We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Fun Olden Days Atmosphere @ Linden Row Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Row Inn

Save Saved
You added Linden Row Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Aomori, Japan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Mostly Fun Olden Days Atmosphere @ Linden Row Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Executive summary from two nights' stay in November, 2012: good location for exploring Richmond; parlour suite was comfortable, spacious, and decent value for money; staff was helpful and pleasant; continental breakfast was just OK.

Details: I liked the Linden Inn's arrangement of connected, old row houses surrounding an interior court yard. The parlour suite (an upgrade -- thanks!) was clean, enormous, comfortable, and well-furnished -- but (grumble, grumble) I thought the ginormous room also should have included a small-sized frig (without paying extra for it) and a few plates, glasses, and cutlery.

Biggest area for improvement: the included breakfast was very basic for the hotel's mid-$100s tariff. Its range of offerings (awful burned coffee, basic breads, yogurt, generic waffles) fell well short of what you'd expect to find in any modern traveler's hotel (e.g. Marriott Residence Inn). To cite a specific example (and without meaning to be petty): the kitchen staff declared that the oatmeal was "all gone, got to get there sooner" 45 minutes before the end of breakfast. Cheapo -- what's that about?

Minor gripes aside, I would recommend Linden Row Inn (and especially in the spring and fall) to others wanting to experience an idiosyncratic old-times atmosphere located in the middle of an interesting city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share some constructive feedback on your stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, you enjoyed your visit. We do apologize that our complimentary continental breakfast failed to meet expectations. We are continuously exploring opportunities to improve our services and amenities, and your perspectives on our breakfast and our breakfast staff will certainly be utilized as a valuable input in that process. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    157
    50
    21
    14
See reviews for
78
189
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband attends an annual business conference at the Richmond Center which is in walking distance to the Inn. Perfect location in that I can have the car to myself all day! we've stayed at Linden Row for several years and enjoyed it each time. Making reservations, receiving immediate email confirmation, checking in, checking out - it always goes without a hitch. The staff is cheerful & knowledgeable. The room is clean as a whistle. Breakfast is in a nice setting with plentious food. The history of the property is so interesting. Old architectural details abound along side modern convenience.... and the price is right!

Room Tip: our favorite rooms are on the upper floors of the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during your annual visit to Richmond. We are always happy to welcome back old friends. We look forward to hosting you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowpens, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first trip to Richmond, our mission to do one of the runs on Nov 10. For me it was my first marathon and the location and amenities of this hotel helped make it a great experience! Breakfast was great, even early on race day, staff was helpful for restaurant choices and directions. The location was walking distance to start and finish and the partnership with YMCA just put icing on cake! (I like to swim day before long run)! Even for non race weekends, location close to all historical tours and museums! Thanks

Room Tip: Main House rooms are very roomy if more than 2 people in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn while in town for the Richmond Marathon. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again next November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I could go on for ages about the charm of this small boutique hotel. I looked at it when another place failed to respond to my email enquiries. The ease of reserving the room I wanted was my first clue to this place's suitability. When I checked in, weary and mussed from miles of trudging, receptions gracious welcome further warmed me to the Linden Row Inn. It was my room that did the trick, though; a spacious room with the tv sequestered in a tasteful armoire really charmed me.

The queen bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the water pressure strong. The breakfast provided with the cost of the room was tasty and unfussy. The location in Richmond was also a great asset, and the free shuttle to the train station provided the perfect touch for an idyllic stay. I will gladly return to this inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Linden Row Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you found our boutique historic hotel to be "exquisitely comfortable." We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Now, your taste in hotels might not be the same as mine, so let me state upfront that this I tend to prefer staying in a hotel that is not cookie-cutter, that has historic or unique qualities, that really gives one a "sense of place" of the town in which it's location. This is the Linden Row Inn, in spades! Very unique, historic, well-renovated hotel. I found my room nicely furnished and the bed & mattress & pillows super comfortable. Front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Although they offer valet parking, I found it much more convenient to just park on nearby streets (just make sure that for overnight parking, you park on a street that isn't marked no parking during morning rush hour!) and I found it very easy to get from here to various other places around the city.

Many of the rooms face onto a nice courtyard.
The room rate was quite reasonable relative to the quality of the lodging.

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor but do keep in mind that you access the 2nd floor rooms from an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property's unique qualities.

We also appreciate your recommendation on being cognizant of the street parking signs. As the City actively enforces the street parking regulations in Downtown Richmond, we generally encourage our guests to take advantage of our valet parking service.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to Richmond for a wedding and decided to stay downtown. It is an Inn staff were very nice, shuttle service available within 2 miles radius of the Inn. Valet parking available, we parked on the street. We were in a very nice room but the rooms do vary considerably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to Richmond. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just returned from an overnight stay at the Linden Row Inn while in Richmond for a wedding. I'd stayed there once before, many years ago, and nothing has changed. LRI doesn't pretend to be a Relais & Chateau property, and as long as your expectations are kept in check, it is a good alternative to the large downtown hotels. It reminded me of some of my favorite 3 star, European hotels in my younger travel days.

The Inn is well located--within walking distance of many of the historic downtown sites and a long but pleasant walk to the restaurants and bars of Shockoe Valley. They also have a van that will shuttle you to locations within 2 miles of the Inn (I didn't use the service so cannot comment on it). I didn't take advantage of the breakfast because one of my favorite diners, Perlys, is right around the corner (get the biscuits).

The room was very large and very basic. The television reception was poor, and both the smoke detector as well as the bathroom fan/light were not fully attached to the ceiling. But the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean, as other reviewers have noted.

This is an old property, and the "renovations," such as they are, are primarily surface cosmetic touches. The floors and the plumbing are creaky, and it's wise to keep one hand on the shower control, as the water temperature seems to have a mind of its own (at least at 8:00 a.m., which is probably peak usage).

In summary, the LRI has its own charm and a great location. Children (particularly under 17) might find it a little creepy, but if the Jefferson Hotel is too expensive (or booked), it's certainly preferable to the chain hotels right in the downtown area. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Check the usual internet sites for deals. I booked through the Inn's web site and paid $161, ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Linden Row Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#8 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is a 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800’s, and meticulously restored over the years. The hotel’s guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800’s, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel’s garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the “enchanted garden” that Poe mentions in his famous poem “To Helen.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.