We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
The Berkeley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I took a quick trip to Richmond to visit friends and family and also wanted a little get-away for the two of us at the same time. The Berkeley Hotel was a good choice for us and also allowed us to bring our small dog along for the trip. Our dog is not used to the city and the only negative for our dog at the hotel was the city traffic and the lack of nearby grass for walking. Our price through booking.com was lower than we had found through the hotel directly or any of the other websites we had checked. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was in a convenient location. It was old enough to have some character but was clean and had enough modern amenities for us- and we especially appreciated the free wi-fi. We had a large room with a king bed. The bedding was very luxurious although the bed was a little softer than we prefer. We would definitely stay here again for the same price when visiting Richmond!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    96
    28
    18
    22
See reviews for
44
151
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend for the Virginia Wine Expo. The hotel is in the Shockoe Bottom area. Easy walking distance to many great restaurants and bars and about 12 blocks from the Convention Center. Very modern and nice bathrooms, good size rooms and comfy beds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation for 3 adults and 2 children and they put us in a closet size room two full size beds ( reservation was made over a month prior) no microwave, no fridge and poor service the manager didn't do any thing to solve this issue:(

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a groupon for this hotel and it was worth every penny. The king suite was lovely and the bedding wonderful. We stayed on the third floor across from the tobacco company restaurant which is super cool. However if you are a light sleeper the street nice could keep you awake. And we had a lovely dinner at the hotel too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in Richmond to see the Chihuly exhibit at VMFA - a quick get-away without our 14 month old. We very much enjoyed the Berkeley Hotel and would stay there again. It is in the Shockoe Slip neighborhood, which has several restaurants/bars and shops. It's a small neighborhood and walkable.

We parked at a self-park garage one short block away from the hotel; from 4pm Sat to 10 am Sun parking cost $6, much less than the Berkeley's valet service. We booked our room by calling the hotel directly and saved at least $50 from listed prices, including those on this website, all the major discount sites, and the hotel's website. We booked a premium king for $153 (plus tax of about $23) and were incredibly surprised by a complimentary upgrade to the Governor Suite on the top floor with a private balcony. In January, this wasn't of much use to us and the view is not great - street and a high rise. However, I love the extra space and it would be great when weather is warmer. The room itself was very comfortable, fairly large size with a four-poster king bed, a desk plus 2 club chairs and a tv chest, large closet, iron, and coffee maker on a small dresser. Seemed to have adequate store for a stay of several days or more. The bathroom was a good size with a large walk-in shower with multiple sprays. It was challenging to keep the water temperature comfortable when all were on. The hotel has free WiFi, which should be standard at all hotels.

We had drinks at the Tabacco Company across the street - now a restaurant/bar. We liked the architecture and interior design of the bar and it seemed charming to ride an old fashioned elevator to the 2nd or 3rd floors to dine in their more formal restaurant. The bar is casual and worth at least one drink. We didn't eat at the hotel. There is a little cafe/market pretty much across the street and we picked up a very tasty breafast and coffee from there.

The hotel charges $25 for a fridge and you can also order cots or cribs. I prefer when hotels have fridges; there is space in the room for one. I needed to keep things cold and had to put them outside, which is not an option most times of the year. The hotel seemed empty - it was January - so I can't attest to soundproofing.

After driving through Richmond and seeing the location of the Jefferson Hotel, our other option, I was glad we chose the Berkeley. Richmond is a small city, but there didn't seem to be anything expect a 7-11 near the Jefferson. It only took about 8-10 minutes to drive to the museum district and to Carytown, a nice shopping/dining district worth visiting.

A few things I learned from our trip. Richmond is a small city and easy to drive around. I understand that they have limited taxis, so if you choose to go somewhere and require a cab back, you may wish to arrange that in advance. I highly recommend Heritage restaurant - a locavore eatery. It's very busy so make a reservation. Richmond seems like a good value for a short getaway trip for couples or families. There is a children's and a science museum, and King's Dominion amusement park isn't too far away. We will stay at this hotel if we return to Richmond.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and speak with the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat enjoyed my stay here. The location can't be beat, and the service is good. I only had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was delicious. My room was large with a king bed with comfy pillows. Overall, the room appeared clean; however, the carpet was very dingy and looked worn enough to need replacing. The upholstery on the couch and chair was sadly in need of a good cleaning as well. It was noticeable enough to really make you not want to sit on them. My room was on the second floor, and the noise from the traffic was quite irritating. My friends were in rooms facing a building rather than the street and did not have any problems with noise. My second morning there, I had to take a very cool shower, which was no fun at all! It's a nice enough hotel, and the staff is wonderful, but not so sure it's worth the price... Maybe after some updating of the carpet and furniture, it would really sparkle instead of looking so tired and worn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Terrific location. Attentive staff. Room was pretty, well maintained, clean with a really comfortable bed & great pillows. The room (a premium king) was very small. Fine for an overnight but wouldn't have wanted to have tried to stay there with my husband for more than a night or two

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.