We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Slow That The Would Need To Speed Up To Stop!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kobe Japanese House of Steaks

Kobe Japanese House of Steaks
19 S 13th St, Richmond, VA 23219
8046438080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #849 of 1,379 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So Slow That The Would Need To Speed Up To Stop!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I had the misfortune of going to Kobe the other night. Six of us showed up at 5:15pm to find an empty restaurant. You would think we would have gotten fairly speedy service wouldn’t you?!?! WRONG, we didn’t get out food until 6:50!. Shame on them!!! I also spied a cockroach skittling along the floor, YUCK! Do yourself a favor and skip this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    7
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Plastic in food and poor mgt. response”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We are regulars at Kobe. We had one previous bad experience with a soapy glass for the water. At the prices they charge, it should be first rate. Tonight, in one of our rolls, was a fairly large piece of plastic wrap. Part of it we had eaten!!! To make things worse, when brought to the attention of the manager he was very nonchalant and said "yes, it's plastic." I said that's it, and he said he would tell the cook. They still charged us for the rest of the dinner to boot. Two regulars no more!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food, Service Even Worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Had heard mixed reviews about this place, but thought that I'd try it out. I'm new to Richmond and still looking for great sushi. Guess I should add that this is not a review of the downstairs hibachi area, but the upstairs regular restaurant/sushi area.

First it took several minutes to be seated. Was a slow night (only one table and two people seated at the bar when I arrived) so I thought that maybe the host was off cleaning or organizing something and didn't hear me come in? I had a couple of questions that I asked the server when she brought my drink--one being how the Chili Chicken was prepared, fried? grilled? and she said "It's chicken with chilis" and rolled her eyes. Awesome. I ordered a couple sushi rolls, which as hungry as I was, weren't very edible. I couldn't choke down half of them. The rice was either overcooked or had been left out since lunchtime. There were so many chunks of hard, dried rice in the rolls that I'm assuming that is why they had pretty much fallen apart when they arrived. My drink never was refilled. Server never came back to ask how the food was. I actually tried to get her attention a couple of times when I was ready to leave, but she walked right past. I actually had to ask the sushi chef if he could let her know I was ready for my bill.

The whole process of me in the door and back out took just under two hours. Afterwards, I went home and made myself a peanut butter sandwich. Seriously. I understand off nights and all, but from other reviews/word of mouth, this isn't such an odd experience here. I won't be back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OK food, formula hibachi experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Had a good but over priced dinner at this formula hibachi style steak house.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Love the cheesiness of the steakhouse experience. Sushi is great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Love the cheesiness of the steakhouse experience. Sushi is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Japanese House of Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Japanese House of Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kobe Japanese House of Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.