We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closet size rooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Berkeley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Berkeley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 81 hotels in Richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closet size rooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a reservation for 3 adults and 2 children and they put us in a closet size room two full size beds ( reservation was made over a month prior) no microwave, no fridge and poor service the manager didn't do any thing to solve this issue:(

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    78
    24
    14
    18
See reviews for
35
127
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a groupon for this hotel and it was worth every penny. The king suite was lovely and the bedding wonderful. We stayed on the third floor across from the tobacco company restaurant which is super cool. However if you are a light sleeper the street nice could keep you awake. And we had a lovely dinner at the hotel too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in Richmond to see the Chihuly exhibit at VMFA - a quick get-away without our 14 month old. We very much enjoyed the Berkeley Hotel and would stay there again. It is in the Shockoe Slip neighborhood, which has several restaurants/bars and shops. It's a small neighborhood and walkable.

We parked at a self-park garage one short block away from the hotel; from 4pm Sat to 10 am Sun parking cost $6, much less than the Berkeley's valet service. We booked our room by calling the hotel directly and saved at least $50 from listed prices, including those on this website, all the major discount sites, and the hotel's website. We booked a premium king for $153 (plus tax of about $23) and were incredibly surprised by a complimentary upgrade to the Governor Suite on the top floor with a private balcony. In January, this wasn't of much use to us and the view is not great - street and a high rise. However, I love the extra space and it would be great when weather is warmer. The room itself was very comfortable, fairly large size with a four-poster king bed, a desk plus 2 club chairs and a tv chest, large closet, iron, and coffee maker on a small dresser. Seemed to have adequate store for a stay of several days or more. The bathroom was a good size with a large walk-in shower with multiple sprays. It was challenging to keep the water temperature comfortable when all were on. The hotel has free WiFi, which should be standard at all hotels.

We had drinks at the Tabacco Company across the street - now a restaurant/bar. We liked the architecture and interior design of the bar and it seemed charming to ride an old fashioned elevator to the 2nd or 3rd floors to dine in their more formal restaurant. The bar is casual and worth at least one drink. We didn't eat at the hotel. There is a little cafe/market pretty much across the street and we picked up a very tasty breafast and coffee from there.

The hotel charges $25 for a fridge and you can also order cots or cribs. I prefer when hotels have fridges; there is space in the room for one. I needed to keep things cold and had to put them outside, which is not an option most times of the year. The hotel seemed empty - it was January - so I can't attest to soundproofing.

After driving through Richmond and seeing the location of the Jefferson Hotel, our other option, I was glad we chose the Berkeley. Richmond is a small city, but there didn't seem to be anything expect a 7-11 near the Jefferson. It only took about 8-10 minutes to drive to the museum district and to Carytown, a nice shopping/dining district worth visiting.

A few things I learned from our trip. Richmond is a small city and easy to drive around. I understand that they have limited taxis, so if you choose to go somewhere and require a cab back, you may wish to arrange that in advance. I highly recommend Heritage restaurant - a locavore eatery. It's very busy so make a reservation. Richmond seems like a good value for a short getaway trip for couples or families. There is a children's and a science museum, and King's Dominion amusement park isn't too far away. We will stay at this hotel if we return to Richmond.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and speak with the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat enjoyed my stay here. The location can't be beat, and the service is good. I only had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was delicious. My room was large with a king bed with comfy pillows. Overall, the room appeared clean; however, the carpet was very dingy and looked worn enough to need replacing. The upholstery on the couch and chair was sadly in need of a good cleaning as well. It was noticeable enough to really make you not want to sit on them. My room was on the second floor, and the noise from the traffic was quite irritating. My friends were in rooms facing a building rather than the street and did not have any problems with noise. My second morning there, I had to take a very cool shower, which was no fun at all! It's a nice enough hotel, and the staff is wonderful, but not so sure it's worth the price... Maybe after some updating of the carpet and furniture, it would really sparkle instead of looking so tired and worn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Terrific location. Attentive staff. Room was pretty, well maintained, clean with a really comfortable bed & great pillows. The room (a premium king) was very small. Fine for an overnight but wouldn't have wanted to have tried to stay there with my husband for more than a night or two

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at The Berkeley the Saturday night before New Year’s Eve in a Terrace View room. The trip was mainly a get-out-of-town overnighter to celebrate the holidays. The hotel has a lot of character, much more than the chains, and it’s surrounded by the restaurants and shops of Shockoe Slip. That was just the walk, drink, shop, dine, and drink some more weekend we wanted.

I enjoyed the free WiFi for my iPad. The service of the staff made us feel like honored guests. The room was clean and comfortable. I used the valet service for parking the car, which was fast and convenient. Valet service allows for unlimited in/out of the parking garage – not that we drove anywhere else for that one evening – but if you stay for more than one night, that’s handy when you want to go to Carytown or up to Shortpump.

I will stay again. This is the home-base hotel if you want to stroll around downtown Richmond.

Room Tip: Terrace View room is high enough that you don't hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay however once we arrived at our room we noticed several hairs on our pillows that did not belong to us. The front desk sent us new pillows but I was kind of grossed out. Also, FYI, we valet parked our car for $21/day but if you walk two blocks down the hotel parks your car in a covered parking garage that is $4 per day. We walked to dinner and saw our car less than two blocks away. Just in case you are looking to save some money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your overall 4 star review. Regarding cleanliness, please accept our sincere apologies that we did not upon arrival meet our housekeeping standards. We inspect all of our guestrooms on a daily basis and spend a considerable amount of time training our staff. We were pleased to see that your concerns were immediately addressed.
Please come back to stay with us soon. Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#21 Business Hotel in Richmond
#23 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.