We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Richmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Richmond to your Saves list
The Westin Richmond
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6631 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A perfect surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this Westin looking for a hotel close to U of R. Spacious clean, modern room, great service, with accommodating late check-out made for a surprisingly relaxed and indulgent overnight in Richmond. (Loved the fitness wear delivery for $5!! I pack light and this was right up my alley!)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Pairandaspare, thank you for staying with us recently on your trip to UofR. We are proud to be the preferred hotel for U of R and I am grateful fo ryour positive review of the hotel and your expereince. I am glad to see you liked the New Balance Gear Lending program that Westin offers, it is a very convenient option. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Be well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    139
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
96
32
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a breakfast meeting in the banquet area of the Westin Hotel and found it to be a great place.
The banquet room was perfect for the large group who attended and the banquet staff were very
professional. The food was served hot and fresh. We also enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was
convenient to downtown Richmond as well as the west end. I would highly recommend the hotel for
you next meeting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear KevinW, thank you for joining us for the RMA breakfasts, I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the events and appreciate your time in writing a positive review of your experience. We look forward to continuing to host this special event and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Richmond. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When in Richmond I always stay at this Westin, and it's one of the nicest in the Westin chain. On the Club floor the rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The desk is large and comfortable, with electrical outlets and media connections on the front of the desk (so no need to crawl under the desk to plug in a laptop or other electronic device).

The hotel has all the amenities you expect from a Westin -- comfortable Heavenly Bed, wonderful shower, in-room single-cup coffee maker with Starbucks coffee. If you're a Starwood member they have an executive club lounge with complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. (The breakfast is only so-so -- eggs & sausage, e.g., were cold and not very tasty -- but they do have bagels, hard-boiled eggs, and a variety of cold cereal available).

This property has exceptionally friendly staff that go out of their way to make you comfortable. The front desk staff noticed that I was carrying a fast food take-out bag when I checked in, exhausted from my 14 hours+ of air travel, they offered (without my asking) to get me a plate & silerware so I would not have to eat out of a plastic bag. Little things like that can make a surprising difference in how you feel at the end of a long trip, especially when it's offered proactively.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else when coming to the Richmond area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Wahineontheroad, thank you for such a generous review of your stays with us. I am so pleased to hear that we continue to exceed your expectations and that my associates take such instinctive care of you; this is truly what sets us apart from our competition and I am so proud of this fact. Thank you for your detailed review of the rest of your experience as well regarding our Executive Club level rooms and lounge; it is a great amenity of our property and definitely worth the price of the upgrade. We look forward to serving you again soon. Stay well and travel safe, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice staff, very modern, very convenient, very friendly, very clean, very reasonable, very clean, very pet friendly, very West Broad Street! Whew! I think that's all of the very's.

We requested a late check in that was smooth. No issues (like they gave our room away).

If I had to give one issue---it would be that I did put in my reservation that I would be arriving with a small pet. When I checked in with my dog on a leash they were kind of shocked b/c of the they assigned us to a room on a NON-PET floor.
I was kind of p'd off b/c I don't agree with putting guest with pets on one floor like we're contaminated! Huh?!?

Anywho, they gave us the room they originally assigned. The valet guy, is very kind.

The stay was great.

We were on the back side of the hotel and I could hear the highway behind the hotel. I wasn't really loud but it was noticeable is you have to have complete silence to get to sleep at night.

The location is perfect---it's like in the middle of West Broad Street--main thorough of Richmond.

I forgot to mention we had the option for a stand-up shower or a tub--we requested the shower and it was great BUT there is a huge flaw with the shower...the floor was always soak and wet from water not staying in the shower nothing major (only if you don't bust your axx) but it did cause for me to call and request a lot of towels to keep on the floor!

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: A little noise on the back-side of the hotel from the highway. All pet owners will be put on the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Ebonydiva, thank you for your recent visit and overall great review of your experience. I am pleased that you and your canine companion enjoyed your stay. As far as our "designated" pet floor, it is only designated so that we can provide special service to these rooms as many other guests have allergies to pets and thus we have to service these rooms a little special to ensure all of our guests have a positive experience. We definitely enjoy having our guest's canine companions in the hotel and are very proud of our service accordingly. Thank you also for your gift of feedback regarding the shower doors, we will continue to be aggressive in ensuring the shower seals are fitted correctly to prevent any water leaking into the floors. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The room was beautiful and comfortable. Nice furnishings and very clean. Great amenities and front desk service. The only thing is, I was not at all relaxed or comfortable when in the common areas of the hotel. The staff working when I was there almost made it a point to put on airs. Plus their reaction to us when we were in work clothes for a renovation was vastly different than when we came down well put together for an evening out. The interaction shouldn't change regardless of how someone is dressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear AmyN, thank you for your recent stay and review. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel overall but appologize for any ill will as a result of your feeling uncomfortable at times. I assure you this was not our intention. We definitly appreciate all of our guests and I am very sorry that you were fealt anything less than professional interactions or lack thereof. I assure you that we take great pride in our service ability and level of friendliness and I will follow up accordingly with my team to prevent recurrence. I hope that you will stay with us again should your travels return you to the area. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were at a Red Hat Event from Feb 27,2013 through March 4th,2013 at this hotel. The service was impeccable by this hotel. The food was very good. The tye of srvice this hotel offers is beyond excellant. A lot of hotels could learn from them. Am looking forward to going back next year for the Divine 9. Anytime you asked or anything the staff was right on it.

Only complaint way to far from the aiport. No shuttle service.

Room Tip: I was in several roms and there isn't a bad room in the hote.But I must say the7th floor for upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear TaraG033, thank you for staying with us recently for the conference. You and your group were such a pleasure to have with us and I am pleased to see that the hotel and our associates exceeded your expectations. We are glad you all had a great time and we look forward to seeing you all again next year and beyond. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel was very nice! Clean and beautiful, very comfortable. One thing I will say though is that this is definitely a hotel for business men/women, or couples. We stayed as a family during our spring break, and our kids were the only ones we ever saw there that week. As much as we loved the hotel, we wouldn't stay there as a family again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Timgreen, thank you for your recent visit and positive review of our hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay overall. I am very sorry that you did not feel at home with your family while staying with us due to the business nature of the hotel. While we serve all guests with the same level of service, our typical weekday crowd is business while weekends are generally families, etc as is typical in a non-destination hotel. I truly feel that we are the best hotel choice in the Richmond area and hope that you will reconsider staying with us should your travels return you to Richmond. Regards, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Richmond

Address: 6631 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Richmond Hotel conveniently located on Broad Street just off of Interstate 64 at Reynolds Crossing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Westin Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Richmond Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.