We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotels in Richmond, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hotels in Richmond, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the middle of downtown, close to everything to see. Repurposed building that gives a nod to the previous use of the building as one of Richmond's grand old department stores. A real treat and "green," Gracious staff add to the fun of being there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear James;

Thank you for you recent stay and "wonderful" review of the hotel and our "repurposing" the building. We are proud of our efforts to revitalize the historic Miller & Rhoads Department store into the beauty she is today. Hope to see you back soon.

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    231
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
173
138
41
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very reasonable price, safe, and clean. I love that they had free internet and free business center. There were no problems with check-in. The hotel was very quiet and the staff were quite helpful. It is very easy to get to the highway from the location and is within easy walking distance to the state building and MCV hospital.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear James;

Thanks for your recent July visit and feedback. Yes, we have a very central location to VCU / MCV and all other areas in Richmond, or our shuttles are happy to get you there. Hope to see you back soon.

John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The wife and I chose this on a whim for the 4th of July and from the time we pulled up to the time we left we were treated like royalty.

PROS:
Staff (valet, receptionist, bartender, hostess, waiter, house keeping, drivers, chef): were 100% professional and customer service oriented. Every question we asked was responed to with a smile. The words no and I dont know was not part of their vocabulary. The drivers were more like our personal tour guide who dropped us off at various attractions and then picked us up and dropped us off at other sites. We may have waited 10 min at the most for a ride. They made phone calls to verify if places were open and verified the entry cost. Their services were free but we chose to tip them well.

HOTEL: This place is managed and staffed as if it was a 5 star Hilton as opposed to a HGI. This is by far the best HGI I have ever stayed in and I dont like hiltons because they may be fancy but they dont have the amenities of a HGI so I feel like I got the best of both worlds and it was AWESOME!!!


CON: Valet parking was the only parking option and it was $21 per day and our car was parked outside for the entire 4 days we were there. OUCH!!! They should charge about $5 extra for each room (car or no car) and advertise "free" valet parking. Everybody likes to think they are getting something for nothing even if in reality you are not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay and positive review. We will share all great details of your visit with the team. We look forward to your next visit. We do have some "Downtown Work Deal" packages that include parking, that may assist in the future. Sincerely , John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitland, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This Hotel is excellent for large groups, weddings and family reunions. The staff is excellent. EVERYONE was very helpful, cheerful and professional which is a rarity in these days and times. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your visit and feedback. I was glad to hear your visit went well, and you like us better than one of our neighbors. Yes, we do have complimentary shuttle service within a 2 mile radius of the hotel, and this includes many restaurants and businesses so certainly keeps our drivers busy !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business July 2-4th. The staff was very nice and informative. The room was clean and away from noise. I like the fact that the ice and vending machine was enclosed so that you wouldn't be able to heard that noise if you're near.
Free wifi, microwave and mini frig were absolutely wonderful. I was a little disappointed that there was no van service to the shopping area. They will take you near and you walk 6 blocks (in the rain). I like this hotel much better than the Crown Plaza in Richmond.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We will share your comments with the team.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our experience at the Hilton was wonderful. The hotel is convenient to everything. It is a beautiful hotel and very clean. The staff are very service oriented-very professional. Breakfast was very nice and reasonably priced. I think that we over tipped in general, but hey that's on us. Our tip to others is to have many singles on hand for easy tipping. The bar is new-don't forget to check it out-very nice experience. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Lady G;

Thanks for your recent visit to our HGI - Richmond and your feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your positive review and look forward to your next visit.

John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in the downtown area near lots of attractions and restaurants. We were in town for a wedding. Hotel staff was very nice, but we had a problem with the safe in the room. It wouldn't open after we locked it. Long story, but after looking at it they said not to use it but to use the safe deposit boxes at the front desk. The safe deposit boxes were like at a bank -- two keys required to open it, The problem was that the staff was not trained to give 1 key to the guest -- they kept it at the desk! This was not very secure and we were aghast when they actually took another guest's items out of a box in order to put our laptops in, We did mention this to the manager on duty and she said she would take care of it. When we put things in the next day, the same thing happened. The hotel ended up giving us a discount for our aggravation and lack of security, but the safe should have worked (or been repairable) and the staff should be trained on the proper use of the safe deposit boxes.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hotel entrance are noisy - even on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your recent visit and feedback. Sorry to hear of your issues with the in room safe they have been very reliable until the internal batteries need replacement at times. We appreciate your comments related to this, and we'll certainly be addressing with the team, and re-training some of the newer team. We hope to see you back in the future. Sincerely, John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton Garden Inn hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.