We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly, clean and elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #32 of 80 hotels in Richmond
Bethesda, United States
1 review
“Warm and friendly, clean and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was really a terrific experience. I was traveling solo for a conference and felt very comfortable there. The staff were exceptionally polite and professional, and helpful. The crab cakes in the hotel restaurant were also surprisingly delicious, and the sous chef even came out to deliver them personally. Bar was full of lots of kind of people, smiling and getting along together. Much much better than the average hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Susan C,
Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you had a terrific experience and a comfortable stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’ll be certain to pass along your complimentary feedback to our team. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while attending a conference and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    142
    112
    40
    34
See reviews for
119
87
39
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited there several times recently and was satisfied. Comfortable rooms. Helpful staff. Great view from its rooftop pool. Still it seems a little tired. Cookies were terrific. Higher floors were much less noisy from traffic. Free parking on the street was a bonus but just on weekends. Proximity to the historic Hotel Jefferson is great for ambiance and getting taxi pickups. Local shuttle service is a plus.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Robert B,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’m pleased to hear that we have consistently provided a satisfying experience on your recent visits. We appreciate your patronage and kind comments about our comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and great location. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Richmond. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are loyal Hilton/Doubletree diamond members and we were very disappointed in the quality of the accommodations at this property during our two night stay. The hotel rooms and guest hallways were noticeably dirty and in need of major renovation. While in the elevator another guest asked me if my room was clean. This was quite troubling to us be thought the same thing. With the Hilton/Doubletree brand we have come to expect high quality and comfort and unfortunately we left unsatisfied. The bathroom was very small and we felt cramped trying to get in and out of the room.



Parking is valet only

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Londontmetgirl,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We agree that it's time for Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond to get a refresh and we're currently in the process of changing the carpet in a number of hallways. I sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not met with our excellence and we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you’ve come to expect from us. We value your business and your loyalty to our brand. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to improve our property guest experience. We hope you'll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree while attending an event in town. The hotel is located two blocks off of Broad in what is billed as the Arts District. In this case Arts District refers mostly to second hand stores, a gallery or two, and some really interesting small restaurants. Closer to the hotel the neighborhood appears to mostly support Virginia Commonwealth University, which is nearby. It is mostly 19th century housing stock, many of which appear to be converted to apartments. The Jefferson is close by and the neighborhood is quiet and appeared quite safe. Sidewalks are another matter and many have broken stone or concrete, making walking treacherous.

The hotel offered both a king room and an expanded king that was a larger room with a refrigerator and a microwave. I opted for the expanded room, although it was a little more expensive.

Check in was quick and efficient. There is no free parking associated with the hotel; valet is available for $18.00, which is a reasonable city price. There are lots within walking distance, but it would be best to check with the hotel or other sources before selecting them. There is minimal space for loading and unloading cars for check in and check out. The hotel operates a shutter until 11 PM within a 3 mile radius for guests; however, we did not use it. There are several interesting restaurants within safe walking distance (two blocks up on Broad) and a 7/11 behind the hotel.

The room was fairly large and was very comfortable. The bed was far too soft for me and for my partner, although she prefers a soft bed. The refrigerator was set very low and froze just about everything we put into it; I'd suggest checking it before using it. I didn't use the coffee maker, but it looked good :-). The bathroom was extremely small, so much so that it was difficult to make our way between the toilet and the tub.

We had a drink at the bar and also breakfast in the dining room. The bartender and especially the wait person (Crista) were very efficient and helpful. The bar has a limited wine list (it is a hotel bar). The food in the restaurant was quite good for a hotel and was served quickly and hot. There was a fairly wide range of a la carte items available as well as a buffet (we did not have the buffet).

The pool is outside and is located on the 17th floor with great views of the city. It's relatively small and seating is limited. When we were there a party of about 6 was taking up most of the seats, as an example.

The fitness facility was a true delight. It is equipped with Life Cycle treadmills, some of the best available and two elliptical machines. Oddly, the machines face a mirrored wall (not unusual) with the room's television behind them. There are also free weights, a lifting bench and an assortment of exercise balls. Water and towels are provided.

Check out was automatic and valet service was quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Take the valet parking; be careful with the sidewalks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
BizDev,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while attending an event in town. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in our comfortable accommodations, and found our staff efficient and helpful during your stay. I’ll be certain to recognize Crista with a special commendation for her outstanding service. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in town for a conference. The lobby is nice and the staff was friendly. The door to our room didn't work and when we did get in, it smelled like a pipe. They moved us to another room which was fine. The rooms are on the smallish side but having not stayed in downtown Richmond before, I can't comment if this is typical or just because of this building. We had some issues at the restaurant taking about 40 minutes to get our food out. I think they forgot our order initially and then when they put it in, they were slammed. They did bring out some chips and salsa and took one of the meals off the bill so I appreciated that. These things happen and they stepped up so I appreciated that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Christian D,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while attending a conference. I’m pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and responsive to correcting the issues you encountered during your visit. We value you as our guest and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I give this hotel 5 stars. I was allowed to use the hotel's wheelchair during my entire visit. There wasn't anything they couldn't provide that I needed. They were extremely professional and friendly at all times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Linda L,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff professional and friendly during your visit. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Richmond. Thanks again

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel is fine, but no self parking, only expensive valet available at the hotel property. The only other parking for guests, is on your own on the urban streets around the hotel in Richmond. For this reason I would not go back to this property again. I lost sleep that night worrying about my car parked on the downtown street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Al D,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Doubletree Richmond. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that our parking options did not meet your expectations. I’m glad you liked our hotel otherwise. We value you as our guest and hope you will return for another visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.