We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the standard of other Double Tree properties” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not up to the standard of other Double Tree properties”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

While our room was pleasant enough, the bathroom was so small it was difficult to dry off after taking a shower. The hotel runs a shuttle within a 3-mile radius which is a nice feature but when we called, as instructed, to be picked up from the restaurant where we had dinner, the person on the phone was rude. When we called the hotel a second time to inquire about the shuttle, the answer was "Well, there's a lot going on so he (the driver) will probably be late." Well, he already was, which is why we called twice. In addition to our bill being slipped under our door we also got a piece of propaganda from the Faith & Freedom Coalition espousing ongoing efforts to elect conservative politicians. (Not amusing.) There is a fee to valet park as well. All in all, a disappointment.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
raftmaster,
Thank you for your review. It’s unfortunate to hear of your disappointment with your stay. We sincerely apologize for the frustrations you encountered with the shuttle service; this will be addressed and the comments will be used as a training topic. I can assure you that the only document we slip under the door is the hotel bill, anything additional was certainly not authorized by the hotel. Your feedback is important to us so we appreciate you taking the time to write. We value you as our guest and hope to see you when visiting Richmond in the future.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    163
    134
    51
    39
See reviews for
145
100
46
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room accommodtions were not what was expected. Connecting with front desk was not always easy, at night. Needs to be more customer friendly. The repair staff was great, and the restaurant staff was great, however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Gloria M,
Thank you for writing a review. It’s unfortunate to hear that you did not have a satisfying stay with us. I appreciate your acknowledgement of our great maintenance and restaurant staff even though you did not find our accommodations and all service areas to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very clean rooms, but did not rate excellent because there was no microwave or small refrigerator in the room. This is very inconvenient for families, especially if you have children and need to store milk or snacks inside without them going bad. Also, you should be able to pay cash for your room and your credit card not be charged if you request it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Nathaniel R,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’m glad you enjoyed the clean accommodations and apologize for the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on both positive feedback and opportunities for improving our guest experience. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I would tell anyone looking for a place to stay to steer clear. This hotel is comparable to a Motel 8 in all ways other than the price. Make sure you plan an extra $50 a night when booking, as nothing is included in your stay. There is an expectation when choosing the Hilton brand. This in fact is the reason we chose to pay the $60 a night higher rate than the Sheraton we usually stay at.
We drove up from mississippi to see keynote speakers and almost missed them waiting on this hotel. Spent the day hungry, and way over budget. We left after one night and went to the Sheraton. Without even a request as to the early checkout or a "have a nice day on the way out"
The specifics:
Room rate: $119
Parking: $18
Coffee: $3.33 (8 oz)
Breakfast: $10/ person (usually included
Our party of three ended up costing $175 plus taxes ($8) per day for what is normally included at the Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Asd1134,
Thank you for your review. It’s unfortunate to hear of your unhappiness with your stay. We sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide you with the exceptional stay that you’ve come to expect from us. Your feedback provides opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you will give us another chance the next time you travel to Richmond.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Decent hotel for the price, but we didn't have a vehicle which made exploring Richmond quite difficult. Taxis are few and far between - the front desk had to call numerous companies before finding us one - and the bus system is quite poor. The area immediately around the hotel is a bit shabby and the more tourist-friendly areas were a long walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Colleen R,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Doubetree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’m sorry to hear that the transportation accommodations did not meet your expectations for exploring Richmond. Our hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to nearby restaurants and attractions that are located within a 3 mile radius of our hotel. I hope you’ll have an opportunity to return for another visit with us and experience all that Richmond has to offer. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel, found it on priceline. Clean and comfortable rooms, very well-maintained. Staff was also very helpful and friendly. Satisfactory in every way, and a good value for the rate through priceline. Check-in was relatively quick, even though we had a rather large group checking in for a work conference. Limited parking and no "free" breakfast were the only down-side in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Marcia B,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience with us at Doubetree Historic Richmond. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, our comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you and your large group choosing to stay with us while attending a conference, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rude staff and less than par rooms. Definitely not worth the money. Drain was clogged and instead of offering us a new room they sent a maintenance person over to interrupt us for 15 minutes while he put draino down the drain. STILL WAS CLOGGED the next day and when it was reported i got an apology. Thanks for nothing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Meagan R,
Thank you for your review. I’m very sorry to hear that we did not provide you with the exceptional service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the unresolved maintenance issue you encountered during your visit. We’re working with our maintenance team to ensure this situation doesn't happen again. We appreciate your feedback and opportunities for improving our guest experience. We hope you’ll give us another chance the next time you travel to Richmond.. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.