We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Tree Richmond” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
United States
1 review
“Double Tree Richmond”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the hotel staff is great; the condition of the hotel, however, is poor. Hotel needs extensive upgrading. Doors in the room stuck, light bulbs were missing, burn marks in the carpet, no luggage racks in room. Also, the hotel charges $18 per day for parking.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    149
    121
    46
    35
See reviews for
134
95
42
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent a weekend visiting my daughter, and found the Doubletree to be a nice place to stay. It's an easy walk to campus and to the river trail system. Hotel bathroom was a little dowdy, but otherwise the room was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For persons using downtown events or VCU venues this is a perfect hotel. Service is excellent. Bathrooms are small, but rest of room was excellent. Valet parking can get overwhelmed easily on the weekends. Atmosphere in common areas was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is in the ideal location for visiting Richmond. It is centrally located to many sites in the area. The hotel staff are exceptional and the rooms are very clean. We have never had any problems or complaints. It is an older hotel but very well kept. Our rooms have been very spacious and quiet. We stay here every time we go to Richmond to visit our son at VCU.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Carol L,

Your comfort is our top priority, so it’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We enjoy hearing that you found our service friendly, location convenient and accommodations comfortable. We appreciate your review and recommendation and look forward to your return.

Best,
Toni Pinto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We decided to treat ourselves and stay at a Doubletree. When I traveled extensively for business this was a favorite marque. And it meant a cut above in Hilton, which for my money is the best chain. But this hotel is run down as soon as you step out of the lobby. The elevators have beat up plywood walls. The carpets are tired in the halls, the rooms a seedy gold tone. When we arrived the toilet was busted (fixed it immediately. Staff was very courteous everywhere). That didn't make for a bath about 5'x7' and hard to maneuver. Rest of the room was ok, but not special. When the guest in the next room showered we were stunned by the pipe noise. Getting your car from the valet is a total cluster. They have 2-3 people run ragged and nowhere to stage the cars. The ice machine on our floor was broken our entire 4 day stay. The bar charged $11 for an ounce pour of whiskey and breakfast was $15 for indifferent food. Not the best area of town. Could not recommend this hotel at the price point.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear A D,

I’m sorry that our hotel and accommodations left you underwhelmed; though, I appreciate you acknowledging our friendly staff. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages change for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Best,
Toni Pinto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Purchased a NASCAR racing package last weekend that included a two night stay in this hotel. Arrived late due to the horrendous I95 traffic but called ahead so our room was waiting. Right across the eighth floor elevator bank, the room was Spartan with two double beds and a nice LG flat screen however there were none of the customary and usual niceties one has become accustomed to in a quality hotel. Where was the mini-fridge? Why no microwave? No safe in the closet or anywhere else? Fairly common even at Holiday Inn Express, it was hard to believe a Hilton property was missing these niceties. Awoke Saturday and went down for the breakfast which was part of my package, not included with the room. Opted for the buffet which was fine but I dined alone as my partner had a migraine and remained in bed. I left the card in the key slot asking for a later room clean. Left for a fine day/night at the racetrack but returned to a room looking exactly as it did when we left. Unmade beds, used water glasses, trash in both baskets and old, damp towels. Nobody had entered our room to do anything despite telling the front desk clerk the tub did not drain. The water remained. Called front desk and new towels and glasses were provided. I told the clerk the deadbolt was missing a screw and likely would not function properly. I always bring my own wedgelock when I travel. I have been all over the world and this was likely the worst hotel I have had the misfortune to visit. Upon checkout the front desk did remove the nightly valet parking fee but that just isn't enough for me to return to any Doubletree.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator bank if possible. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear William D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property was not up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to Richmond.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was extremely nice. The staff was perfect and the food was delivered on time. We ordered room service. The food was a little pricey, but good. The hotel smelled nice and our room was very relaxing. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would do it again in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andre B,

We appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, relaxing accommodations and room service. Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. Your words serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay.

Best,
Toni Pinto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Richmond
#27 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.