We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Richmond Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Row Inn

Save Saved
You added Linden Row Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Richmond Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to Richmond for a wedding and decided to stay downtown. It is an Inn staff were very nice, shuttle service available within 2 miles radius of the Inn. Valet parking available, we parked on the street. We were in a very nice room but the rooms do vary considerably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to Richmond. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    153
    51
    19
    15
See reviews for
76
186
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just returned from an overnight stay at the Linden Row Inn while in Richmond for a wedding. I'd stayed there once before, many years ago, and nothing has changed. LRI doesn't pretend to be a Relais & Chateau property, and as long as your expectations are kept in check, it is a good alternative to the large downtown hotels. It reminded me of some of my favorite 3 star, European hotels in my younger travel days.

The Inn is well located--within walking distance of many of the historic downtown sites and a long but pleasant walk to the restaurants and bars of Shockoe Valley. They also have a van that will shuttle you to locations within 2 miles of the Inn (I didn't use the service so cannot comment on it). I didn't take advantage of the breakfast because one of my favorite diners, Perlys, is right around the corner (get the biscuits).

The room was very large and very basic. The television reception was poor, and both the smoke detector as well as the bathroom fan/light were not fully attached to the ceiling. But the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean, as other reviewers have noted.

This is an old property, and the "renovations," such as they are, are primarily surface cosmetic touches. The floors and the plumbing are creaky, and it's wise to keep one hand on the shower control, as the water temperature seems to have a mind of its own (at least at 8:00 a.m., which is probably peak usage).

In summary, the LRI has its own charm and a great location. Children (particularly under 17) might find it a little creepy, but if the Jefferson Hotel is too expensive (or booked), it's certainly preferable to the chain hotels right in the downtown area. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Check the usual internet sites for deals. I booked through the Inn's web site and paid $161, ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Linden Row Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

More like an upscale Inn than either a hotel or B&B. Decor and History on par with any decent B&B or boutique Inn. Size and overall feel of a small sized hotel. Beds were comfortable, we stayed two nights but they were split (Thursday and Saturday). Both times check in and check out was pleasant. They offer a shuttle that will take you to any restaurant or venue w/in 2-miles of the inn. That was a nice touch, since parking on the street is a premium and we coped a good spot that certainly would not have been there when we returned after dinner.

Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms with period antiques, nothing too special, but more for your money than at a Hampton or Best West. Could have been more space for the laptop.

First evening was spent in a smaller room (carriage house) and our second night in the main house. Price difference is about 20 to 30 dollars less for the smaller room. If on a budget that is the way to do.

Breakfast was typical big-box continental breakfast.... was hoping for more than just ''hot'' oatmeal, but you didn't have to eat off of disposable Styrofoam either... coffee and danish were plated on china and you had silverware.

Would stay again. Didn't have to utilize the $12 valet parking as both evening we were able to park conveniently across the street from the main entrance (20 yards away).

Room Tip: Elevators available in main building. Uneven pavers in garden area, watch your step at night. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Linden Row Inn. We agree with your characterization of our 70-room property as an upscale inn rather than a B&B, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities offered during your stays with us. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August for a family wedding. This is an area of historic federal style townhomes from the pre civil war time frame that has been restored and converted into a bed and breakfast. Very nice place with lots of history and charm. We loved it.

Staff was EXTREMELY helpful. Had a couple of minor problems, and the TVs were old CRT with limited channels but the manager responed that they are in the process of replacing the TVs and upgrading the cable.

There is very limited parking on the street so you pretty much have to use the valet with adds to the cost and the valet hours are limited so you have to plan ahead a bit for early departures or late returns.

We will stay there the next time we are in Richmond and need a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Richmond for a family wedding. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of upgrading the TVs in our Main House rooms and we hope that you will get a chance to see the changes during your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Linden Row Hotel met both my practical needs: location and comfort but was ideal in every possible way. I prefer to stay in smaller hotels, ones with history and character. This hotel had that "in spades".

The hotel was clean. Staff were helpful in every respect, including recommending the best restaraurant I've eaten in for quite a while: Tarrants.

Breakfast had variety and was served in a pleasant room.

And, because my trip was made for family research, best of all was the shuttle service that took me daily to the Library of Virginia and back as well as other places as needed.

This is my idea of a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Room 323 was spacious and comfortable. ..bed was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysi, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our Department rented two rooms for 1 night, The rooms were spotless, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Once we went inside our rooms, we never heard anything the entire night, I would stay here again if I returned to richmond. The garden and layout of this Historic Inn is very impressive, very peaceful considering its location in downtown. The only improvements I would like to seen is updated TV's to Flatscreen, and a hot tub in the garden would be great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during your department's visit to Richmond. We are glad to hear that you and your colleagues enjoyed our property's peaceful ambiance, and appreciate your feedback on the flat screen TVs. We are actually in the process of upgrading the TVs in our Main House rooms. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was able to get a room last minute. It was clean, comfortable and affordable. Staff were attentive and kind and I eased into my room after traveling all day and was asleep in minutes. I will return for certain the next time I'm in Richmond, VA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#8 Family Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is a 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800’s, and meticulously restored over the years. The hotel’s guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800’s, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel’s garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the “enchanted garden” that Poe mentions in his famous poem “To Helen.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.