We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Courtyard by Marriott, needs a little updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #35 of 80 hotels in Richmond
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical Courtyard by Marriott, needs a little updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Service was great, room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The building needs a facelift but otherwise is a good place to stay. I was there for two nights and felt it was worth the price I paid compared to other nearby hotels. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    32
    12
    1
See reviews for
24
18
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Was working in the area for the day and needed an EARLY check-in at 0930. They went out of their way to accommodate me and got me into a room. It was great to relax in between meetings. When I returned that afternoon, the check in clerk remembered my name and inquired as to whether everything had worked out for me. A nice touch on a tough day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Recently stayed at the Richmond West Courtyard a traditional older model while visiting my daughter who attends VCU. Nice location in a safe neighborhood without the downtown traffic and noise. Rooms were clean but had nice screen doors to let the spring air in. When i go back for graduation later this year, i will request a poolside room. Nice patio with a view. If you want to sleep late, use the do not disturb signs as the housekeeping staff will wake you early!! Front desk attendant who worked the morning shift was very pleasant and accomodating.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the pool, first floor preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I called for a late check-in and when we arrived at 10pm there were three weddings going on. There were people everywhere, but the staff was totally laid back. Check in took about five minutes, and when I asked if we could be in a quiet room (away from the wedding guests), he issued me another key instantly.

The room was totally quiet, the beds were comfortable, and there was an empty mini-fridge we could use in the room.

Each morning at breakfast, no matter which of the waitstaff attended to us, they were always exceedingly pleasant and helpful. The restaurant manager too, each morning, asked if we wanted coffee to go or if we were enjoying our breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights this past weekend while in VA for a wedding. The hotel is fine for what you need - it was clean, in a safe location, rooms were nice enough - tv's, soft beds, plenty of towels. Breakfast was included with our stay - it was GREAT - there were many options - cereals, bagels, french toast, eggs, saus/bacon, waffles, rolls, fresh fruit etc.etc. We greatly enjoyed having that readily available every morning.

The best part of the hotel was the staff - everyone we spoke to was SO nice and friendly and helpful. The front desk was truly great and always had a smile.

No complaints!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This Courtyard hotel is what you'd expect, which is comforting when in the middle of a series of long drive days. It's on the side of busy roadway, but offers easy access to the highways, and noise is not a problem. The front desk staff was very friendly upon check in and check out. The room was very large, and very comfortable, with an updated and clean bathroom. There was a side table with a lit up makeup mirror in the bathroom, too. All in all, a very pleasant experience. Nothing luxury, but perfect for two people wanting to find something comfortable while passing through a new city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsburg,virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I expect more from a Marriott. We called several times before our day of arrival and on our day of arrival to confirm that we had adjoining rooms for parents and children. Ahead of the arrival day, we are not guaranteed anything---this is normal. But, we still kept it on their radar. They told us (as most hotels do) that we should call the day of arrival and inform housekeping so that the rooms can be ready and that we are given the adjoining rooms. We called three times and each time we were told that we get the adjoining rooms, but only after we were told that they had no record of us requesting adjoining rooms. They obviously don't take requests or guests seriously.
Second, on the second night, there were several ants on the side table of my children's bed and on their pillows and in their beds. I killed about 10. It was very late at night and we wouldn't be able to change rooms at this time. We looked everywhere for the source of the ants. We finally found about 8 very dried blueberries under the curtain. These had been there for a long time and were attracting the ants. Does anyone vaccuum here???
Third, my husband just killed a nickel-sized spider in the bathroom right near my daughter's foot as she was going to the bathroom.
Fourth, for over a day, we passed a broken beer bottle on the path between our room and the main lobby on the outside path near the courtyard pool. When we saw it again in the evening, I told the front desk personnel about it. I find it hard to believe that we were the only people who saw it there over a 24 hour period. Maybe they are short-staffed?
I expect more cleanliness from a Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West

Address: 6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond West Hotel Richmond
Courtyard Richmond West
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Richmond West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.