fire burning ad a hot tub. I will be sure to come back to this htel next time I visit Richmond!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    66
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
84
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashvillle
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While on an overnight business trip to Richmond, I stayed at the Hyatt House was was extremely impressed with both the location as well as the well thought out accomodations.
I was most impressed with the shower as the shower door had a circular cutout so that you could reach in and turn on the water! No more strategically placing yourself so you don't get hit by a blast of cold or hot water. Kudos to the designer!
Check in was warm and friendly. The room included a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator, a stove, dishwasher and microwave as well as dishes and glasses.
Internet access was complimentary.
My room overlooked several restaurants in the mall (which is attached to the Hyatt and makes for an easy way to pick up something from one of the department stores.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this facility for four nights in September 2012. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room, which included a very nicely equipped kitchenette, lounging/TV area, and a very comfortable king-sized bed. The other great thing was, the room was very quiet. Although the hotel was fully booked during my time there, I couldn't hear a peep from outside, the hallway, or adjacent rooms.

The place is immaculate, the breakfast choices were really tasty, and I love the location, which is directly adjacent to Short Pump shopping center--a good way to entertain oneself and get some exercise walking around after a long work day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location, off I-64 near I-295 connector, drive around to the rear of the Short Pump shopping center and Hyatt is near Dick's Sporting Goods. Friendly & efficient checkin. We had a studio king with windows overlooking Firebirds. Attractive & nicely furnished, everything was clean, everything worked. Super-convenient to park the car after a long drive, check in and then walk to dinner with a good choice of restaurants or fast-food or shopping, as you like. Mix of hot and cold items on the breakfast buffet. Definitely recommend this for an overnight or two, certainly worth the very short detour if you're driving on I-95 north or south.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were a party of 2 adults plus an elderly relative, so we needed one room with 2 queen beds so we could keep an eye on her. The building looked relatively new and renovated, and the public spaces were sleek, with a contemporary flair. The room was nicely sized (see photo) with 2 queen beds, a long desk, flat screen, clean bathroom with Gilchrist & Soames bath products. On the second floor, there is a nice sized fitness center with doors to an outside pool. In the fall the pool is closed, but they keep the adjoining hot tub going, and there is a nice fire pit which is open year-round every evening. Breakfast is several notches above other hotels, with a better selection of baked goods, hot foods and a great omelet bar with made-to-order omelets.
The only issue is getting there: that there are several area Hyatts nearby and if you search by hotel name, this one does not show up on the nav system. The hotel's website tells you to enter Sierra as the name of the hotel, but that didn't show up on our nav either. If you search for the address for Short Pump Town Center, you will see 11800 W. Broad, Richmond. Our Nav couldn't find it until we put in Henrico as the town, not Richmond. The best way to get here, and what the hotel people should emphasize, is that if you can get yourself to the Short Pump shopping mall - a huge place - then drive around the mall's loop until you see Dick's sporting goods. if you get to Dick's you will see the hotel.

Other than the confusing and contradictory directions, it is a very nice hotel, literally inside the mall complex, so convenient to food and abundant shopping. I would definitely stay here again - especially now that I know how to get here!

Room Tip: We were put on the top floor 6th - very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I knew of this location because of a previous visit where I was at the Town Center but I used a GPS to get me there late at night and it only gets you close. Investigate prior to the trip to know it is in the back of the mall. I had a late night arrival of 12:45am so I didn't expect to see a whole lot of activity in the lobby but expected to at least see the greeter or someone other than the floor cleaner upon arrival. After 30 seconds or so a person came out to greet me but she had her name tag on upside down and the blouse she had on looked like she just slurped up some spaghetti because it was covered in sauce stains. Got checked in and headed to my room. I had a suite which was nice but I was only there for 2 nights but will keep in mind for longer stays in the future. As soon as I hit the bed I noticed it was very comfortable, like a cloud and I had some of the best sleep I have had while traveling these 2 nights. The breakfast buffet was very good. Large selection of items hot and cold to eat and the coffee is quite good. Room was very nice and the internet connection was better than usual with no problem connecting to work. If you are looking for a room with a view this isn't the hotel for you, I had a view of the pool which was nicely light up and the fire pit was roaring with a few people enjoying the unseasonably warm weather. The other side of the hotel views would be a mall parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a new and really nice hotel that is ATTACHED to the ----- Mall about 15 minutes from Richmond downtown.  it is in a nice up scale suburb yet convenient to Richmond for sight seeing or business.  The hotel is the new Hyatt suite, extended stay concept, Hayatt house.  Only this used to be another hotel brand so it is a remodel.  The "kitchen" is a microwave and mini fridge, not even a wet bar sink.  I chose a corner executive room which was huge with 7 windows.  Only problem is the windows overlook a shopping center (Macy's, nNordstom, Dillard's) parking lot.  But the room is nice the staff was nice.  The free breakfast was moderate.  Nice selection of restaurants around within a mile.  If you are looking to shop till you drop this is the hotel for you.  Others will find it OK but the Dicks Sporting Goods Superstore next door takes away from the ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT house Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Richmond-West

Address: 11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Richmond-West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your HYATT house Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Richmond-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.