We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Linden Row Inn to your Saves list
Linden Row Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

My experience was pretty good. The front desk staff was very friendly and hospitable, always asking me if everything was ok. I really enjoyed the car service that they offer. They will drive you to and pick you up from within 2 miles of the hotel. And the hotel is centrally located in downtown so it was easy to be dropped off in different neighborhoods. This service made it very convenient to venture out and not worry about getting too tired to walk back to the hotel.
The bathroom in my room was large and looked newly remodeled so I felt it was cleaner and more spacious than a lot of hotel bathrooms I've seen. In the room itself, it was clear that the building was an older building. But that's part of the charm of staying in a historic building.
The continental breakfast was good and the neighborhood was safe.
I had a pleasant experience and I'd recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    193
    68
    26
    18
See reviews for
102
228
37
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taiyuan, China
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Linden Row Inn, though there were some issues. It is reasonably priced for an urban hotel, and is more a historic budget hotel than a fancy old B&B. If you prefer character to perfection, you will probably like this hotel, if you prefer a flawless, newly renovated place, you'll probably be happier elsewhere.

We were told it is under new ownership, and that the evening wine and cheese has been discontinued. More importantly, the hotel now has wireless internet.

Pluses:
-Great public spaces--the sitting room and lovely courtyard with fountain
-Large rooms with high ceilings and (non-working) fireplaces
-Friendly staff
-Free apples, coffee, & tea all day
-Good price for downtown location
-Free local shuttle
-Generally clean
-Free wireless internet

Minuses:
-No off-street self-parking
-Walls, doors, carpets a bit worn and scuffed up.
-Water-stained bathroom floors (stone tiles seem to be stained from leaking air conditioning vents)
-Some smell in hallway
-No elevator for some rooms
-Free breakfast is not that great, but the coffee is decent
-The air conditioning system seems to have issues--we had problems in two rooms
-Some rooms dark
-No in-room safes, terrible locks on rooms.
-Minor problems with housekeeping (a used coffee packet in coffeemaker when we arrived; used towels left on floor after cleaning)

Queen rooms include a closet, wardrobe, small TV with HBO, desk with chair, lounge chair, and night stand with alarm clock and phone. Some rooms have coffee makers and others do not.

The air conditioning in our first room didn't work. It was a smaller room, but had lots of windows and was really bright. No problem--we were switched to another room. Both rooms were in the main building and accessible by elevator.

Our second room was larger, but the only window opened onto the porch, so was rather dark. The blinds didn't open and close properly, which was fixed.

After a couple of days, quite a bit of water dripped out of the air conditioning. We were offered another room, but chose to stay and the problem was fixed and the ceiling tile replaced.

We had problems, but they were addressed quickly and appropriately. I suspect that the condition of the hotel means that problems with things are common.

  • Liked — Historic with nice courtyard
  • Disliked — Not everything worked
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

I thought this was a really charming hotel. I booked a room at the hotel based on a Fodor’s review which sited that the building goes back to the 1840’s when it was the home of well-to-do Richmond citizens. The gardens of the hotel courtyard is also where Edgar Allan Poe played as a child. His poem Enchanted Garden is suppose to have been inspired by this place. The original buildings were turned into the current hotel back in the late 1980’s. The courtyard/garden is now the focus of the hotel and you enter you rooms via a verandah that faces the courtyard. The courtyard is a lovely brick lined space with tables placed throughout; it’s a great spot to sit down with a drink and a book. I would highly recommend setting some time aside to enjoy this space with a nice glass of wine (don’t forget to bring your own bottle).

The room I stayed in was very large with high ceilings. It had two very large windows and long curtains, a fireplace (not functional), and a large modern bathroom with lots of hot water and good pressure. However, the hotel is not a luxury five diamond facility, but a bargain in downtown Richmond. The furnishings were nice and in keeping with the period of the homes. If you are looking for something that is modern and sterile, this may not be the place for you . If you like historical architecture, you will probably find this hotel very appealing.

The hotel neighborhood felt safe. The hotel is located two blocks from the Jefferson Hotel (a five diamond hotel with an impressive lobby worth visiting). I visited the “Lucky Penny” pub four blocks away and “Comfort” restaurant also four blocks in the opposite direction. Both were excellent. The hotel offers Valet parking for $10.50. I would recommend it since at the end of the day you are in a downtown urban environment. Besides the hotel offers free shuttle service, so you can dropped off and picked up without you having to worry about parking.

The staff at the hotel was always friendly and eager to help you. There is a quality of excellent hospitality you don’t seem to get at most chain hotels. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Linden Row Inn , and we’ll be returning soon!

  • Liked — Architecture, History of the buildings
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, ME
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

My husband and I run a small B&B ourselves so we tend to be pretty critical of places we stay. Linden Row was wonderful - spacious, well-kept & well-furnished rooms, and fantastic, friendly service. We especially appreciated the free van service the hotel staff provided, which allowed us to go out to dinner without worrying about finding the restaurant or where to park the car. We were delivered to the restaurants at the time we asked and were picked up again within ten minutes when we called. Their public space had comfortable chairs arranged for small groups, so we could easily socialize with the friends we were traveling with.

The staff was gracious and had many suggestions for where to go and where to eat - and their advice was uniformly great Our only (slight) disappointment was the continental breakfast which was adequate, but not special. (We admit to a bias where breakfasts are concerned!)

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, great staff, van service
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

you are being warned!!!!!! this place is not good and you should pay ATTENTION to the reviews. our experience was one i will not forget. maid service was awful and desk clerks do not know what they are doing!!!!be sure to check your bill as they will charge you wrong and or put on wrong card. managers not willing to please the customer soooooooooo stay away!!!!!!

  • Liked — courtyard
  • Disliked — desk clerk.maidservice ,management
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

BEWARE!!!!!!! This place is awful our rooms were not ready until 4:30 when we arrived. Then at bedtime I pulled down my covers to find my bed FULL of hair I checked the other bed and it was the same way. I called the front desk they brought up clean sheets but I had to ask them to make the bed as they were just going to hand them to me. They had no clean pillow cases to give me so they threw a sheet over my pillows. They have no idea how to run that place. BEWARE!!

  • Liked — nothint
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

I stayed for one night but was very impressed and will return next time I am in Richmond. It was fun staying in such an historic set of buildings. I was in a garden room. The bed was a bit too hard but everything was clean and quaint. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. All staff members I met were very kind and helpful.

I paid for the valet parking since there didn't seem to be any convenient street parking nearby. I did not take advantage of their complimentary van service but I will next time. I attended a concert at nearby Virginia Commonwealth University and parking on campus was very difficult. It would be great to have them just drop me off and then come pick me up.

During the day, I found that the area is pleasant for walking.There are some beautiful buildings near there, including the (pricey) Jefferson Hotel. I'd feel much less safe at night. I didn't see any restaurants that were close by. I think I might use their van service for that as well.

It's really not all that far to walk down to the beautiful Capitol building. (Tours start on the hour).

I walked past the YMCA which was very close by, but didn't have time to use their services which are available for free for hotel patrons. The YMCA looked busy and pleasant.

  • Liked — Charming. Friendly.
  • Disliked — Bed too hard. Possibly a bit too shabby.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes daily continental breakfast, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.