We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Richmond, VA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Doubletree Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Always stay at the Doubletree when I visit Richmond. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are quite comfortable. Typically I am with a group on business. The shuttle service to downtown is wonderful and alows everyone to enjoy themselves and not worry about driving back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Bruce W,
Thank you for your review and repeat stays with us at Doubletree Richmond. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travels, and we're pleased to know you our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations consistently meet your satisfaction. Please continue to make Doubletree your number one choice hotel when in Richmond. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    158
    127
    51
    36
See reviews for
139
97
43
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A nice space to spend time overly looking the downtown sky scape. The cuisine was delightful and chefs were creative. The "Doubletree chocolate chip cookie" is so delicious and it just melts in your mouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Earl B,
Thank you for writing a review about your experience at Doubletree Richmond. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback with our chefs on their creative and delightful cuisine. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to extend our hospitality and delicious cookies to again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Friendly Valet Parking, Welcoming Lobby ~ open, well lit, big bar, lots of TV's. Big Sleeping Rooms and never heard a peep from the hallway even though we were across from the elevator. Definitly will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Valerie G,
We appreciate your review and kind comments about our friendly service and comfortable accommodations at Doubletree Richmond. We're pleased to hear that our property was well suited for your travels, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest again in the future. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I wanted a Sunday paper to read during brunch but could not find one on premises. The doorman - Chip - took my $2 and ran to a 7-Eleven down the street (in the rain!) and bought it for me, delivering it to my table as I dined. Extremely impressed that he would do that and so graciously. The staff there is awesome!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Jeffrey P,
Thank you for sharing your experience and appreciation of our staff at Doubletree Richmond. We are fortunate to have Chip as part of our team of dedicated associates that make sincere hospitality their top priority. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback and recognizing Chip with a special commendation for exceeding your expectations. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope you'll return for another visit in the near future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

From the first arrival throughout the stay the staff were very nice. Everyone greets you warmly from the front desk to the maintenance staff. The location is quite comfortable being near the university and the free hotel van will take you to the Slip or anywhere within 3 miles.
The only negative I noticed was the mustiness of the property as a whole. The hallways, elevator, the room and even the van smell like they need a thorough cleaning if not a renovation. My room heating/cooling system could not be set above 70 but since it was not all that chilly out I did not complain to the front desk.
I will return if I need to spend a night or two in Richmond as overall it is acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
drdiptera,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your visit to Doubletree Richmond. I'm glad our staff's warm hospitality made for an enjoyable stay, and our convenient location and complimentary shuttle service added convenience to your travels. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again should you return to Richmond. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windber, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I arrive in the car port. I barely get out my door and a valet person is on my toes as if there's a competition between the valet employees to get the most sales, etc. He had his hand out for my keys. I said no...I plan on parking myself. He still insists on my keys and I told him no yet again. This aggressive guy even made my wife and children nervous. I went to the front desk to check in and they didn't seem to care about my experience thus far & next thing you know....the valet guy is standing next to me with his hands out yet again asking for my keys. He literally grabbed for them and I about defended myself as if someone was trying to steal my vehicle. In any case...he finally got the point. I parked my vehicle one block away for $0 in a secure, fenced-in lot with cameras everywhere. I guess it's free on weekends in this lot I found and only $7 during the week where DT Valet charges $18. Yeah...you know what they're doing...charging YOU $18 and paying only $0 or $7 to park; nice profit. The woman at the check-in counter at DT was also very dry and almost seemed as if I was interrupting her when I needed to check-in. The next morning...the employees were all different and were a lot more friendlier but it was too late....I was through w/ the staff there and was glad to check-out and be done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Nathan L,

Thank you for writing. I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had with the valet attendant and would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression. Due to the nature of the destination, all downtown hotels charge for parking. Although there is street parking and at zero cost, it is at your own risk. Please know that your comments have been addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to assure we're providing exceptional service and doing all we can to serve our guests. We value you as our guest and we hope you'll give us another opportunity to make amends if you were to return to Richmond. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was very pleased with the hotel. Good value, as I have stayed in more expensive hotels that have not been as nice. Great location and one of the bellmen gave me a tip on a great restaurant, Tarrant's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
LBS1960,
I'm happy to hear of your pleasant stay with us at Doubletreee Richmond. I appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback and review. We hope to extend our hospitality to you once again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.