We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Berkeley is a small elegant hotel in downtown Richmond. The room was lovely and the staff very helpful and attentive. We were upgraded to a double with a terrace which although it was cold out still made the room seem brighter and bigger. The room itself had a large desk as well as a couch and coffee table. This is a great place to stay if you are in downtown Richmond.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    82
    25
    16
    19
See reviews for
37
138
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay here on my frequent trips to Richmond for work. Staff is incredibly gracious and charming and helpful. Rooms are cozy and comfortable and clean. Location is divine...nothing like starting your day walking over cobblestone streets (after a workout at the amazing Y gym across the street). I won't stay anywhere else in town

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We celebrated our 33rd Wedding Anniversary at The Berkeley Hotel in downtown Richmond, VA. Going back to the place where we spent our honeymoon was a romantic proposition. We were not disappointed! Richmond has gotten even better! The Berkeley was not there in 1980, but it was such a wonderful place to celebrate. Its location in Shockoe was perfect. We strolled the cobblestone streets to have drinks and then dinner at La Grotta, one block down. We returned to a beautiful nighttime view of Richmond from the terrace at our room. We were in the King Terrace Suite. Everything from the front doorway, to the dining room, to the center hall to the rooms was elegantly appointed. The service was perfect from beginning to end. Breakfast the next morning was superb. You must try The Berkeley!!

Room Tip: King Terrace Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I took a quick trip to Richmond to visit friends and family and also wanted a little get-away for the two of us at the same time. The Berkeley Hotel was a good choice for us and also allowed us to bring our small dog along for the trip. Our dog is not used to the city and the only negative for our dog at the hotel was the city traffic and the lack of nearby grass for walking. Our price through booking.com was lower than we had found through the hotel directly or any of the other websites we had checked. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was in a convenient location. It was old enough to have some character but was clean and had enough modern amenities for us- and we especially appreciated the free wi-fi. We had a large room with a king bed. The bedding was very luxurious although the bed was a little softer than we prefer. We would definitely stay here again for the same price when visiting Richmond!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for the Virginia Wine Expo. The hotel is in the Shockoe Bottom area. Easy walking distance to many great restaurants and bars and about 12 blocks from the Convention Center. Very modern and nice bathrooms, good size rooms and comfy beds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation for 3 adults and 2 children and they put us in a closet size room two full size beds ( reservation was made over a month prior) no microwave, no fridge and poor service the manager didn't do any thing to solve this issue:(

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a groupon for this hotel and it was worth every penny. The king suite was lovely and the bedding wonderful. We stayed on the third floor across from the tobacco company restaurant which is super cool. However if you are a light sleeper the street nice could keep you awake. And we had a lovely dinner at the hotel too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.