We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are in town for a medical school interview, so we chose the downtown location to be close to VCU's medical campus. It is close to everything we need, and easy to get around from here.

Friendly and free shuttle service for anywhere withing 3 miles has served us well.

Front desk staff, valet, shuttle drivers, restaurant personnel -- all have been really friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is attractive and well maintained. We arrived a little bit early on January 1 -- after a huge New Year's Eve party the night before - but the staff was still helpful and friendly and managed to get us into our room before 3:00 pm.

We are on our second night here. Comfy beds, clean rooms, easy in and out over and over again. Just nothing at all negative to report. It is not an "ooh ahh" property, but everything is nice and the staff have been terrific.

For a Doubletree, I'd say the room is a bit small, as is the bathroom -- but I would stay again because the people have been so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
LyndaWV,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Doubletree Hotel, and we're glad you had a pleasant visit. I'm thankful for your compliments about our exceptional staff, and I appreciate you highlighting their hard work and dedication to customer care. Please plan to come and visit us again. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    149
    121
    46
    35
See reviews for
134
95
42
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at your property and was amazed at how helpful the front desk staff was, particularly Meghan....she is nothing short of amazing and I would love to see her again at the property. You are lucky to have her.

David M

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
D M,
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel. I'm glad Meghan was especially helpful, and I'll make sure she receives a special commendation for her outstanding service. We are lucky to have her! Please come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The room assigned was directly across from the elevators but that did not end up being a problem. The room heater made constant noise until finally it was turned off. This was not a forced air noise but a worn bearing type noise. The front desk had no remedy but did explain how to turn it off. The room was old and small and there were plenty of sounds from other rooms. The lobby was okay and traditional cookies were produced after checkin. Parking was not easy. Overall it was okay but not for even the Priceline discounted price.
The location is near a 5-star hotel and the Commonwealth Club.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Robert B,
Thank you for writing a review. We're glad to have had you as our guest at Doubletree Hotel. I apologize for the heater unit not working properly in your room. I'll make sure to review your comments with our maintenance crew and remedy the situation directly. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope to have another opportunity to show you our improvements. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you like food you're in luck. The new Sous Chef is very talented. I had two of his creations, the chicken wings and a daily special penne pasta. The chicken wings were orangy, and truly the best I've ever had. The Penne pasta was also excellent. Breakfast was better than the usual hotel fare.

Overall the hotel was great. Nice staff, clean room, great location. They have a large pitcher of ice water on the floor with lemons outside the elevator, fresh fruit bowl, too.

I tried to find parking on the street and it was impossible. The valet guys are very prompt and friendly. I always had my car waiting when I called ahead. Worth the price, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
ah64ip,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Doubletree Hotel, and we're delighted to hear that your visit with us was pleasant. I greatly appreciate your compliments about our Sous Chef. I'll make sure to pass along your compliments to him. I'm also glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and wonderful staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Booked on priceline and stayed for one night over the weekend. The valet service as prviously noted by other reviewers does seem a bit out of sorts at $18/day. If street parking is available I would recommend that route. We had a very spacious corner king room, but there were a few things that reflected how dated the hotel is with the need for room renovations. We had red stains on the comforter of our bed, dark stains on the carpeting, a stained lamp shade in the corner of the room, and a worn chair that fabric was shedding off of...not exactly the grandest of first impressions. But for one night we weren't going to complain. The staff was courteous and helpful and all in all it was a decent stay.

Room Tip: Good location if you're visiting VCU. Corner rooms are large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
HotelHopper25,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us at Doubletree Hotel. I'm pleased to receive your feedback. I'm glad you found our staff friendly and helpful, and overall, had a nice stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to Richmond. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and booked off of priceline. For the amount we paid, the stay was a great value. Valet parking was a bit pricey but we were able to find street parking for most of our stay during the weekend.

Pros: Great service, famous cookies (!), complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius until 9pm (this was a huge convenience)
Room for Improvement: I think the hotel is a little bit older which is reflected in the decor. Rooms were a bit outdated, but had everything we needed and the service definitely made up for this fact!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Connie W,
Thank you for your review and letting us know of your nice stay with us. We're glad you liked our hotel, staff, and especially, the cookies! We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit Richmond, and you'll come and visit us again. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Scott Dial, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Richmond
#27 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.