We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but Not Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ok but Not Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was a points award stay. Room was furnished okay and clean, but nothing close to a suite. This was all one big room which did include the kitchen appliances. The pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. The note in the room said that the desk was unmanned from 11:00 pm to 7:00 am, that key cards should be dropped in the identified box and receipts picked up in the nearby slot. We dropped of the key cards, but the employee in the lobby said there were no receipts. Won't be staying at any more Candlewoods.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you signed up for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Alan C,

Thank you for your honest review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. I do apologize for the miscommunication in the layout of our property. The majority of our rooms here are labeled as Studio Suites, which describes the studio style layout and the included kitchenette is what designates our rooms as suites. In the future I would recommend the King Suite that we offer, with a separate bedroom and full sized living room. I do also apologize for the issue you had with the pillows in the room, I will be looking into this to make sure it is not a reoccurring issue. As for the receipt issue you experienced please allow me to explain. When booking with IHG Rewards Club Reward Nights there isn't any monetary transaction between the hotel and guest, therefore no receipt is generated unless there are incidental purchases towards the account. I will re-train my front desk team to better help explain this so we do not run into this issue in the future. I hope you will give us another chance to show you all of the charm our hotel has to offer, and until then I wish you safe travels and a happy holidays!

Sincerely,


Chris Mays
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    36
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
33
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend for the Richmond Marathon. Overall, I have to say it was a great pick. Great location close to everything and staff were super friendly. Strange smell near the elevators, seemed musty but I think it was their air cleaners. Kitchenette was perfect for the early race morning. Seems like a lot of work people stay here on a long term basis but the room was very quiet. Problem with the toilet but is was fixed promptly. King size bed would be nice but doubt it would fit in the room. Prob would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Kenimler,


Thank you for your kind words and honest review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. I am very glad to hear my team is still providing the best customer service we have to offer, and our amenities were exactly what you needed during your stay here with us. I do sincerely apologize for the issue you had with your toilet during your stay, and I promise we will make sure that it never happens again in the future. We look forward to seeing you the next time you make a trip into Richmond, but until then we wish you safe travels and happy holidays!


Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I felt dirty in this hotel, mostly because there was a pretty rough crowd hanging out all around. It smelt musty like they sprayed fabreeze everywhere and I didn't want to get comfy so I slept in the clothes I came in. Our toilet seat was really gross with stuff crusted on it so it made me question how much they really clean it. The surrounding city is also pretty rough so I would not stay here again. It was very cheap which was the only plus and free but slow internet. No free breakfast :(

Room Tip: There are dogs in this hotel so watch out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Katie M,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Our highest accolades we hold dear, are our customer service and cleanliness of the hotel. Words cannot describe how sorry myself and my team are for dropping the ball for you. The cleanliness issue you had with your room will be investigated and dealt with accordingly, and I can personally promise this will never again happen on my watch. As for the "rough crowd" you described, I will also be looking into to make sure this is not a reoccurring issue. I hope that you will give us another chance to show you how delightful our hotel can be, and the next time you are in the area please feel free to contact me directly about your stay.

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed two nights for a work trip and the room was fantastic. The bathroom was spacious (tub larger than most). Didn't use the kitchen area, but it looked nice. I recommend adding a sign off the highway - I was surprised there was not one (all the other hotels had one and Candlewoods is little further down the road). The hotel is close to several restaurant chains. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear CappaccinoGirl

Thank you for your kind words and honest review of our hotel. I will pass on all of your kind words on the condition and cleanliness of the property onto our housekeeping and maintenance department, as they love to hear that their work is recognized. It is true that we do not have a sign off of the highway, and I will be personally looking into the profitability of having one installed. But regardless, we could not be happier that not only were we able to make your stay a memorable one, but we did that well enough to earn your stamp of recommendation! We look forward to seeing you the next time you make your way through Richmond, and as always, Consider Us Home at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here during our trip around Virginia because it's location was convenient while we were in Richmond. Thinking back, I'm sure there were better choices around that price range. The hotel was clean, and the room was large enough for the three of us, but it did not offer us anything exceptional that would cause us to rethink our hotel choice in the future. The stay wax ok, nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Linda A,

Thank you for your honest review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. We work as hard as we can to provide our guests with the cleanest rooms, comfy beds, and best customer service available, and I am glad to hear that we met your expectations for those needs. I do apologize for your experience with the Candlewood Suites brand. It is true we do not offer all of the frills, bells, and whistles that many other hotels offer, as we are set up as a true extended stay hotel. Our mission is to provide our guest with the "feel at home" atmosphere, allowing the ability to come and go as you please, and stay at your own pace. That being said however, I do think that you would be able to find the experience you are looking for with some of our other IHG hotels. IHG is proud to offer: Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Holiday Inn Resort, Holiday Inn Club Vacation, Staybridge Suites, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Even Hotels, and the prestigious InterContinental Hotels and Resorts. While we may have not been able to meet everything you needed during your stay, we still appreciate your enjoyment of the amenities that were up to your standards, and hope you will find what you are looking for with another hotel in the IHG family. I wish you the best of luck, and safe travels along the way!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are a family of four with two grown boys 13 & 15. Really enjoyed having a 2 queen bed suite. We travel on a budget so it was very nice having a kitchenette in our room. The room was very spacious for our comfort. Stayed there 3 nights and the location was very convenient for site seeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Wonders55,

Thank you for your kind review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. I am very happy to hear that all of our amenities, and more specifically, price was everything you needed during your trip to our lovely city. We look forward to seeing you again next time you come to visit. And as always, Consider Us Home at Candlewood Suites!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my way to Myrtle Beach from Washington, DC and back to DC.

Even if its focused on extended stay, one nights are very good too.

The people are very friendly and staff is awesome.

They do provide a shuttle after 4PM and it is located in a quiet area.

As they accept pets, if you want to make sure you have a quiet night, choose a 1 bedroom suite which you can close the door.

The is a GYM 24hours, a pantry(place to buy food, etc...) and a BBQ area in back to sit down, and relax or eat.

Is is located near the airport and easy to come and go as traffic is not that heavy there.

Is is close to many restaurants and stores such as Applebee's, Olive Garden and many more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but choose the 4th floor if you don't want to hear your neighbour from abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Luke S,

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Words cannot describe how excited we are to hear that once again we have won a fan of the Candlewood Suites brand. We work tirelessly to make sure that our customer service is second to none, and I am so proud to hear that my team is delivering it, time and time again. From myself and the rest of the Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport team, we wish you the safest of travels and best of luck until we have the chance to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#17 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.