We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Ashburn, United States
1 review
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much and found the DoubleTree to be clean and well located. The city was busy as it was the Governor's Inauguration but we didn't feel any of that busy feeling at the hotel. They handle it very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Jennifer P,
We're pleased to hear of your enjoyable stay with us at Doubletree Richmond. I'm glad you felt unaffected by the busyness of the city due to the Governor's Inauguration. We hope you'll return for another visit in the near future Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    165
    138
    53
    40
See reviews for
149
107
48
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thaxton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

First of all the staff was superb! The hotel is right on "Main Street" so nowhere to park. The amenities in the room were lacking. Outlet used for bedside table lamp not working/falling apart, no extra towels/washcloths/or toilet paper. We did call front desk and those items were brought to the room. These are the bare minimum and should already be in place when guests arrive. Would have used complimentary shuttle service but desk clerk "unsure" of departure/arrival times. Couldn't risk being late for an early am appointment 1 mile away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Courtney L,
Thank you for writing and bringing these concerns to my attention. We appreciate your recognition of the excellent service delivered by our staff, even though the amenities failed to meet your satisfaction. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your valuable comments have been addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure all of our guests enjoy a rewarding stay. We hope to have an opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Good location @ VCU and walking distance to good restaurants and bars. Street parking is possible, but area around the hotel is good & bad with homeless folks. The staff all aroud was very friendly and helpful, but the hotel is old and needs to be renovated. I'm a Hilton Gold and was put on the 14th floor; a Hilton Honors Floor. Nice bed, tv, furniture etc, but the bathroom was tiny. Breakfast was ok and as expected and the bar was fine. If you looking for luxury go two blocks east and stay at The Jefferson Hotel, but expect to pay A LOT MORE. This hotel is fine for 1-2 days.

Room Tip: Park on the street and save @ $18, but make sure you read the parking signs and take out valuables a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Yates26,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay. We appreciate your positive reflections regarding our great location and friendly staff, as well as opportunities for improvement. I assure you that we will take your comments into consideration to improve our property and overall guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Besides the heating unit blewing hot air and not turning off - this was a pleasant place to stay during my daughters cheer competition. The location was pretty convenient for everything, including the convention center where she competed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Tina D,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Doubletree Richmond during your daughter's cheer competition. It's great to hear of your pleasant stay, and we're glad our close proximity to the convention center perfectly suited for your travel needs. We sincerely apologize for the heating unit problems you encountered during your stay. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance staff so we can make the necessary repairs. We value you as our guest and hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While the staff was courteous and efficient, the property needed work. The heating system in the room emmitted an oily smell that was at times overpowering. And the water temperature in the shower was tepid at best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
David W,
Thank you for writing and bringing these concerns to my attention. I am very sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know your comments have been shared with our maintenance staff in order to make the necessary repairs. Your feedback is important to us as we continually strive to improve our guest experience. We hope you'll visit us again to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for one night while traveling. Pet friendly with reasonable pet fee which is important to us because we travel with two small dogs. Very friendly staff, good hotel location, close enough to interstate. Reasonably priced, great bathroom and linens but the furnishings and carpets could use updating. Overall positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
A TripAdvisor Member,
We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing Doubletree Richmond. It's great to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our friendly staff and convenient location well suited for your travels. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just a basic, mid-priced hotel. Very good service- The man who parked and retrieved our car was very kind and friendly. The location was half a block from the venue of the event I attended. Getting into the hotel was difficult because it is so close to the street, and it would have been nearly impossible to park without using the valet service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kaitlin G,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Doubletree Richmond. We're pleased to know our staff provided excellent service during your visit. I apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. We hope you'll visit us again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel accommodations including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site covered valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.