We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly place to stay in RVA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Linden Row Inn to your Saves list
Linden Row Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly place to stay in RVA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We are locals and decided to get away and stay here or the weekend. Staff was friendly and overall the place was nice. You expect certain things with older places, so some of the things here and there did not bother me. The elevator could use an overall, as it looked more like a freight elevator. The TV in the room was flat panel, but had a horrible picture that was very snowy....luckily we weren't there to watch TV. Very close to lots of restaurants and attractions. We had a wonderful time!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Linden Row Inn on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    176
    55
    24
    17
See reviews for
87
211
35
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Linden Row Inn could be, and for many probably is, an ideal place to stay in historic Richmond. Unfortunately my wife and I did not enjoy our stay for several reasons. We stayed in a king room on the fourth floor overlooking the interior patio. We found the room generously sized, adequately furnished, with a modern and very clean bathroom. However, there was a large and obvious stain on the rug near the wardrobe, and the carpet was frayed in spots along the wall. It appeared to be fairly new carpet, so this was probably an issue of poor installation. The mattress and sheets were surprisingly poor quality given the rate and market for this hotel. Regarding general maintenance and appearance, it is a historic and independent hotel, so some allowance has to be made for quirks here and there. The lobby and parlor area were modern and bright. On the other hand, the guest room hallways and stairwells were dingy and dated. The outdoor areas need scrubbing, powerwashing, sanding, or painting in some areas.

There was a wedding reception in the courtyard which lasted until 10:00pm. We did not plan to go to bed early, but if we had it would have been difficult to sleep on account of the noise. Guests access their rooms mainly on the courtyard side of the building through exterior decking, so rooms on that side have walk-by traffic and noise on account of the wood decking. The hotel should take care to place guests associated with an event in the courtyard rooms, and unaffiliated guests in street-side rooms when possible. We ultimately decided to sleep with the room fan on, with its periodic rumbling and clanging, to overcome the high-heeled footfalls past our window and drunken shouting out on the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate the constructive feedback and are sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay which failed to meet expectations.

Detailed feedback allows us to make improvements on the services offered to our guests. Your comments on the room will be shared with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. On the public spaces, the exterior of our property (including the decks, doorways, etc.) is currently undergoing a refresh and repaint, and we expect that you will see a change during a future visit.

Finally, we make a best effort to ensure that our guests are placed in a room that is away from any noise, especially when we have an event in our Garden Courtyard. If any guests feel that they have been placed in a room which fails to meet their expectations, we encourage the guest to contact our Front Desk while on the property to see if we can relocate you to a different part of the hotel.

We thank you for expressing your concerns, and invite you to contact our management team if you would like to discuss any of these topics further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this pleasant and wonderfully located Inn. The staff were most helpful and as we had booked multiple rooms for a reunion of friends, were most pleased by the accommodations. Great restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for organizing your reunion at the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate your review, and are happy to hear that you were pleased by our historic hotel. We look forward to hosting you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Linden Row is our go-to hotel for stays in Richmond. Rooms are elegantly furnished and bathrooms have all been updated. The Parlor rooms are great if spending alot of time in the room - all the rooms are large. The staff is always gracious and the courtesy shuttle is a blessing during the winter or in inclement weather. An easy walk to the Capital Ale House makes it a convenient stay for music events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for making us your "go-to hotel" in Richmond. We appreciate your compliments on our property, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay with many activities and restaurants within walking distance. The employees are friendly and helpful and the shuttle service is very convenient. We always have a great stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your flattering review of the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our convenient location, customer service, and complimentary amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had been given a Living Social coupon for Linden Row Inn by my Wife's sister and we decided to combine its use with a visit with friends in Richmond. The place is very well maintained, especially since it was built in the 1840's, and clean with a redecorated tile bathroom. The only item that did not work in our room was a window curtain that wouldn't close and we solved that with a safety pin. Breakfast in the morning was very good and the valet parking service worked perfectly. Altogether, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed our historic property, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Looking at other reviews it has come to my attention that others did not have the same experience that I seemed to have which I am sorry not to have shared. I am seeing a review or two in which others are referencing how refreshing, historic, and calm the hotel was but that the staff did not match the accommodations. I found this to be untrue as I, personally, felt the staff were both professional, and welcoming.

I felt a warm demeanor from each of the employees who I had the pleasure to speak to, and with the ease and entry and exit as well as the help I was given I'd recommend this specific inn to anyone who just enjoys good service.

Maybe the other reviewers just talked to someone who had a bad day, or maybe there just is one person in specific that just put them off, but, as I said, from my experience every part of the staff was as great as the hotel, and ultimately, the stay I had there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E. Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is a 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800’s, and meticulously restored over the years. The hotel’s guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800’s, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel’s garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the “enchanted garden” that Poe mentions in his famous poem “To Helen.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Row Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.