We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected alot better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13991 North Gayton Road, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Sweet Caroline
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expected alot better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Made reservations online with an estimated check-in of 6pm, got to the Hotel which is very hard to find at 7:00, waited in line almost an hour to find out my room was not available. Have to wail almost another hour for the room, by then it is almost 9:00pm and everything in that area closes at 9pm!! the young lady at the front desk semed extremely lost and did not have a clue and was left by herself. One of the reasons I choose this hotel was its nice accomodations and free airport shuttle service. When I requested shuttle service I was told no problem, the next morning same attendant was on duty I confirmed the shuttle and she stated yes I called the taxi (female was Indian and thought thats what they called shuttles). To my disbeief a taxi showed up and I was told that I had to take a taxi because the shuttle was no available. Cost me $65 for the cab fare. If I would have known this I would have stayed by the airport. the breakfast was ok, the turkey bacon still looked raw. If you like a real nice clean hotel with crappy service then this is the hotel for you. Just be advised if your traveling through that everything I mean everything in that area closes at 9pm

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    182
    74
    28
    17
See reviews for
254
104
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here with my 3 kids for a week. Clean & friendly staff. Had a problem with the toilet & mgr Danielle solved it & comped us a day (i am checking out in a day so it will be confirmed then).

I will say to warn those who plan to eat the free breakfast that if it says it ends at 9:30 am, it ends exactly at 9:30! the whole food selection is gone so do not dawdle!!!

Cappuccino/ coffee machine was pretty good.

Used their washer & dryer & that was an area they coul;d improve. 1 dryer lost my $$ (I was refunded) & 1 washer did not work well.

The only complaint I have is that they use those aroma fans & it gets a little too strong.

the staff was great & friendly. I would recommend this place & plan to return on my next trip to the West End/Short Pump area of Richmond. Only a very short distance (.2-.3 of a mile) to Short Pump Mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved the rooms and pool. The breakfast was good but have had better.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I had really high expectations based on other reviews. However, the only compliments I can offer is that the beds were comfortable and the special rate was reasonable.

Not their fault:
1. Trash pickup every morning at 6:00 am
2. Road construction

Their fault:
1. The toilet in our room ran constantly, and loudly. We asked from day one to have it taken care of and it was never fixed.
2. The toilet seat was so loose you could slide off of it. They "adjusted" it after asking for the third day in a row and by the end of the day it was "unadjusted".
3. The hallways were not vacuumed of litter for 4 days. It just kept accumulating.
4. The complimentary breakfast was ... well, not complimentary. The "coffee" came from a large metal contraption that supposedly made latte, cappuccino, etc, but only made very dark coffee. I opted for hot tea one day; however, the only options were flavored decaf. The hot food was offered was unappetizing. Cold food was typical.
5. The customer service is lacking severely.


Overall impression is that the hotel seems to cater heavily to local businesses and people. Every day there were meetings, kids being taught how to swim in the pool (not sure when paying customers were supposed to use it), and birthday parties. Overnight patrons seem to get the short end of the stick.

As someone else mentioned, the parking is tight and during the day when the meetings are being held the only parking available is underground. After 4 days, we moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Accommodations were extraordinary as usual from Wingate. Great free breakfast in the am. Very professional and personable staff. Looking forward to the next NASCAR trip to Richmond!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Wingate hotel. I used my points to stay here at a free night, and I was very happy with the hotel. The room was large and comfortable, with a nice firm bed and good pillows. The breakfast in the morning had a large selection of food, including a nice egg and cheese and vegetable omelet. The hotel had a bit of a smaller parking lot in the front, but still finding a place to park wasn't too bad. I would definitely stay here again, it was a great, clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

this is a great hotel, very friendly staff, breakfast (including 3 hot items) included, has an indoor pool.
Great location , 5 restauarnts within walking distance if you enjoy a drink with your meal, 15 minute walk to town cntre shops, ( mexican, red robin, applebays, olive garden, cheesecake factory)

5 mins from the freeway, and 15 to downtown richmond, used this as a base for the civil war sites in the region, 45 minutes to Petersburg, 1 hour to monticello, 1 hour to Outlets at williamsburg, great outlets !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump

Address: 13991 North Gayton Road, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.