We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a family of 4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Chandler, AZ USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay for a family of 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We are a family of four with two grown boys 13 & 15. Really enjoyed having a 2 queen bed suite. We travel on a budget so it was very nice having a kitchenette in our room. The room was very spacious for our comfort. Stayed there 3 nights and the location was very convenient for site seeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Wonders55,

Thank you for your kind review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. I am very happy to hear that all of our amenities, and more specifically, price was everything you needed during your trip to our lovely city. We look forward to seeing you again next time you come to visit. And as always, Consider Us Home at Candlewood Suites!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
49
31
16
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my way to Myrtle Beach from Washington, DC and back to DC.

Even if its focused on extended stay, one nights are very good too.

The people are very friendly and staff is awesome.

They do provide a shuttle after 4PM and it is located in a quiet area.

As they accept pets, if you want to make sure you have a quiet night, choose a 1 bedroom suite which you can close the door.

The is a GYM 24hours, a pantry(place to buy food, etc...) and a BBQ area in back to sit down, and relax or eat.

Is is located near the airport and easy to come and go as traffic is not that heavy there.

Is is close to many restaurants and stores such as Applebee's, Olive Garden and many more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but choose the 4th floor if you don't want to hear your neighbour from abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Luke S,

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Words cannot describe how excited we are to hear that once again we have won a fan of the Candlewood Suites brand. We work tirelessly to make sure that our customer service is second to none, and I am so proud to hear that my team is delivering it, time and time again. From myself and the rest of the Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport team, we wish you the safest of travels and best of luck until we have the chance to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean rooms, fresh smelling and attention to detail. This was a great hotel to stay in before a early morning flight. Close to the airport and food places. Surrounded by trees. Very secluded and private. You want be disappointed unless they let their quality drop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear KCDre2k,

Thank you for your kind and honest review of our hotel here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Our housekeeping team works tirelessly to keep our facility and rooms in tip top condition, and I am always glad to hear from our guests that they are doing a fantastic job. Our location, while secluded, does help to provide our guests with a sense of peace and quiet, expecially in the hustle and bustle of being in an airport town, and I am more than happy to hear that it worked out so well for you! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area, and you have my personal promise that we will never let our quality drop!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed here several times. I love having the kitchenette. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of nearby restaurants. Just know that this is an extended stay place. You can book only 1 or 2 nights but you don't get maid or linen service daily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear SkeetGal,

Thank you for your warm and thoughtful review of our hotel here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport! I am always happy to hear that our facility, team members, cleanliness, and general customer service are recognized and appreciated, and I will make sure everyone hears how good of a job they are doing. Thank you as well for understanding the extended stay market, although it has been around for awhile now, from time to time we do have guests that aren't familiar with the policies and procedures we use to help keep our rates affordable, and it is guests such as yourself that aid and help us. Until we have the chance to accommodate you again, we wish you safe travels and invite you to continue to Consider us Home here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The night audit Melissa McGowans was exceptional. She went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. As soon as she started her shift she came over and introduced herself and asked if there was anything she could do to make our stay better. SHE REPRESENTS CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ITS BEST!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your review of our hotel here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Melissa has, and seems she will always be, one of our brightest shining stars here. I will make sure all of her hard work and fantastic customer service does not go unnoticed or unrewarded. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, and don't worry, Melissa will be here to greet you once again! As always Consider us Home at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and it was a great experience. The room was large and clean. The refrigerator and dishwasher worked wonderfully. I loved the ice maker! My only complaint would be I wish there were drawers in the bathroom, but I think that at all hotels. The laundry facility was wonderful. There was a broken machine that someone had used and it leaked water all over the room. I reported it to the front desk and they cleaned it up right away. Not sure why they didn't have a sign on it saying it was broken, cause he even mentioned they knew it was broken. The one small issue with the room I had was someone thought they could get away with smoking in the bathroom and you could smell it when the shower curtain got wet. All in all, I would stay here again and plan on staying at other Candlewoods in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Rebecca A,

Thank you for your genuine and honest review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. I am always happy to hear that my housekeepers hard work is paying off, and I will make sure to pass the message along to them on your behalf! I apologize for the issue you had in guest laundry with the broken washer and water on the floor. It is our policy to make sure they are signs on any inoperable equipment while waiting on the repair company to arrive, and I will look into the reason why there wasn't one. I also wanted to apologize about the residual smoke smell in the shower curtain, this issue should have been caught by housekeeping and I will look into this as well. Overall it does seem you had a fantastic stay, and I am very glad to hear we made enough of an impression to have you come stay with us again. As always Consider us Home at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed with family for an overnight trip to Richmond. Plenty of room for family of 4 and the kitchen area was useful. AC controls could have been better because it was difficult to get and keep the room at a constant temperature. Otherwise, bathroom, beds, TV, kitchen were all good. Would stay there again if we were coming to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for your kind review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport! It is fantastic to see our property was able to satisfy all of your requirements and expectations, and I am more than happy to hear you will be a repeat guest for us next time you are in the area. As for the thermostat issue you were having, I will have my Chief Engineer looking into this to make sure it will not be an issue in the future. As always, Consider us Home here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#20 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.