We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refund policy and communication= poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #32 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
“refund policy and communication= poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We planned to stay here overnight and booked through Expedia. Unfortunately, snow cancelled our trip. I called the hotel who said they were getting lots of cancellations but because the room was booked through Expedia we would need to call them. Expedia was willing to refund the room because the cancellation was due to weather. The hotel however, refused to allow the refund - apparently, if I had made the reservation directly through the hotel there would have been no issue! The manager also refused to return our phone calls. This was a hotel policy and NOT an Expedia policy but it sure makes me wonder about booking that way again. I will certainly not stay at the Doubletree in the future.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdbl, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Thank you about your comments regarding your reservation at the Doubletree – Downtown Richmond. We most certainly have seen more of our normal share of snow storms this season, and I was sorry to hear a storm impacted your travels to our city.

I apologize that you were not refunded for this unexpected cancellation. We actually are very understanding when severe weather impacts travel unexpectedly. I am sorry we did not rectify your concerns to your satisfaction, as well a manager did not get back to you in a timely fashion. Please know your comments are reviewed with the entire team here so we can improve on our services in the future.

Thank you for these comments, and please feel free to call me, or email me at john.cario@hilton.com to rectify this concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    139
    111
    39
    34
See reviews for
118
86
39
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We had our company Christmas party, the party was set up very nicely and the food was devine. I stayed in the hotel and my accomodations were great. The room was comfortable and relaxing. The associates at this hotel were very helpful and polite. I definetly will use them anytime I need a place to go.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdbl, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that your recent stay at the Doubletree Richmond was "fantastic". Our goal is to "provide exceptionally warm and caring service" and we are glad we accomplished this. We look forward to your future visits should your travels, or holiday events return you to the area and the Doubletree.

Sincerely, John Cario - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Good-size rooms, fast elevators. Iffy location, but at least close to the good restaurants at the Thomas Jefferson. Carpets stained, tub with painted over cracks. Snack store never open. Decent bar, so-so food. Full during the local marathon. Not sure it would be otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdbl, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Thank you about your comments regarding your stay at the Doubletree – Downtown Richmond. We welcome and appreciate our guests comments as this is the best way for us to continue to improve our operation.

I apologize that your stay with us was less than you expected, and will address your noted concerns. Please know your comments are reviewed with the entire team here so we can address our guests concerns and improve on our services in the future.

Thank you for your feedback. If you have other comments or suggestions for our hotel, please feel free to email me at john.cario@hilton.com. I do hope to have an opportunity to show we can do much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

nice folks and lobby/bar area, but room had lots of carpet staining, chair stains, HUGE room, but bathrooms was so tiny you couldnt shut the door and stand at sink or toilet...little frig and microwave just sit stacked at the side like a dorm (no cabinet), no hangers in closet, furnitre finish in bath and room needs re-done (looked very old and worn, towels were old and rough, sheets didnt fit bed or stay tucked in and were thread bare. Not like most of the many Doubletrees we stay in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdbl, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Thank you about your comments regarding your stay at the Doubletree – Downtown Richmond. We appreciate your positive comments on our lobby / bar team, as well will address your other noted items.

Please know your comments are reviewed with the entire team here so we can address our guests concerns and improve on our services in the future, while also recognizing some of our star performers.

If you have other comments or suggestions for our hotel, please feel free to email me at john.cario@hilton.com. I look forward to your future Richmond visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Stayed here when it was a Radisson, and it needed a change. Booked here earlier this year after the change to a Doubletree and had some issues. I expressed my concerns to Mgmt. and they offered me a good rate when I returned. Most recent visit a total change-over! Great front desk, roomy, clean, comfortable room (the corner kings are very spacious) at great rate for downtown, with all the amenities in fine working order. Excellent food and service at "301", the restaurant/lounge in the lobby. Very close to VCU and a quick shuttle to the nightlife in Shockoe or Church Hill. And don't forget the free warm cookies at check-in! Much more personal than the Marriott or Omni.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripdbl, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Thank you about your comments regarding your stay at the Doubletree – Downtown Richmond. We sincerely appreciate your recent visit and thank you for recognizing our efforts to continually improve our operation.

We look forward to your next Doubletree - Richmond visit.

John Cario & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Richmond was added to my sales territory just this year and I have been traveling there regularly since then. I stayed at a few different hotels before I found the Doubletree. Now I won't stay anywhere else. It is in a wonderful safe and charming location. The lobby is a nice intimate size and not overpowering (feeling like a train station) like so many hotels. The rooms are a great size, nicely decorated, and very clean and comfortable. The staff is always so friendly and helpful. You can tell that they try to remember their regulars. They have a hotel van that drops me off at a local restaurant and then comes back to pick me up. Now they even have a computer in the lobby that gives great info on the local restaurants with pictures and menus, etc. In General, this is a really great hotel choice for Richmond. Very Guest Oriented. I just wish I could give the same review in all the towns I travel to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We were in Richmond for a wedding and decided to stay at the hotel. The room is typical of any DoubleTree I have stayed. At check-in, the staff Andrea could have done better by paying attention to what she was doing; we were sent to the wrong room that was still occupied. It took a call to front desk for her to correct her mistake and provide us the right room number. Other than this, I have no complaint.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Richmond
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.