We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Hamden, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My first visit was excellent, I had to let my co-workers know how much I enjoyed my stay and suggested that if they were in the area to stay at the Candlewood suites Airport in Richmond Va.
It was very clean, quiet and so relaxing, I didnt want to leave. The night audit (Melissa McGowans) was so helpful with me checking in and she answered all questions with a beautiful smile. She made me feel as if I known her for years and it's such a pleasure to meet a person who went out of her way to make my stay comfortable. The rooms were large and the beds were so comfortable I even overslept. I'm looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Ask Melissa McGowans for assistant, she will do everything to make your stay comfortable with a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sybil H,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. Here at Candlewood Richmond we strive to have all of our guests leave our property with the same reserve towards the "Consider Us Home!" motto, and once again it seems we have met and exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future and do not worry Mrs. McGowans will always be here to comfort you during the later hours of your stay. She is one of our most revered Guest Service teammembers. Once again Consider Us Home at Candlewood Richmond Airport!

Sincerely,

James K. Brown-Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    35
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
31
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night and were very pleased with this hotel choice. The person checking us in was very pleasant and professional. The room itself was very nice with a small kitchen, coffee, tea and popcorn - no charge. Gave you a chouice of pillow types which I never saw before - feather or another type. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom very clean, little store inside teh lobby made it nice for snacks. Very close to Richmond Airport and freeways/Interstates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Dave B,

Thank you for your kind words and heartfelt review of our hotel. Time and time again we love to hear how we exceed our guests expectations with regards to friendliness and comfortability, and it seems in your case we have once again suceeded. Its always nice to hear that our flexability in pillow selection and ample complimentary immenities are appreciated. We hope to see you again in the near future and I promise we will never fail to impress at every turn.

Sincerely,

James K. Brown-Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Candlewood Suites on a number of occasions and have always found their accommodations and their staff to be excellent. They have always been attentive to our needs and made me feel right at home during my stays. The rooms have always been clean and the beds extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Doug B,

As always thank you for your kind and honest words, our team here at Candlewood Richmond Airport always loves hearing appreciation for their friendly and comforting demeanor. The responces we get from our guests regarding the cleanliness of our property and familiarity of our front desk team is everything we strive and hope for, and as always we extend the opportunity to show you we will never fall short of impressing you.

With warm regards,

James K. Brown-Hare

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a very nice hotel and I had a very good rate. The exterior and interior were very nice. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. However, in arriving to our room, I found that someone had a pet in our room because the small pillow on the bed was COVERED, and I mean COVERED in pet hair. I was very disgusted and disappointed because the rest of the room was clean and well decorated. I immediately requested fresh sheets and pillowcases, in which I was given. Had I not had the pet hair on my pillow, I would have given this hotel a 5....

Room Tip: Check your pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear themrsswift,

I am so sorry to hear of the issue you had with our hotel. In regards to our pet policy, we do have deep cleaning guidelines that our housekeepers go by whenever we have a pet stay with us, at this point right now I am not sure as to what step in the procedure fell through the cracks. That being said, I assure you this will be addressed with our entire team and corrected accordingly, and as you can see from our track record these issues are extreemly few and far between. I do see that for the rest of your stay you were more than satisfied, to which I am glad to hear. Next time you are in town, contact me at jbrown@cwsric.com, and I will be more than happy to set up your accommodations for you. And as always, thank you for your honest review of our property, without reviews like yours it makes managment and correcting of issues all the more difficult.

Sincerely,

James K. Brown-Hare

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We got this hotel hoping for a nice New Years get away . Until I wrote to their corporate office the service we was uncaring and kind of rude. The only one that helped us at all was the manager Chris Mays and that was on our last day there. We had what they call a queen studio. It had a small kitchen area and the whole room was smaller than even a motel 6. The bed they insist was a queen bed was a double. We stayed at nearby extended stay in Richmond last year and that room for the same price had a loving room area kitchen and an actual bedroom. We also had trouble with the heating unit. We complained to Chris at the front desk and he did nothing to help us . Most places would at least offer a free upgrade. We are both plus sized and could not fit in that double bed( which they insist is a queen).we were there 3 nights. Also at the computer there was just one chair . I asked Chris for another chair so we could sit at the computer together he could not even do that for us.
We also told the front desk manager our problems and he was extremely rude to us. Just not a good stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Larrybbwadmirer,

I want to preface this by telling you that with the utmost honesty, I am heart broken to hear your review. Here at Candlewood Richmond Airport we hold our guest's satisfaction as the pinnacle of our efforts and to see that the ball was dropped so far in your case is ravaging to my peice of mind. I assure you that our queen sized mattresses in our rooms are brand standard sized, and we did verify the room you stayed in did infact have the correct bed. That being said I do apologise we did not have the capabilities of upgrading your room as we do try our hardest to have our Priority Club guests recieve the benifits when available. I am glad to hear that my Operations Manager Chris Mays was proactive in trying to provide you with piece of mind, and the issues you had with the rest of our team, I promise they will be dealt with accordingly. As you can see from our reviews over the past 4 years, our customer service and a caring and accomidating team is proven to be the herald of our sucess. Im sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and hope that you will sincerely give us the opportunity to prove our heartfelt caring service. The next time you are in the area, please feel free to contact me at Jbrown@cwsric.com, and I will be happy to set up your accomidations in one of our king suites. If you have any questions comments or concerns please feel free to contact me.

Respectfully

James K Brown-Hare

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Group at Candlewood, Richmond Airport is makes a very tough holiday stay a pleasant experience. While no one likes staying away from home during a holiday season, this team of people work very hard at keeping your experience to your expectation "second to none"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Don,

As always we love hearing wonderful feedback from our returning guests, and we know that the holidays can be the most stressful times, let alone when you have to be away from family. We love when we hear that we accomidate our guests beyond their expectations, but we are overjoyed when we hear that we did it under the most stressful time. Thank you again for your kind words and faithful buisness with us, and we will see you again soon!

Sincerely Humbled,

James K. Brown-Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I am getting fond on this chain. (In my experience this brand and the Staybridge brand may be the only part of the IHG (International Hotel Group) franchise worth using.) This is a reasonably new, reasonably maintained facility that provides what it represents it provides. Unlike the other brands in the IHG group, IHG has not yet allowed these facilities to fall into hopeless disrepair and dirtiness. I like having a little apartment like setting to return to in the evenings rather than a room.

The facility is close to the airport, but somewhat removed from everything else. That said, it is better than the miserable IHG brand Crown Plaza and the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jordan C,

We here at Candlewood Richmond Airport thank you for your very honest review of our property. We are delighted to hear our brand is growing on you, and I assure you it will continue! Although our property is set off the beaten path, we find it compliments the majority of our clientele when it comes to escaping the hustle and bustle of the airport traffic. We hold the quality and presentability of our facility in the highest regards, and we are always delighted when our guests take notice. We look forward to having you return to stay with us in the future, and I promise we will never cease to impress.

Always at your service,

James K. Brown-Hare
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Richmond
#20 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.