We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Linden Row Inn to your Saves list
Linden Row Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Shipman, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a getaway with my 3 sisters. We rented two rooms, which were next to each other. We were pleasantly surprised to discover we had the entire floor to ourselves, because the hotel is actually a block of row houses converted to lodging, and connected by a back hallway which was added to all of them. I supposed each house must have two rooms per floor, as they appeared to be pretty much the same size. Our rooms were quite spacious and had space for us to move the chairs from one room into the other, so that we could visit together in one room. As some others have observed, the decor was a bit worn, but everything was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly, and we made good use of the complimentary shuttle service to visit the VA museum and also go to dinner. Breakfast was typical of a budget hotel...waffles, cereal, pastries and fruit...but adequate. Our rooms were very quiet; the lobby area was attractive and cozy. The courtyard behind the hallway was very nice, and I'm sure in the summer it is probably lovely. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We requested a ground floor room, and were accommodated. There are elevators if you stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you and your three sisters at the Linden Row Inn a few weeks back. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    169
    52
    23
    17
See reviews for
82
203
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Found this hotel through a Living Social deal. We were coming to town for an event at the Women's Club. Location was excellent. Were able to walk everywhere we needed to go.
Staying in a historic building added a lot to our visit. Staff was very helpful. Building was actually in better condition than I had expected from some previous reviews. We will definitely consider this hotel when we visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent visit for an event at the Women's Club. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had the oppritunity to stay here for a few nights while on a business trip; the location and amenities provided were great. From the free shuttle service to the plesent (and very helpful staff) to the breakfast this place is a gem. The room and bath were very nice, very clean and very comfortable. I'll definantly be staying here again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during a recent business trip to Richmond. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Linden Row Inn. We were in town for the Chihuly exhibit at VMFA.
The room was quiet. No noise from other guests. A litte street noise but less than a typical day since it was MLK Jr holiday.
Our room could use sprucing up. Tired looking bedding. Water spots on ceiling. We chose the Inn specifically for its historical charm and were happy with it in that aspect.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the top floor to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are sorry to hear that aspects of our interior were not up to par. We are continuously making improvements to the property (for example, we've just completed a revamp of our Parlour Lobby) and hope that you will see some changes during a future visit to the property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. Charming. Old --- but not tired.
Friendly and accomodating. Deffinately will be back. Interesting history. Breakfast could improve; however, everything we needed.
Steve from Maryland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are glad to hear that we exceeded expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Linden Row Inn the first part and January and loved it. We had a room in the old part because several TA reviews had recommended that the few dollars more were worth it. Our room was huge--twice the size of a normal hotel room. The bath was completely modern. The inn is a 20 min walk from everything in Richmond. Or, if you don't want the exercise, there is a van that will pick you up and drop you off anywhere within a two mile radius. We also discovered an upscale restaurant, Chez Foushee', only a block away. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to Richmond. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Main House rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay downtown at the Linden. Fine dining within walking distance. We walked over to the Jefferson and had a great time gawking at the five star lobby. After that the Linden did look a little old and run down but in a lovely, Richmondy kind of way. It's a Southern shabby chic bed and breakfast. We got our room for $80 on living social.com. For the money it has a fantastic location, huge rooms and walkable downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for recognizing our staff for the excellent service that they provide. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is a 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800’s, and meticulously restored over the years. The hotel’s guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800’s, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel’s garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the “enchanted garden” that Poe mentions in his famous poem “To Helen.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.