We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Bay City, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located with easy access to the capital area and the VCU campus. The staff was very friendly and handled every quest professionally. The hotel was clean though it is a bit dated. The bathroom was a bit small and the shower not very powerful. Despite this, we would stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Andreas T,
Thank you for staying with us at Doubletree Hotel. We're glad to hear from you and learn of your pleasant visit. I'm glad you found our rooms clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in Richmond.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    168
    140
    53
    40
See reviews for
151
108
48
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Courteous staff, great cookie, rooms were plain, but clean and fine. Only negative is bathroom is small bit since I'm a bald man, I didn't spend a lot of time in it. Business center on top floors for good and diamond members.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
CarltonJ34,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Doubletree Hotel. We're glad you stayed with us and had a pleasant visit. I'm glad you liked our business center, and I hope you found it useful. Please plan to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location for VCU, one block from the Jefferson. Young woman who met us and took care of our car was very nice, very helpful, very efficient. The room was clean, but a bit worn. Dresser drawers kept opening on their own, toilet ran, sink drained very slowly. I would stay again if I needed something in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ewolf:

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. While we are pleased to hear the good things about your stay, we are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The entrance is beautiful and looks so modern. The perception makes you think this is a beautiful hotel. Wrong, the rooms need updating, the carpets look dirty. Our room was not the cleanest it should have been. There was glass on the floor, 4 pieces to be exact and one of them large enough to see from eyesight. This indicates to me the floor had not been vacuumed, if so the glass would not have been there. Upon check out we called 10 minutes ahead as told to us by the valet attendant.....we got downstairs in 15 minutes to no car. The attendant asked us if we called. We responded, yes. Our truck was on the side where we had to retrieve it. I expect more for $18.00 valet. I've definitely been in better Hilton hotels.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear LaGreta:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn't happen again. However, I would also like to apologize for the issues you had with our valet team as well. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are in town for a medical school interview, so we chose the downtown location to be close to VCU's medical campus. It is close to everything we need, and easy to get around from here.

Friendly and free shuttle service for anywhere withing 3 miles has served us well.

Front desk staff, valet, shuttle drivers, restaurant personnel -- all have been really friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is attractive and well maintained. We arrived a little bit early on January 1 -- after a huge New Year's Eve party the night before - but the staff was still helpful and friendly and managed to get us into our room before 3:00 pm.

We are on our second night here. Comfy beds, clean rooms, easy in and out over and over again. Just nothing at all negative to report. It is not an "ooh ahh" property, but everything is nice and the staff have been terrific.

For a Doubletree, I'd say the room is a bit small, as is the bathroom -- but I would stay again because the people have been so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
LyndaWV,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Doubletree Hotel, and we're glad you had a pleasant visit. I'm thankful for your compliments about our exceptional staff, and I appreciate you highlighting their hard work and dedication to customer care. Please plan to come and visit us again. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at your property and was amazed at how helpful the front desk staff was, particularly Meghan....she is nothing short of amazing and I would love to see her again at the property. You are lucky to have her.

David M

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
D M,
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel. I'm glad Meghan was especially helpful, and I'll make sure she receives a special commendation for her outstanding service. We are lucky to have her! Please come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The room assigned was directly across from the elevators but that did not end up being a problem. The room heater made constant noise until finally it was turned off. This was not a forced air noise but a worn bearing type noise. The front desk had no remedy but did explain how to turn it off. The room was old and small and there were plenty of sounds from other rooms. The lobby was okay and traditional cookies were produced after checkin. Parking was not easy. Overall it was okay but not for even the Priceline discounted price.
The location is near a 5-star hotel and the Commonwealth Club.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Robert B,
Thank you for writing a review. We're glad to have had you as our guest at Doubletree Hotel. I apologize for the heater unit not working properly in your room. I'll make sure to review your comments with our maintenance crew and remedy the situation directly. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope to have another opportunity to show you our improvements. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel accommodations including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site covered valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.