We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Gainesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed here several times. I love having the kitchenette. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lots of nearby restaurants. Just know that this is an extended stay place. You can book only 1 or 2 nights but you don't get maid or linen service daily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear SkeetGal,

Thank you for your warm and thoughtful review of our hotel here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport! I am always happy to hear that our facility, team members, cleanliness, and general customer service are recognized and appreciated, and I will make sure everyone hears how good of a job they are doing. Thank you as well for understanding the extended stay market, although it has been around for awhile now, from time to time we do have guests that aren't familiar with the policies and procedures we use to help keep our rates affordable, and it is guests such as yourself that aid and help us. Until we have the chance to accommodate you again, we wish you safe travels and invite you to continue to Consider us Home here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    36
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
34
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The night audit Melissa McGowans was exceptional. She went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. As soon as she started her shift she came over and introduced herself and asked if there was anything she could do to make our stay better. SHE REPRESENTS CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ITS BEST!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your review of our hotel here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Melissa has, and seems she will always be, one of our brightest shining stars here. I will make sure all of her hard work and fantastic customer service does not go unnoticed or unrewarded. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, and don't worry, Melissa will be here to greet you once again! As always Consider us Home at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and it was a great experience. The room was large and clean. The refrigerator and dishwasher worked wonderfully. I loved the ice maker! My only complaint would be I wish there were drawers in the bathroom, but I think that at all hotels. The laundry facility was wonderful. There was a broken machine that someone had used and it leaked water all over the room. I reported it to the front desk and they cleaned it up right away. Not sure why they didn't have a sign on it saying it was broken, cause he even mentioned they knew it was broken. The one small issue with the room I had was someone thought they could get away with smoking in the bathroom and you could smell it when the shower curtain got wet. All in all, I would stay here again and plan on staying at other Candlewoods in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Rebecca A,

Thank you for your genuine and honest review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. I am always happy to hear that my housekeepers hard work is paying off, and I will make sure to pass the message along to them on your behalf! I apologize for the issue you had in guest laundry with the broken washer and water on the floor. It is our policy to make sure they are signs on any inoperable equipment while waiting on the repair company to arrive, and I will look into the reason why there wasn't one. I also wanted to apologize about the residual smoke smell in the shower curtain, this issue should have been caught by housekeeping and I will look into this as well. Overall it does seem you had a fantastic stay, and I am very glad to hear we made enough of an impression to have you come stay with us again. As always Consider us Home at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed with family for an overnight trip to Richmond. Plenty of room for family of 4 and the kitchen area was useful. AC controls could have been better because it was difficult to get and keep the room at a constant temperature. Otherwise, bathroom, beds, TV, kitchen were all good. Would stay there again if we were coming to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for your kind review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport! It is fantastic to see our property was able to satisfy all of your requirements and expectations, and I am more than happy to hear you will be a repeat guest for us next time you are in the area. As for the thermostat issue you were having, I will have my Chief Engineer looking into this to make sure it will not be an issue in the future. As always, Consider us Home here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here before an early flight out of RIC and as we'd not experienced this property before, were a little unsure. NATHAN greeted us warmly on our arrival and explained amenities, airport transportation, wake up service, etc. We felt at ease immediately! The room was clean, well equipped, bed comfortable, NICE towels (and plenty of them), with a full kitchen! The following morning we were greeted at 6am in the lobby by MELISSA who had our room receipt ready and the airport shuttle waiting. These people (including the airport shuttle driver) were warm and sincere - expressing the true spirit of hospitality! THANK YOU - can't wait to see you on the next trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Nonnie6,

Words cannot express the gratitude and pride I have for both you and my front desk agents here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. We strive time and time again to be industry leaders when it comes to our hospitality, person ability, and cleanliness of the property, and I am proud to say my team is doing a phenomenal job! We look forward to you coming back to visit us in the near future, and as always we promise to impress you at every turn along the way!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here with my friend because of the proximity to the airport. we drove from Wisconsin and she was flying home the following day.

The gentleman that was working the night we checked in was very friendly, and he even called to make sure everything was okay after we had been in the room!

The room itself was great, it was clean, there was a full kitchen and a lot of space. We were at the back of the hotel and had no problems hearing any trains. Our stay was off to a very good start.

However, when we checked out and asked to leave my friends carry on there so she could come back and get a shuttle (her flight was not until 7p.m., we were told that she could not leave her bags because she was checking out, and therefor could not use the shuttle. So, even though the airport shuttle is an amenity, you can't use it unless you have an early flight. I have done a lot of travel and have NEVER had a problem leaving a bag somewhere. So she sent my friend out onto the street and around town carrying a suitcase. This problem needs to be addressed, as it ruined an otherwise wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jengelk2,

We appreciate your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings your friend experienced and regret our customer service did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the Management in order to help us improve further the service that we have to offer. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I returned to this location for another business trip, it was easier than trying to check out new digs. The staff was awesome, especially after a horrible experience at the Southside location. I can still smell smoke, so if you are sensitive to smoke like me then be aware. It's more noticeable because the AC turns off when you leave the room, which means you always return to a hot and smoky room. Once the room cools, the smell is not as intense.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMays804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear TopTierTiff,

Thank you for your heartfelt and honest review of our property here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Our front desk team here works their hardest to make sure our customer service level is second to none, and I am very happy to hear they are still keeping it up! As for the smoke smell I do apologize. From time to time we do have guests that attempt to sneak by the "no smoking" policy we have here at the hotel, and we work diligently to deodorize and correct these issues when they arise, and I promise we will have this taken care of before your next visit. As always Consider us Home here at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, and we wish you safe travels until we see you again!

Sincerely,

Chris Mays

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.