We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Japanese House of Steaks

Kobe Japanese House of Steaks
19 S 13th St, Richmond, VA 23219
8046438080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #847 of 1,374 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The place was dingy, service was AWFUL, and the food was average at best but extremely over priced. If you want to spend that amount of money, there are plenty of amazing places in Richmond to dine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Fresh Sushi and Happy Hour Specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The nigri sushi had generous slices of fish, and quite the deal when you catch their $4 "happy hour" (5p-7p) specials. Went there a second time before my train back to catch the specials.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food very good but service disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our group had reservations and had to wait until our table was ready when we arrived. We were finally taken downstairs to our table and waited too long for the waiter to come take our drink orders. Those took forever and some were served well after the other drinks were served. Everything was very slow until the cook came to prepare our meal. Our cook was fantastic and put on quite a show. I feel our cook was better than the cook for the other side of the table. The food was very good, the service is what has caused the rating to be lower

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We ordered the Love set menu sushi. The fish was very good, however the rice was so so, sometimes dry. Service was a little slow. Will not go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Take out that should have been thrown out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I recently ordered take out from Kobe and was so disappointed. I ordered the spicy lobster roll and the shrimp tempura roll. All I can say is I am still searching for the lobster in the lobster roll. It was a mound of rice wrapped around some cucumber, avocado and a smig of lobster sprinkled with some crunch on top. The shrimp tempura roll was worse. All in all I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone - not even my worse enemy. If take out was this bad I don't even want to think about dining in. Stop turn around and find something else to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese House of Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Japanese House of Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Japanese House of Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.