We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stood one night to rest from driving down to Raleigh, NC from NY. The room was very clean, bedding had crisp clean sheets. Check in was a breeze, Nathan was so nice and helpful. If you want a comfortable stay with no worries. Pick this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you Globaby24 for your kind words and appreciation for our product and team here at Candlewood Suites. Efficiency, hospitality, and quality have, and always will, be paramount to our ethics here. Nathan has been a wonderful addition to our front desk team, and it is exciting to hear that he is having such an impact on our guest's experience. We strive to be the preferred hotel for all of our guests, and we cant wait to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    37
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
35
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I got an incredible rate on this hotel. I was concerned that the rate was so good that there must be something wrong but I saw that it was rated number 1 in Richmond. And after staying there I completely agree. This is a great hotel at a great price. New. Extremely well maintained, has great staff. The rooms are good size and very modern. Lots of electrical outlets for cell, lap top etc. And a full kitchen with a full size refrigerator. This beats most 3 and some 4 star hotels I've stayed at. I can not say enough positive about this hotel. It's two blocks from a huge shopping and eatery area. Close to the airport yet you don't hear any of the aircraft noise because the runways run the opposite direction. By far the best value for the money I have gotten in years. Great.

Room Tip: Any of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Lindsey,

Words can not describe how much we strive to receive these kind of reviews from our guests. This is a direct reflection of how from the maintenance department, housekeeping department, and our very talented front desk team work to make yours and every one of our guest's stay the best possible experience. I do agree that geographically we are blessed in the fact the air traffic runs in every direction except over our hotel. Time and time again you will find our hospitality, quality, and affordability to exceed well past all other hotels in the Richmond area. Next time you are in town we would love to have you stay with us again to prove that this will forever be the benchmark for our hotel.

Humbly At Your Service,
-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If our destination was not as far as it was, we would have opted to stay here. The facility is well-maintained, the people are kind but the location was not where we needed to be.The price we paid was the best deal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you Mcmalvarez for your wonderful review of our property here. It is always our mission to provide the best prices possible, while providing even better service time and time again. While we do apologize for our location being out of the area in which you needed, we are very happy about you choosing to stay with us. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your stay next time you are in the area. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times a year for the last 4-5 years. We come to concerts in Richmond and use this as a home base. Close to food and shopping. In June we use the hotel when we are on motorcycles heading to gathering about 80 miles away. Great place, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Adak C,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. There is nothing more revered and loved than our repeat guests. And to know that you have had nothing but a pleasant stay with us each and every time you stay, is something we appreciate more than words can explain. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and never shy away from approaching us with ideas that can make your stay even better than before!

Until We See You Again,
-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester, ny
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Located close to the airport and lots of eateries, this hotel offers exceptional suites at unbelievably low rates. The suites have extremely comfortable, clean beds; spacious bathrooms; and amenities such as a full size refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, sink and dishwasher.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you Tmg821 for your wonderful review of our hotel. The appreciation you have of our amenities and cleanliness of our facilities speaks volumes toward our goal of making your stay nothing but relaxing and enjoyable. We always strive to have our value exceeded by our quality with each and every one of our guests. Rest assured your expectations will always be exceeded by me and my team here at Candlewood Suites. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 8 days. Staff, especially Brian, was friendly--often greeted our family. Brian remembered our kids' name! Kitchenette was super helpful, since traveling with kids. Hotel was clean and updated. Very pleased for the price that we paid! Will look for other candlewood when traveling.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear P N,

Reviews like yours are what keeps our team and our business ever exceeding in today's market. Brian is one of our most beloved and revered team members, and he loves nothing more than to hear that our guests take with them his friendly and caring charm. Rest assured he and the rest of our team will be here whenever you return to make you once again feel at home. Once again thank you for being one of our most appreciated guests, and we cant wait to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,
-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very friendly staff, called from the airport and the shuttle was there to pick usup within a few minutes and took us back the next morning so we could get our rental car. Stayed 2 nights and I was very satisfied with the staff, the hotel, and the room. The sheets and towels were wonderful for a hotel, the kitchenette area was very nice and well stocked, thanks for the popcorn. the only issue I had was the refrigerator, very noisy when it was running especially in the middle of the night. Would definetely recomment this property and will stay at a Candlewood Suites whenever I can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear pembrokecorgi,

Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is very important to us. It's a great joy for all of us to hear that you liked our friendly staff, airport shuttle services and room accommodations. However, it seems that you encountered some discomfort with the noise caused by the loud refrigerator. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I have taken note of this issue and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Address: 5400 Audubon Drive, Richmond, VA 23150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Family Hotel in Richmond
#20 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.