We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were in town for a volleyball tournament at the convention center which is diagonal across the intersection from the hotel. Staff is friendly and talkative and we were greeted by each housekeeper, maintenance person etc who we passed in the hall. Great customer service. Sadly, no room service for breakfast, but evening room service was quick and tasty. The rooms are clean and quiet and beds are sleep number adjustable for softness. If I stayed again, I would ask for an exterior room, the view from room 732 is across a small courtyard looking at the other side of the hotel. Can't tell if it's daylight by looking out the window. The marriott is right across the street and has a walkway connected to convention center, we walk through the Marriott to avoid the cold and walking the street at night.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room to avoid a view of the other side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear MACVirginia;

Thank you for your recent visit during the Volleyball tourney, hoping your team did well. We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and visit to RVA. Yes, at HGI's while we do not offer room service for breakfast, we have our full cooked to order, all you can eat breakfast buffet in the restaurant. As you mentioned, we do have evening room service as you enjoyed, glad to hear.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    231
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
173
138
41
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have stayed here several times for business. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and they just added Keurig coffee makers in the rooms! Has a decent gym and pool. Nice lobby and bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Tracy;

Thank you for your many stays with us and great feedback to Tripadvisor. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were at the hotel during the governor's inauguration and several other groups with blocks of rooms. The hotel staff stayed on top of everything going on and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Richard;

Thank you for your recent stay during a busy Inauguration weekend in Richmond. Glad to hear you had a great "couple of days" with us, and we do hope to have you back as a guest soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. In town for the Governor's Inauguration, we were prepared for massive crowds and disorganization and oh boy were we pleasantly surprised! The hotel is/was fantastic on every level. Their staff is top notch: friendly, polite and professional. The rooms very clean and well appointed. The food was excellent and the menu surprisingly diverse.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the room we were in which was very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Yes, inaguration was such a fun time for Richmond, and it was our challenge to make sure everything went smoothly for our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with my team so they know we met the goal! Look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went to Richmond Virginia for a wedding & this is the hotel the Bride and Groom selected for their guests to stay at. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff was attentive and very nice. The lobby area, elevators, hallways & room itself smelt very nice. The rooms were very clean and spacious! We were two couples in one room and had plenty of space. We needed a few more towels and called room service and no more than 5 minutes later did we receive 4 extra towels for the room! Very quick service! We had breakfast the next day in the hotel for around $15 per person which allows you unlimited juice, coffee, pastries, omelet station, potatoes, pancakes, toast, anything you want. Not bad at all! We had a couple of cocktails at the bar in the lobby, "Thirst & Fifth". Not only is the name great, the bar was too! One of the bartenders was especially great, Brittany. She was friendly and made delicious drinks! The prices were normal and not overpriced either. (About $11 for a martini w/ top shelf liquor). One of the best things about this hotel is the shuttle service. There are multiple sprinters/vans that will take you within a 2 mile radius+ at NO charge! All of the drivers were so nice and friendly. We were given a phone number to call when we needed to be picked up and brought back to the hotel and we never had a problem! The driver was always prompt and picked us up with a smile on his face. James B. was the best! Also, the location of this hotel is excellent, right in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The biggest con I think would be there are not enough restaurants in the hotel, but you can go right across the street to the Marriott for a great sports bar & a Starbucks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! I will make sure to share your positive comments with the team. They work hard to make sure our guests have a great time, and I know they will be pleased to see their efforts paid off. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Richmond area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is a converted historic department store with lots of period details. Staff was friendly and helpful! Nice restaurant options in walking distance and valet parking was convenient. Even full of cheerleaders from the convention center, the rooms and common areas were quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback regarding your visit. We are very fortunate to be close to the convention center (across the street), and close to so many great "new" restaurants nearby, including those in our lobby. We look forward to your return visits to RVA.

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Richmond Hilton Garden Inn Downtown for our daughters wedding reception. The customer service was outstanding. Many of our guests commented on their very positve experinces as they were leaving. Great location, excellent facilities and would recommend staying here if you travel to Richmond.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Stephen;

Congrats on your daughter's recent wedding, what an exiciting time. Thanks for your visit and post to Tripadvisor on your great stay with us. Don't wait for another wedding to return, come back and visit us !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton Garden Inn hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.