We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4303 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprised and Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Being a South Richmond native, I was a little bit nervous about the Bells Road location. The value and close proximity to my destination while I was in town were attractive, so I decided to give it a try. Wow, very impressed with service, room, and area. It's industrial, lots of trucks, and not too much in the area but it was fine for me. I have dietary restrictions, so I didn't eat at the restaurant and there's only fast food in the area. Easy highway access. I'll will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibells, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Good afternoon NuMama,

The entire team here at the new Holiday Inn South - Bells Road was thrilled to read your review! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreciate you and we are glad you coming back to us.



Sincerely,

Ismaray Jones, CRDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    41
    23
    5
    9
See reviews for
51
20
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Back in September, my sister and I stayed here coming back from our recent Florida trip. The staff was excellent, very helpful and accommodating considering we checked in with our puppy at 4 am in the morning. The room was very clean, cozy and provided us with much needed sleep very comfortably. From now on, the puppy, my sister and I will only stay in Holiday Inns along route I-95 every time we drive down to Florida.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibells, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear KathyL,

Thank you for posting your positive comments on TripAdvisor about our staff, and their helpfulness during your recent stay. Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you (and your puppy) back again soon.


Kind regards,


Ismaray Jones, CRDE
Holiday Inn South-Bells Rd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a recent roadtrip from Toronto to Florida we decided to make an overnight stop just south of Richmond. There were several hotels/motels at the exit we chose and stopped at each to check the pricing. Surprisingly, the nicest looking property also had the best rate. We were checked in quickly and given our room. Everything was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Perfect stop for road weary travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibells, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear TOgirl47,

Thank you very much for the comments you have posted. Service is very important to us, and we will continue to accommodate our guests the best we can. We look forward to seeing you again in the Richmond area.

Thank you,

Ismaray Jones, CRDE
Holiday Inn South, Richmond VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night in December 2012. While we did request and receive a pet-friendly room, we were surprised at how dirty and un-kept the room was even though it was pet-friendly. We have stayed at many other pet-friendly hotels where you would not even know a pet had been in the room. When we arrived, we found hair - human and pet - all over both of the double beds. We called housekeeping to change the bedding. However, they only brought linens to change one bed. The gentleman who changed the bed was unapologetic, unfriendly, and rude. The hotel room, which boats a reno in 2010, had disgustingly dirty carpets. When the changed linens revealed more hair, we realized that the housekeepers were throwing the bedding on the floor while changing the beds. However, the carpets had not been cleaned properly, which seemed to be the reason for the hair. Through the night, we heard everything in the hallways and room next door. It was almost like there was not enough sound-proofing and insulation. Finally, to add insult to injury after a very loud and unrestful night, the maid woke us up at 7:30 a.m. banging on our door. When we answered she asked if we were checking out soon. Seriously, I have never, ever been woken by housekeeping before a reasonable hour and never on a day where you are expected to check out. It was just a terrible stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismaray J, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear JenniferZ24601,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at the Holiday Inn Richmond-South fell short. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you, at your convenience, so I can address the specifics of your stay. I can be reached at 804-592-2900 ext 611. We value all comments so that we may continually improve guest experience, and I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. We pride ourselves in having clean rooms and I will personally investigate who contributed to your negative experience.

Respectfully,

Ismaray Jones, CRDE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a room with a kingsize bed. You can park round the back close to your room- very convenient. The room was clean and spacious, it had a fridge and a microwave. The sheets were really soft and you have a choice of soft or firm pillows. The staff were really friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibells, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Good afternoon Georgiaflood!

First, I would like to apologize that we did not respond earlier to your posting on tripadvisor,
12-28-12. Normally we reply within just a week or so. Thank you for taking your valuable time to
post your kind comments. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in our area.

Warmest regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise in the industrial south side of Richmond. The staff was professional, the room was great - nice beds and room was quiet. Probably the only downside was that the hotel does not do a complimentary breakfast and we had to swing by McDonald's to get a fast breakfast before our daughter's early lacrosse tournament. A suggestion to the hotel is to either provide a complimentary breakfast or to have an option for a "brown bag" breakfast for travelers who have early schedules.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismaray J, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
The entire team here at the new Holiday Inn South - Bells Road was thrilled to read your review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts. We hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to Richmond! I have passed along the "to go bags" request.

Sincerely,

Ismaray Jones, CRDE
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This stay was not as pleasant as other stays at this hotel. The room (4th floor handicap) was not as clean (bathroom). The bed was not as comfortable-it was missing the mattress cover. When I rolled to the edge I could feel the mattress ribbing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismaray J, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Lawssm,

Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. I am deeply sorry that you had such an uncomfortable experience with us. We are addressing this matter with our Executive Housekeeper and can ensure that all missing mattress pads have been replaced.
Thank you again and I hope that you do return as a valued guest.

Sincerely,
Ismaray Albalat-Jones, CRDE
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

Address: 4303 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM WELCOME A new signature arrival will welcome you to the property including new lighting, to guide your way, landscaping & design features that creates an energized & branded sense of welcome that is universally recognizable. Customized music & scent selections engage guests in a full sensory experience. New Service Promise: A Best-in-Class service culture Stay Real to further ensure the team develops the behaviors & skills to serve guests so they feel like individuals & not numbers; genuine people delivering real service. We are Richmond s NEWEST Holiday Inn located near the airport (RIC). Located off of I-95 at Belles Rd., exit 69 & near I-64 & I-895. Our full-service facility will take care of all your needs & exceed your expectations! See a different game in the Sporting News Grill, a sports themed restaurant to provide the perfect place to connect, dine & catch your favorite team in action during a stay at the Holiday Inn Richmond. CLOSE TO WHERE YOU NEED TO BE Minutes away from; Richmond International Airport (RIC), Phillip Morris, Honeywell, Dupont & Fort Lee & the other many companies in the area. Also, enjoy the many attractions in Richmond; Richmond International Speedway, Kings Dominion & Brown s Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.