We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #6 of 81 hotels in Richmond
VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic and Spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn Richmond is located within walking distance of Capital Square. The rooms, all part of the remodled Miller and Rhoads Deptartment store, are spacious and thoughtfully appointed. The space honors the historic nature of the building and area without compromising on 21st century conveniences.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us and feedback. We are proud of our historic heritage being in the former Miller & Rhoads department store, and this as well gives us some "spacious" areas to service our guests.

We look forward to your return visit, should your travels bring you back to HGI @ RVA!

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    186
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
138
113
37
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as it was conveniently located in downtown Rich,one and just off of i95. We enjoyed the pool area and the morning breakfast where the staff was delightfully friendly. We enjoyed it so much we stayed again a week later on our return trip. The rooms were modern and very clean...as an ex hotelier, I noticce more then the average traveler. We stayed in 5 branded hotels and this one was by far the best run. Parking is a little pricy but the convenience of having the car by the front door was well worth it. Kudos to the management ad staff of this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room was very large and easily accommodated a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear King Charles;

Thank you for your recent visits to our hotel and feedback. Glad to hear we set the bar for a few of the other "Branded" properties during your travels. We will share your feedback with our team. In regards to parking, being in a downtown location we are limited with parking spaces, thus there is the fee, however we are competitive with our hotel neighbors, as well offer the "in/out" service vs. the flat lots in the area. We also have a "Downtown work deal" listed sometimes in our "specials / packages" which includes parking in the rate, and this is offered at various times throughout the year.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I travel a lot for business and i found the staff at this HG Inn to be fantastic. Every employee i came in contact with - from the valet, to the cleaning folks, front desk and restaurant staff - were incredibly polite, courteous and helpful. I frequently visit Richmond and will book at this hotel from now on.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to be closer to the Elevator. My room was a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Pete;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. We will share your positive experience with the team, as well please ensure on future visits you request closer to the elevator and we'll make sure this happens.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow, Alaska
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed due to price, brand, and location. Valet parking was chaotic, however doable. Staff found it important to argue about work issues before taking care of my car and luggage. Very bizarre and annoying as we were in late, tired and wanting to check in and go to bed. Check in was smooth, however a bit rushed as I had to have things repeated. Bellhop provided comfort and excellent assistance in getting acclimated with the property and room.
Room was VERY cramped with minimal floor space (double queens). Beds were not comfortable and had silly adjustable softness (just give me a soft mattress). Bath was adequate. Room had all the needed bells an whistles.
Breakfast buffet was eatable and free for kids. Staff at dining was good with the host having exceptional customer service skills. I wish I remembered his name.
Check out was slow as they had multiple persons working but only one computer running to verify receipt and get a hard copy (huh?).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Fuzzi B;

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and your feedback. I'll send you a separate email to discuss your specifics to ensure the GSS bedding was working. We will also address your concerns with the team here, as well thank those that rose to the occasion especially our breakfast host your mentioned. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff was amazing and very paitient with my boyfriend and i as we forgot our key in our room several times in the week we stayed. The hotel engineer even followed us to our room to ensure that our replacement key did in fact work. Very clean and our room had lots o space. Lots of restaurants near by (within 2 miles) they also provide a shuttle to take you anywhere in that 2 miles. Excellent location for bikers as it is also close to the Capitol just be sure you bring a lock for your bike. But very biker friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Doyle Petty;

Thanks for your recent visit and feedback regarding your stay with us. I was glad to hear you mention "Bike Friendly" as Richmond recently won the chance to host the 2015 Cycling event and is striving to do much better for our Cycling visitors. I hope you also made it to Belle Isle, a nearby area to bike along the James River.

We'll share your feedback with the team, and hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Each time I travel to the Richmond area, this is my hotel of choice! As a former hotel manager myself, I am very picky about where I stay. I can honestly say this hotel is super clean and has a friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Carrie;

Thanks for your recent visit and feedback. Being a former Hotel Manager yourself you certainly are the expert, so we appreciate your visit and posting to Tripadvisor. We look forward to your future HGI ~ Richmond VA (RVA) visits and stays.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice property right on broad st in downtown Richmond. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but well appointed and functional.

Free wifi inside rooms and lobby. Parking at $21 per day which is a little high but ok.

Breakfast in the morning is all right. Hotel pool is nice.

Recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Scutineer44;

Thank you for your visit and feedback. Being a former historic Department Store ~ The Miller & Rhoads we actually have various room sizes vs. the standard 12 x 12 footprint. Some in fact are very large, corner suites, or extended kings with a sleeper sofa. In the future I would recommend you request a larger room if needed. All rooms still feature all the standard HGI products and services; The Garden Sleep System beds, the beverage station with Refrig./Micro and Coffee Maker, and of course a large desk with the comfortable Herman Miller chairs.

Again, we thank you for your stay and feedback and look forward to a return visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton Garden Inn hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.