We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED this hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LOVED this hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel over the past weekend and wished I could have stayed more nights. I had my children with me, and they loved it also...so much that my little said he wanted it to be his new house. We enjoyed the indoor heated pool. Our room was very clean and spacious. Flat screen tv, microwave & refrig in the room. Vending machine filled with good stuff. And the breakfast was the bomb.com! I will always stay at this place whenever I go back to Richmond.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and your stay with us. We are so glad to hear we have some new fans, as well you made our day regarding breakfast and your comment "breakfast was the bomb.com". We appreciate the positive feedback, and I will thank the team for their efforts during your visit.

We look forward to your return visits to Richmond and your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    231
    70
    24
    10
See reviews for
173
138
41
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Court House, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I enjoy staying in this hotel when we come into Richmond for a weekend. The rooms are modern and clean, the beds comfortable, the service great. This hotel is in the heart of Richmond on Broad St. in a former elegant department store building. They've done a great job transforming it into a very nice hotel. This hotel provides an excellent shuttle service which will take you anywhere you want to go within a very large area of downtown including most of the restaurant district. Our driver, James, was delightful. They even were waiting outside the restaurant for us to take us back to the hotel. Loved not having to pay a taxi fare. Valet parking for our car was fast, courteous, and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and your stay with us at the Historic Miller and Rhoads, now Hilton Garden Inn hotel & M&R Residences. We appreciate the positive feedback, and I will certainly thank James (Van Driver) and the valet team for their efforts during your visit. We look forward to your return visit to Richmond and another wonderful stay at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I travel frequently. I have had great customer service at run down hotels, bad customer service at nice hotels, and forgettable service at forgettable hotels. This hotel & staff were in the business of winning customers! clean amenities, tall ceiling rooms and motivated staff compel me to write a review for the first time in my 5 years of constant travel across the nation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Jason;

Thank you for your recent visit and first ever Tripadvisor post about your stay. We were glad to hear you very much enjoyed your visit. We most certainly strive to "win" our customers with great service and product in this very competitive business, by doing it "one at a time".

We look forward to your next stay with us here in Richmond.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I've stayed pretty much everywhere in downtown Richmond, but this was my first time at the HIlton Garden Inn, in the old Miller & Rhoads Dept Store building. I'll never stay anywhere else. It was extremely central, right next to the convention center, walking distance from the courts, walking distance from the General Assembly -- very well positioned for business travel to Richmond. The room was spacious, modern, well-appointed, with microwave, fridge, big TV, a bed with the firmness adjustability dial. There was a perfectly adequate fitness center with new cardio equipment and TVs for each machine. Walking distance to some super restaurants, including Pastures, Gibson's Grill, and Tarrants Cafe. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't get too near the elevators because they have a voice that says Going Up and Going Down. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Dogwalker Norfolk;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Great to hear your comments, and glad to be listed as "Best Place to stay Downtown" in Richmond. We look forward to your future visits with us, as well many exciting events ahead in Richmond including the Lion King next door at the Center Stage, and Elton John ahead too. We also agree on your restaurant comments as well; The new Pasture on Grace Street and Tarrants certainly make the Richmond Restaurant tops list.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Got a good rate for a king evolution room using the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Package. Surprisingly, the package didn't provide anything other than the room itself. Check in went smoothly but the staff was not very friendly. In fact, they bordered on being rude.

The room was standard. There was a $3.00 per day charge for the safe - bummer! No written instructions on how to connect to Internet. Got information from front desk...the person seemed hassled that I was calling.

Fitness room was a farce.

Didn't eat at the restaurant, but wafts of breakfast reached us all the way up the to corridor on the 6th floor.

Thick, large towels and Neutrogena bath products were a plus.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for you "wishing for more" and the less than stellar service you received during your visit. This is certainly not the level of excellence we strive to provide. Your concerns have been addressed with the team. Based on your comments regarding the package rate you booked for the VMFA, we are continually reviewing our packages to always ensure we add more value to you, and we appreciate this feedback. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show that we can and will do better. Your feedback is the key to our success. Thank you again.

Christi Barbee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here while attending Virginians for the Arts Conference at the Convention Center. It is close by and has easy parking both at the hotel and the Conference Center, The room was great, although not big, and the bathroom was compact but the beds were wonderful and my colleague and I slept well. The best bit was that the staff are exceptional - they go above and beyond to give excellent service - from parking, check in, breakfast and onwards - what a joy to have such service. I had an issue with my computer - and Lorenzo, one of the chefs, and Mark, from Front Desk were wonderful and helped me resolve the issue - from a cup of coffee to calm me down - to technical help !! I shall certainly stay here in the future - in fact the whole conference is staying here next year !! Thank you Harry, GM, and your team - you are delightful

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Happy Traveler;

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and stay with us at the Historic Miller & Rhoads, now the Hilton Garden Inn - Richmond Downtown. I was glad to hear the team assisted you, and I have already thanked both Mark and Lorenzo for their dedication to hospitality. We hope to see you in the future when your travels may have you back in Richmond.

Sincerely,

John "Harry" Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night while attending an event at the Convention Center. The checkin process was quick and easy with friendly help from the valet and front desk. Our room was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the indoor pool area. I didn't use the gym but it looked good for a hotel gym. The location is very convenient to the Convention Center.

The HVAC system in the room was extremely loud whenever it kicked on. Luckily the bed was so comfortable I fell asleep quickly and didn't notice the noise anymore. Also, the bathroom towels were a bit worn/thin, they are in need of replacement.

But overall it was a good stay for a reasonable price and I would stay here again if I return to Richmond.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear LisaDee;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback on Tripadvisor. We will share your positive comments with the team, as well address your noted areas of concern. We look forward to your next Richmond or HGI visit.

Sincerely,


John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton Garden Inn hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.