We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn - Richmond Downtown location on Feb. 8th and the service that I received from all of the staff was outstanding! Everyone was extremely nice and accommodating to my needs. One employee who stood out was Art Stewart who checked me in at the front desk. There was a bad snow storm that affected much of the east coast and caused my airline reservations to be changed. Instead of arriving in Richmond at 3:00 pm, I arrived around 12:45 pm to the hotel. I explained to Art that my travel day had worn me out, as I had to take a flight at 6:10 am and travel to Atlanta just to arrive to Richmond for my scheduled business. Check in is not until 4:00 pm, but Art was able to get me a room early so that I can get the needed rest for my business meeting the following day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Trinia;

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear you had tough travels during one of the storms, but glad to hear Art assisted you as noted. I will thank Art for his efforts, and we do hope to see you soon back to Richmond.

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    231
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
173
138
41
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel in early Feb. 2013. Very nicely decorated and they even had displays with information about the dept. store that was once in this location. The staff is very friendly. We did notice a little street noise so I'd suggest requesting an upper floor. The convention center is across the street. Valet parking on the property runs $21 per day, otherwise you must find somewhere else to park a car.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 5, 6 & 7 have a city view and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Traveljen;

We appreciate your visit to Richmond and stay with us at the HGI - former Miller & Rhoads department store. Yes, sometimes you can hear the "sounds of the city", and sometimes as you noted on the higher floors, or our interior "atrium" rooms it is very quiet. We'll share your feedback with the team, and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

John & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Easy access to convention center and capitol. Great restaurants within walking distance. Very helpful hotel staff. Unique hotel layout. Nice quite room, but a long walk to get to it...which was okay. Staff did a great job of taking care of every need, like storing bags until conference was over and even lent me corkscrew.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear DB22112;

Thanks for your recent visit and feedback on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking some time to provide us info. about your visit, and we'll share it with the team.

We hope to see you back in Richmond soon !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am the Executive Director of a small state organization. We chose the Hilton Garden Inn for a very important annual event and they could not have been better! Kathryn McDonald, the Catering Manager was outstanding to work with and Matthew Richardson, their chef was magnificent! My organization and our guests could not have been happier! The General Manager John Cario was there during the planning to the finish and always available, although his staff handled everything with great professionalism. Our block of rooms were great. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear VSC;

Thank you for your recent event at our facility. We certainly enjoyed hosting this event, and we also appreciate your kind feedback regarding the team. I will personally thank each for ensuring your event was a success. We hope to see you should your travels bring you back to Richmond and our HGI.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The check - out and charging my credit card when it was told that it would be paid another method of payment and was charge twice and could not resolve it with the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond, VA. My bank resolve the matter not the Hilton Garden Inn and I did not received a follow up called to let me know that the matter was resolve only from my bank that my account would be credit back a refund that was debit from my account.
Ms. Carter
Adventurous Travels

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Carter;

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. I had tried to email you as well, however had not heard back from you. On behalf of the team here, I apologize that you had issues with your credit card, but glad to hear it was resolved. I hope the rest of your stay went well, and this incident with your card doesn't tarnish the entire visit with us. I welcome your call or email to discuss further, as we want you to be happy and think of us first when you return to Richmond.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We attended a meeting at the hotel and Lobby Day at the Virginia General Assembly. The staff was amazing! They went all out to make sure we were happy campers. The rooms were well-appointed and clean. The service was outstanding. This is aa old Miller and Rhodes department store and warehouse that was converted into a hotel. It is within walking distance of the VA Capital. We will definately stay there again, and again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Jo Ellen;

Thanks for your recent visit here and to the "Hill", hope all went well. I'll certainly thank the team for their efforts with your recent meeting and visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff at this hotel absolutely made our stay! They were the friendliest, most on-task hotel staff that I have ever encountered. Everyone from the valet's to the front desk to Nikki (our attendant at breakfast) was amazing.

The hotel was clean and the room was nice, but the staff and their awesome attitudes will be what I remember most about my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear "Me Heather - Who You" :)

Thanks for your recent visit to our hotel and wonderful post to Tripadvisor. Yes, we have a great staff, and I'm grateful for all that delivered excellent service to you.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Richmond, and our HGI - Richmond Downtown.

"Me John - GM"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton Garden Inn hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.