We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for visiting Landmark Theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel for visiting Landmark Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice hotel, good value, and great location. Arrived in Richmond at 7:15 for an 8:00 show at the Landmark theater, got checked in quickly, changed, and shuttle was ready to take us to the theater with 10 minutes to spare! Would do again on next visit to Richmond.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town for a show at the Landmark Theater. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, our hotel and our responsive shuttle service. I hope you had a great time at the show. Please visit us again soon at the Doubletree. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    158
    127
    51
    36
See reviews for
139
97
43
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Worth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

First room we had, the bathtub didn't drain. Maintenance came quickly, banged around in the bathroom for awhile and about the time I requested another room, someone was coming with a key to another room. Glad it wasn't the morning when we were trying to get out before we realized that the tub wouldn't drain. Second room, heating problem. Fan was going full blast, cold air when it was pretty cold outside. Called maintenance again (they were still around from the bathtub down the hall) and was told we couldn't control it from the unit but on the wall. Never got the temp right but we weren't in the room much. The last morning (of two) we woke up to a very cold room so I called maintenance. This time I was told that a breaker had blown. Disassembled heating/a/c unit at 7 a.m. : ( Maintenance set the temp and the room warms up--to 85 degrees! We were trying to get out of town and I was tired of dealing with it so we left. Valet: Used it the first night and it was great. The next morning, I called down to have the car ready in 15 minutes, we went down in that time and waited an additional 30 minutes or so for the car. Very frustrating for the $18 charge. We didn't use the valet parking the 2nd night and found a place on the street. Good news--each time I called, maintenance came quickly. At the end the front desk manager did her best to make it right and we settled on taking a night off the bill. Probably a fluke, will probably stay here again because my daughter will be in school nearby but I'll check out the facilities of the room first and make sure I'm in a functioning room before I unpack.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
jojo0826,
Thank you for your review on your stay with us at DoubleTree Hotel. I apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered during your stay. I’m sorry to hear we were not consistently able to meet your expectations with our valet service. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed here last evening while waiting for my daughter to have our first grandson, and I found it an absolutely excellent home away from home for this tired grandmother to be. I called for a shuttle to pick me up from MCV-VCU Hospital at 10:45 PM when I was told that it would be another 2-3 hours until the birth, and the driver was there by the time I made it down to the front door of the Gateway Building. When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted with a smile, a warm cookie and given a nicer room than I had actually reserved. Thanks! I enjoyed a VERY fairly priced glass of wine served up by the very friendly bartender at the lobby bar which allowed to unwind a bit while I enjoyed the use of the in-lobby computers before heading up to bed. The bed was so incredibly comfortable, and I was actually able to sleep soundly between text messages from the hospital. Once my grandson arrived at a little after 1 AM, I feel into a very deep and restful sleep in my quiet and comfortable room. When I was ready to return to the hospital to meet the new little fellow and congratulate my daughter and son-in-law before 8 the next morning, the shuttle was right there to take me over, and I was ready to go thanks to the two delicious coffees I made with my in-room coffee maker. I recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Bianca M,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on your stay with us at DoubleTree Hotel and congratulations on the birth of your first grandson! I’m happy to hear that our hotel offered all comforts you needed as your home away from home and the shuttle service was readily available for your trips to the hospital. We appreciate you recommending our great hotel and staff to future travels and we hope you and your family will visit us again soon. Thanks again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A friend and I recently met in Richmond to see Louis CK. and picked this hotel for its proximity to the Landmark Theater & local bars. If walking isn't your thing ... the Double Tree hotel offers a free shuttle to local attractions and will also arrange a free pick up. The hotel's bar is open till 2am (perhaps only on weekends) and is a great place to end the night and socialize!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
zendiscordia,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at DoubleTree Hotel Historic Richmond. I hope you and your friend had a great time seeing Louis CK! I’m happy to know our hotel provided the convenient location you hoped for on your trip. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Picked this hotel to stay while in Richmond to see Billy Elliot at the Landmark Theater. I had hoped that it was close enough to walk to the theater. The walk is actually very short and plenty of people had the same idea. Hotel staff at check-in were very pleasant and efficient as were the valet staff. Your choices for parking are either valet or take your luck finding a street spot. Richmond is not a place that I am particularly fond of leaving my car on the street, so valet it was. This is the only reason the hotel did not earn an excellent. I never give a hotel that doesn't offer self parking a 5/5.

The room was clean and comfortable, what you would expect from Doubletree. They do offer free internet. I am not sure that I have ever stayed a a Doubletree in the past that didn't charge for internet. This was a pleasant plus.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
TRVLallover,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review and sharing your experience at DoubleTree Hotel Historic Richmond. I hope you had a great time seeing Billy Elliot at the Landmark Theater! I’m pleased to hear that our staff was pleasant and efficient. I appreciate your feedback and apologize that the parking did not meet your expectations. As in most large cities, parking is typically a valet service due to the nature of the destination. Thank you for recommending our hotel to your friends and family. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a great stay. Upon my arrival I was welcomed with a smile AND a warm cookie.
My room was clean and spacious. Food in the Restaurant was good. Service was very good. Anita I think her name was. very relaxed and well informed of menu options.
Nice to have Starbucks in hotel lobby, that was a treat.
It was great to be so close to VCU I could walk right across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Chef W,
Great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at DoubleTree Hotel. I’m pleased to know that the service, food and cleanliness of our rooms met your expectations. I’ll make sure Anita receives a special commendation for her outstanding service in the restaurant. Please come back to visit us again soon. The warm cookies will be waiting for your arrival!

Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Richmond for the weekend and we stayed here. We have no complaints. Everyone was very nice and helpful and the location was pretty close to ideal. The rooms were comfy and the bar downstairs was a great place to find out where to go and get our night started.

We were close to bars and restaurants. We even walked down to the river and the park. I wouldn't recommend some people though. It's pretty far.

I'd love to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
gomerk,
We're happy to hear from you and glad you enjoyed your stay with us at DoubleTree. It's great to hear that the rooms were comfortable for your weekend stay and the location allowed you to explore the city by foot. We hope you visit us again soon. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.