We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but room upgrades are needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Richmond
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great staff, but room upgrades are needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed for four nights. As mentioned before, this place does indeed have a great staff, and all things considered is a pleasant place to stay. The rooms do need new TVs. The bathrooms are a little tight, but I found them to be clean. Great breakfast, and nice workout facilities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our dedicated staff and Cooked to Order Breakfast. I am happy to tell you new TVs were ordered last month. We are excited to welcome the arrival of new 37 inch flat screens to our all our suites along with some new furnishings. We hope you will return in the future and enjoy! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    136
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
190
71
20
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel three times over the last year for a total of about 11 weeks. I stay at a lot of embassy suites around the country, as it is my favorite chain. So that makes the Richmond Embassy Suites my favorite hotel of my favorite chain. They take very good care of you, keep it personal, and are sensitive to and facilitating of odd hours and off-menu requests. So yes, you can get a peanut butter and mayonaise sandwich at the Embassy Suites.
Finally, bravo to the front desk. That is a well-staffed counter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
We are thrilled to be your favorite Embassy Suites and that Embassy is your favorite Chain. We are very proud of our hotel and dedicated staff and I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff. We thank you for the opportunity to earn your businesses and look forward to making you comfortable in your home away from home with us! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I will be traveling to Richmond every other week for the six months. Being away from home is always tiring but I have to say I it's not so bad when staying at this hotel. By my third visit they were greeting me by name when I came in, offered directions to wherever I was going, suggested dining options and offered to make my reservation. The hotel is clean, the included evening Happy Hour & Cook to Order Breakfast is nice but it's the employees that make this the best place to stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for make us your home away from home! It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our staff and how they truly make a difference. We hope you will let us continue to earn your business when in Richmond. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away for the weekend, but we didn't want to go too far away from home and ruin a nice weekend with a lot of travel time in the car. We are SO glad we stayed close, because we found Embassy Suites in Richmond. First of all, it was so easy to reserve a room online. We arrived Friday evening, and were stunned by how beautiful it was inside. There is an atrium inside of the eight story building - with big, beautiful trees and plants and the ceiling is filled with skylights - even a small stream meandering through. The staff was friendly and professional, without being pretentious, and extremely attentive to all of our needs. There was a nice indoor pool, a jacuzzi that actually worked and was hot - and even a cedar lined sauna - oh, and a workout room that we could have used if we wanted (but we SO didn't). We got the King bedroom suite, and everything was clean and looked fantastic. Even the hairdryer they provided worked better than any hotel-room hairdryer I have ever used! We slept great in our comfy bed, and woke to a real breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets made to order, fruit, waffles and pancakes - and lots of fresh coffee. And all for no extra money - it was included in the price of the room, and it was nice not to get nickel and dimed to death for once. After a great day we came back to discover that they were having a happy hour in the atrium - and all of the drinks were free from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. for the guests of the hotel. Again, already included in the price of the room. They had trays of cheese, fruit, and veggies, and also chips and salsa that they replenished before they got anywhere close to being empty. Needless to say, we were really happy we decided to stay another night! My husband said it was the first time that he'd been to a hotel where he was happier staying inside than going out. Everyone there was friendly and laid back - no one got loud or obnoxious - just people having a really nice time. We didn't want to leave! We will be back as soon as we can get another weekend free - we might even take the kids next time! Well, maybe...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed overnight meeting my son and our two year old grandson with our other other son. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. Besides the hotel restaurant, there are chain restaurants within a short walking distance. The suite and the large. beautiful foyer with stream and palms and ferns allowed our grandson plenty of room to move. An outstanding stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Glad to hear you found our Embassy Suites Richmond to be a very family friendly hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I come to Richmond on a pretty frequent basis to visit my son. We have stayed in many places but I have found THE place. I have a 2 year old son and a 10 year old son. The pool is a perfect temperature and the rooms are comfortable. The atmosphere is really cool as well. But the service has been outstanding! The staff really knows how to treat its guests. I was particularly pleased with Andrew at the front desk. He was EXTREMELY helpful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We are glad you tried the Embassy Suites Richmond and thank you for your kind words about our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the team, especially Andrew. We hope you come back soon and enjoy the hotel and indoor pool! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We use the Embassy Suites for our guest visiting Richmond. They are fantastic with accommodating our needs. There is a shuttle that will run the guest from our business and back during the day. The guest seem extremely pleased with their rooms and with the rates that apply. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at the Embassy Suites Richmond. Glad to hear our hotel shuttle has provided value and convenience. We would like to continue to earn your business by taking good care of you and your guests visiting Richmond. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;