We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far, the best place to stay in Richmond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 80 hotels in Richmond
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“By Far, the best place to stay in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I come to Richmond on a pretty frequent basis to visit my son. We have stayed in many places but I have found THE place. I have a 2 year old son and a 10 year old son. The pool is a perfect temperature and the rooms are comfortable. The atmosphere is really cool as well. But the service has been outstanding! The staff really knows how to treat its guests. I was particularly pleased with Andrew at the front desk. He was EXTREMELY helpful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We are glad you tried the Embassy Suites Richmond and thank you for your kind words about our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the team, especially Andrew. We hope you come back soon and enjoy the hotel and indoor pool! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    126
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
185
68
20
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We use the Embassy Suites for our guest visiting Richmond. They are fantastic with accommodating our needs. There is a shuttle that will run the guest from our business and back during the day. The guest seem extremely pleased with their rooms and with the rates that apply. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at the Embassy Suites Richmond. Glad to hear our hotel shuttle has provided value and convenience. We would like to continue to earn your business by taking good care of you and your guests visiting Richmond. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Richmond because of its proximity to a sporting event we were attending. The reviews on this site were positive. We did not arrive at the hotel until 1 am and we were really looking forward to a comfortable bed. We were so disappointed. The front desk staff was polite and check in was easy. The hotel was clean. The plants in the atrium looked well cared for and lush. However, the king bed was extremely uncomfortable with a sagging, hard mattress. The hotel was showing signs of age despite the newer carpet. The elevator area needed to be painted. The metal doors on each of the rooms made if feel like we were staying in a motel. I was very disappointed that there was only a shower and no tub in our bathroom and there was barely enough room to turn around in the bathroom.
To top it all off, the breakfast was mediocre at best with stale bagels and a very slow line for made-to-order omelets. I would opt for another hotel if I were staying in this area again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We are sorry you did not find the bed comfortable; we will look into this as our mattresses were recently replaced. Our King Suites are equipped with a shower while our Double Bedded Suites have tubs. I have shared your candid comments with our Food and Beverage breakfast team and am sorry for the wait for our cooked to order breakfast and the quality of the bagels. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach me personally. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEXFORD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I can't say enough about the quality of service and value received. My stay at the Embassy Suites, Richmond was made a delight starting with the front desk service by Bobby, Stuart and the rest, to the manager and staff at the complementary breakfast to Mary, Leigh Ann and the rest of the staff at the Managers reception. At my last stay, even though the hotel was hosting a convention with hundreds of "special" guests we were given the same respect and attention as the "special" guys. My hats off to the entire staff at Embassy Suites, when in Richmond I will stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our Embassy Suites Richmond staff. Glad you had time to enjoy our full breakfast and Manager’s Reception. It really is a great value in addition to the extra space of our suites. Thank you for your loyalty, we want to continue to earn your business! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

After an excruciating stay at the Homestead Suites in Reston VA I finally came to realize the importance of reviews.

My stay at the Embassy Suites in Richmond on 1/10/11 was a very pleasant experience. The foyer downstairs is breathtaking with an indoor pond, stream, and loads of live plants. The complimentary happy hour (Manager's reception) was nice as was the service at the hotel bar where I went for dinner afterward. I can't say the burger was the best I've had but the service made up for it and the local microbrews on tap were excellent.

My room was spotless, the wifi was free and fast, everything worked great. My only slight knock on the room is that the iron had excessive buildup (mineral/salt/starch?) and had to be washed before I could use it.

Above all though, the staff set the place apart. I'm awful with names but the young gentleman who checked me in was the epitome of professionalism... even when I forgot my room key and food passport in my room and asked for duplicates. In the morning when I checked out I met a wonderful front desk employee from Cambodia who may be the happiest hotel employee I've ever met. A great conversationalist that kept me entertained until my ride arrived.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for your recommendation regarding your recent stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. I will share your comments with the Front Desk staff as it will be my pleasure to show them how they made a difference! We have found our guests appreciate the complimentary internet. Thank for letting us know about the iron. We hope to see you back soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying here at the Embassy Suites. I can't rave enough about the service that my collegues and I received. Everyone from the front desk to food services to housekeeping went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.

We ate several times in the hotel and the food was excellent. Not the norm for hotel food but there, it was great!

If you're ever in the area, hands down, this is where you should stay!

Thank you Embassy Suites staff!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your favorable stay at the Embassy Suite Richmond Hotel. Our Executive Chef creates some tasty dishes and glad you enjoyed dining with us. We hope to see you again soon ! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed at the Embassy Suites on business along with almost 80 plus collgues for a month period. The hotel staff was phenominal accomadating such a large group of us. The rooms were excellent. The food was very good. I have no complaints about my stay at the Embassy in fact I had to come back for a meeting and stayed there again. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming into Richmond, Virginia.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at our Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We enjoyed hosting your group. It is great to hear that our large suites and our hotel staff service were able to provide a friendly home away from home. Our culinary team works very hard to provide a great breakfast and tasty items for lunch and dinner, glad you enjoyed our food. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.