We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly staff. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Richmond Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Richmond Airport to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4401 South Laburnum Avenue, The Shops at White Oak Village, Richmond, VA 23231   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location. Friendly staff. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Came on a semi business trip with spouse to a new movie premier. No room service. Hate that. So So priced. Comfy beds.
Staff does an OK job cleaning rooms. Terrible job in the common areas of Hotel.
Lots of kids unattended using the business area computers. Had to come back several times to print boarding passes.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on our hotel. We hope you will join us again in the future. I do apologize that the children that were staying in the hotel were not tended to better, this as I am sure you know contributed to the public areas not being kept as we generally do. We appreciate you choosing The Hyatt Place at the Airport and hope you will be our guest again. May the 2014 spring and summer season be good to you and yours!

Warmest regards, Jody Moore and team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
51
32
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

In the transition of moving to Richmond, we spent several days at the Hyatt Place on Laburnum Ave. From the front desk to maid service, without exception, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were a bit high maintenance as I had a broken ankle and broken wrist, plus we had our small dog with us, but they were always very accommodating. Our dog looked forward to walking past the front desk, as they offered him a greeting & dog treat.

We stayed in a handicap room on the main floor that was clean and up-to-date. The large flat screen TV was a bonus. The beds were comfortable. We didn't try the continental breakfast, but my husband appreciated the on-site free Starbucks coffee. There was a coffee pot in our room supplied with tea, as well. Once, as we were leaving our room, maid service was passing by and asked if there was anything we needed in our room, or if we needed extra towels or anything. My husband requested more coffee, and from then on out, extra coffee was next to the coffee pot upon our return to our room in each day.

There are many places to eat within walking distance: Chick Fil A, Applebee's, Olive Garden, Steak & Shake, Red Lobster, Taco Bell, Five Guys, and Longhorn Steak, to just name a few, and many others on Laburnum Ave. Target is right next door, so if you need anything, it's very convenient.

The manager is to be applauded, as the staff seemed very well trained to excellent service.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family when coming to the area. I really can't say a bad thing about it.

Room Tip: The main floor, handicap room 101, was very quiet and out of the way, with quick and easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I remember you needing the first floor due to having your little ones with you and your injuries. I certainly hope the next time you come you will be feeling better. Thank you for your kind words for my staff. We appreciate you choosing out hotel and being our guest, we hope to see you again soon and please never hesitate to call on us if we can ever assist you with making reservations or your accommodations while here.

Best wishes for a wonderful spring and summer.

Jody Moore and team from The Hyatt Place at The Airport Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We chose Hyatt Place because we have stayed at Hyatt place in other cities with great experiences. Not so much at this location. The front desk staff at check in were very pleasant. We were give a ground floor room and requested a upper floor but were told there was a birthday party up there and they were trying to find a quieter room. So we stayed on the main floor. The room itself was just OK. Not Hyatt quality. Couch was frayed, carpet still dirty / dusty, in bathroom there was evidence of a leak and ceiling was falling, there also was something not sure what on back of bathroom door and wall. Used coffee cups left in room. Bed was good with nice linens.

Other issue we had was breakfast. After reading other reviews I thought the buffet would be really good. The buffet offered eggs and an egg and sausage link mix. My husband chose the egg and sausage mix. In the mix there was some bone or something in the sausage and it caused my husband to crack his tooth. This pretty much ended our breakfasts at the hotel.

I know that kind of thing "happens" but we were really looking forward to a nice relaxing stay at a nice hotel and well it did not meet our expectations. With the worn out couch, room cleanliness and breakfast issues it left me with a feeling that this was a lower class hotel than the Hyatt name usually provides.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I apologize that we did not meet you expectations. I am taking corrective action regarding your issue. I hope you will try us again in the future as we do appreciate your business and your comments.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I had a great time perfect quick get away. The room was clean and very comfortable the staff was accomodating if you needed anything. Small gym and a heated pool perfect for a winter getaway. The breakfast was good fresh fruits, lighter menu options, 24 hr Cafe option available.

Downtown Richmond 15 minutes away and any shopping needs available right next door to the hotel you really don't have to go anywhere. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay. We are glad you chose The Hyatt Place Airport Richmond and hope ypu will stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel one weekend for a wedding. This location is great cause next to lots if stores and restaurants. The hotel is cute with a nice lobby and quaint entry. The rooms are suites with refrigerators no microwaves. The TV is flat screen and large. At first I was appreciative of the modern room and bathroom. However the sofa had burn holes in it and there was hair in the bathroom. Later after dinner a I tried to kill a roach with the room magazine. After 6 times I think it died behind the sofa. I was freaked out for the rest of the time and couldn't wait to leave. The housekeeping the next day did not come till 6pm. The hallway was freezing at at like 40 some degrees. It felt like being outside but with a fan. Last the breakfast was minor. You would be better off just going to one of the restaurants next door which we did after being disappointed with the selection. I suppose this hotel might be ok if you want a good location and don't mind all this but if not stay at a better hotel. Next time I will!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jody M, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Hyatt Place Richmond Airport for your most recent stay. We appreciate that you stayed with us. I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and hope you will give us an opportunity to have you as our guest again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here while in Richmond for training. Nice facility and many stores and restaurants in the area. You can walk to some of the restaurants. Have stayed plenty of times. Would recommend for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Decided as we were driving to FL from NJ to stop & rest at 10 pm. This hotel was priced right with free parking, continental breakfast and pet friendly. Room was Beautiful, big n clean and we didn't leave hungry.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello!!!!

Thank you so much for staying with us. Not only do we appreciate you choosing The Hyatt Place Richmond Airport for your most recent stay in Richmond but your kind comments as well.

I hope you will stay with us again and do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next reservations when traveling through Virginia.

Thank you,

Jody Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond Airport

Address: 4401 South Laburnum Avenue, The Shops at White Oak Village, Richmond, VA 23231
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.