We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast
4300 Oakleys Lane, Richmond, VA 23223   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Richmond B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Magical Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I purchased the LivingSocial deal for The Mankin Mansion as a Christmas present for my boyfriend. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night and had a perfect experience. We stayed in the Jefferson Suite and loved the sun room! The bottle of wine, popcorn and candy were a wonderful touch. The beds were amazingly comfortable. Only complaint I have is that the pillows were a bit too soft for my taste.

Breakfast was amazing both mornings. Paula and Martin were so attentive and sweet. I loved them so very much! The mango bellinis were particularly delicious.

The grounds were spectacular and everything was just magical. I can't say enough great things about this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I were searching for a B&B close to our Williamsburg, VA home as we were getting away for our 19th wedding anniversary. It fell on a work day and he needed to be able to vacation one work day plus half of another day and return to work. This worked great for location. I found it through LivingSocial.

Room Tip: Bridal Cottage fantastic and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I - both from CA - found this Bed & Breakfast, which is also a wedding resort, through LivingSocial - and we are so so glad we did! We had a wonderful time at this relaxing B&B after a very busy, fast-paced time in DC. The owners, Paula & Martin, were incredibly friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Farmer's Cottage, which had the most comfortable bed and adorable country-style decorations. The breakfast was delicious each day, and they were easily able to accommodate my vegetarian diet and my boyfriend's aversion to eggs! I know we will definitely make another visit whenever we're in the area again! Oh, and the game room is fantastic - we spent a few hours in there every night playing pool, darts, foosball, checkers, and basketball.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mankin Mansion in June and we had such a great time. The proprietors treated us like family, and we felt welcome from the minute we arrived. We got stuck in traffic and didn't get into Richmond until late at night. I called to let them know and they checked me in over the phone! Upon our arrival there was a typed letter to us giving instructions of what to do. The room was fabulous, and the game room was so fun.
The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was FANTASTIC (did I mention that I told them about my gluten allergy and they made me a gluten-free breakfast every morning?), and the people were so friendly.

Overall it was one of my favorite vacations in my life. I cannot wait to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here on our way through Virginia and enjoyed ever minute. The mansion is beautiful and the Farmer's Cottage (where we stayed) is quaint and comfortable. It made us feel like we were in the country instead of a big city. The beds are great and breakfast was to die for! It was delivered every morning to our cottage by Paula and Martin. The staff is helpful and can provide a variety of options for Richmond's activities. The on-site wedding planner, Mary Katherine, was a gem! She gave a tour of the house and explained its incredible history. She even recommended running sites for us which turned out to be great! The grounds are breathtaking and well maintained, its Southern elegance at it's best! They even have an outdoor large scale chess board that's fun to play after a long day on the road...bring bug spray the mosquitos can be annoying.

The family hosts many weddings throughout the year, but they are opened as as B and B as well!
Overall our experience was great and my husband and I left wishing we could get married again but this time at Mankin Mansion!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The Ramirez family makes every moment perfect at this unique property. The grounds and cottages are elegant, relaxing and inviting. The amenities are top notch. Every room is beautiful with attention to detail. Our family enjoyed every minute of our stay and can't wait to return! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

This place is SO AMAZING!! I got married in October and it was beautiful. You will not be disapointed with the venue, the owners or the wedding consultant. They truly love what they do, they are so professional and welcoming. It I could use more than 5 stars I would!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4300 Oakleys Lane, Richmond, VA 23223
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Historic Mankin Mansion. The ideal setting for a bed and breakfast stay. Enjoy the best of both worlds: a location close to modern day Richmond, all the while experiencing the ambiance of another era on this historic estate. We combine Southern Hospitality, Lasting History and Exceptional Service. Our suites and cottages have been lovingly restored and appointed with antique and vintage decor. Whether visiting the Richmond area for pleasure, a romantic getaway, vacation or a business traveler wanting personal attention. We are also available for corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Mankin Mansion Hotel Richmond
Historic Mankin Mansion b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list