We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not horrible, not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet + Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not horrible, not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I was able to check in an hour early, which was helpful. Pool was closed even though it was hot. Floor was very quiet. Bed was comfortably firm. The room was clean and had a balcony, which my kids loved. Nothing stood out either positively or negatively.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    33
    13
    1
See reviews for
29
20
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Service was great, room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The building needs a facelift but otherwise is a good place to stay. I was there for two nights and felt it was worth the price I paid compared to other nearby hotels. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Was working in the area for the day and needed an EARLY check-in at 0930. They went out of their way to accommodate me and got me into a room. It was great to relax in between meetings. When I returned that afternoon, the check in clerk remembered my name and inquired as to whether everything had worked out for me. A nice touch on a tough day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Recently stayed at the Richmond West Courtyard a traditional older model while visiting my daughter who attends VCU. Nice location in a safe neighborhood without the downtown traffic and noise. Rooms were clean but had nice screen doors to let the spring air in. When i go back for graduation later this year, i will request a poolside room. Nice patio with a view. If you want to sleep late, use the do not disturb signs as the housekeeping staff will wake you early!! Front desk attendant who worked the morning shift was very pleasant and accomodating.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool, first floor preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I called for a late check-in and when we arrived at 10pm there were three weddings going on. There were people everywhere, but the staff was totally laid back. Check in took about five minutes, and when I asked if we could be in a quiet room (away from the wedding guests), he issued me another key instantly.

The room was totally quiet, the beds were comfortable, and there was an empty mini-fridge we could use in the room.

Each morning at breakfast, no matter which of the waitstaff attended to us, they were always exceedingly pleasant and helpful. The restaurant manager too, each morning, asked if we wanted coffee to go or if we were enjoying our breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights this past weekend while in VA for a wedding. The hotel is fine for what you need - it was clean, in a safe location, rooms were nice enough - tv's, soft beds, plenty of towels. Breakfast was included with our stay - it was GREAT - there were many options - cereals, bagels, french toast, eggs, saus/bacon, waffles, rolls, fresh fruit etc.etc. We greatly enjoyed having that readily available every morning.

The best part of the hotel was the staff - everyone we spoke to was SO nice and friendly and helpful. The front desk was truly great and always had a smile.

No complaints!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This Courtyard hotel is what you'd expect, which is comforting when in the middle of a series of long drive days. It's on the side of busy roadway, but offers easy access to the highways, and noise is not a problem. The front desk staff was very friendly upon check in and check out. The room was very large, and very comfortable, with an updated and clean bathroom. There was a side table with a lit up makeup mirror in the bathroom, too. All in all, a very pleasant experience. Nothing luxury, but perfect for two people wanting to find something comfortable while passing through a new city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West

Address: 6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond West Hotel Richmond
Courtyard Richmond West
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.