We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to VCU campus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #28 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close to VCU campus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A "well used" hotel within an easy walk to the VCU campus. Great location for visiting VCU. Helpful, accommodating staff. The free shuttle (within three miles) was a plus. Would book again if visiting VCU.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
K O,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback about our accommodating staff and great location. We hope you had a great visit to VCU, and we’re happy our hotel’s location and shuttle service suited your travel needs. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Richmond or visit VCU. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    113
    95
    33
    30
See reviews for
93
77
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Doubletree for a wedding. The staff was excellent!! We had some transportation issues that they handled for us - much more than what we expected. Good value for the price of a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
donna l,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Doubletree while in town for a wedding. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our staff’s excellence in service. We hope you’ll have another opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

recently stayed here for a seminar I was attending for work. . .the hotel overall was average, rooms were clean & sufficient but nothing extraordinary about it, room rate was a bit overpriced . The staff, however, was wonderful. . .everyone was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
TeresaAponte,
Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased to have had you stay with us at the Doubletree while attending a nearby seminar. I appreciate your kind comments about our friendly staff and their excellence in service. We have a special team here that is dedicated to providing a memorable experience to each guest. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope you'll visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobleskill, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The stay here was for one night and it was okay. We booked a room with one king, but got a room with two doubles. I don't know if it's because that's just how it happened or the person checking us in thought my boyfriend and I really weren't a couple. People tend to assume I'm his caretaker because he's in a wheelchair. The room was supposed to be handicap accessible, but the bathroom was certainly not accessible for anyone in a wheelchair. Also, if you do valet parking, it's $18.00, just as a head's up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
tdoodler,
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, especially about areas where we can improve. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to fulfill your initial request of a king room and any inconveniences you or your boyfriend encountered during your visit. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll have an opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed there while attending a conference held there. I'd never stayed in a DoubleTree before, but since it is a Hilton brand, I figured it would be good. The desk staff was very friendly, greeting me with a wonderful warm cookie and my keys came with a hand written, personal note thanking me for staying with them! Friendly staff was an ongoing theme for the 3 days I stayed. The bartender in the lounge (Milton?) was great as was the restaurant staff. I had issues with the heater in my room (same as another reviewer had) but they sent maintenance up very quickly. Turns out that there was a thermostat on the wall that I'd not seen, so he adjusted the temp for me and was very kind! (I felt like a complete idiot, but he said it happens frequently)
Yes, it is an older hotel and could use some upgrades, but it's just little things. Aside from a bathroom door that wouldn't close my room was clean and comfortable, and when I left a note asking housekeeping for an extra hair conditioner and extra creamers, they were left for me no problem. I ate at the hotel and found the food to be average, but not bad, again the staff was great! (I did think that the breakfast buffet just wasn't worth it when the regular menu was much better! )
If I ever get back to Richmond, I'd probably stay there again, and would recommend it to someone.

Room Tip: Room #1418's bathroom door doesn't close, but was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
gpisces,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Doubletree. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town attending a conference. I’m happy to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable for your stay, as well as our friendly staff helpful and accommodating to your requests. We appreciate your recommendations and letting future travelers know about our great hotel and staff. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATONSVILLE
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for our trip to Richmond to tour VCU. The hotel is near campus, plus there are some great restaurants within a couple blocks of the hotel. Everything was great, we'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
ANDREW G,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Doubletree. I hope you had a great time touring VCU and we’re happy to know you’ll be back to visit. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice hotel, good value, and great location. Arrived in Richmond at 7:15 for an 8:00 show at the Landmark theater, got checked in quickly, changed, and shuttle was ready to take us to the theater with 10 minutes to spare! Would do again on next visit to Richmond.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town for a show at the Landmark Theater. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, our hotel and our responsive shuttle service. I hope you had a great time at the show. Please visit us again soon at the Doubletree. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree
Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Richmond
#31 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.