We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old grey mare ain't what she used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The old grey mare ain't what she used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Embassy Richmond/Henrico VA

I normally stay at Hilton properties to build up points with Hilton Honor program. This was my 3rd or 4th time to this location over the years.

Pros:

Managers Happy Hour

Nice gym and pool area,

made to order breakfast,

either free wireless or it was part of being a Hilton Honor’s member

Cons:

This property is showing its age

Bathroom was dirty.

Parking lot driveway is hard to find

My fiancé and I stayed overnight while I attended a 1 day conference she decided to work out of the room. Check in was easy I asked for a late check out and was told 1pm, I asked if I could go later I was told by the front desk that they would have to charge me ½ day if I left after 1pm. Long story short we slipped the maid $5 and she told the Fiancé she would make that the last room she cleaned – so we got to stay until 2:30. My real amazement in room 704 is the stained and mildewed grout in the bathroom. I also noticed a black ring of mold around the back and sides of the toilet. Otherwise it was a typical Embassy 2 bedroom suite with pod style coffee maker, mini refrigerator. Lighting is the usual dim hotel light we all suffer with these days. Manager special had ample free beer, wine, and liquor. The food put out was mediocre some cheese, some sort of “out of the box” triangle thing with sauce, and some cut up vegetables. Breakfast is great pretty much anything you want including made to order eggs and meats. Parking is surface parking and it’s free the lot is somewhat dim after dark but it borders an office complex and appears to be safe. Across the parking lot is a TGI Fridays and a Sheetz gas station. Since Richmond is an easy city to maneuver I may end up staying at the new Hilton 8 miles west.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    191
    64
    33
    12
See reviews for
255
109
25
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scandia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Not in terms of ecological but in the neighborhood. Lots of trees. Loved the location because I could walk to my client. The bartender at the "managers reception" was terrific and exceptionally courteous. I;d stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Embassy is a great hotel. The 2 room suites are very nice, especially to be able to "get away" from the kids! The rooms have a microwave & fridge and most rooms have a balconey. The manager's reception is fantastic, although I wish they would go back to serving real finger food instead of the chips & veggies. The breakfast is wonderful!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed several times at the Embassy Suites Commerce Center. The staff at this hotel (especially Mr. Pillow at the Front Desk) are welcoming and pleasant. The most notable aspect of the property is its Conference Center set-up which can accomodate quite small meetings as more traditional large groups. The complimentary cocktail hour(s) with what appear to be never-ending snacks is a big hit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I stayed at this Embassy Suites for two nights while on a business trip to Richmond, VA.

Public Areas: The lobby & atrium were beautiful and well kept, as I've come to expect from Embassy Suites. This hotel has an indoor pool & fitness center, but I did not visit these areas.

Staff: Everyone I came in contact with was pleasant, definitely no complaints here.

Breakfast: The free breakfast was great - better than I expected based on some of the reviews I had read. I ate around 7am every morning - maybe the quantity/quality decreases throughout the morning but I thought it was delicious. There were many foods available: scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, grits, sausage, waffles, english muffins, toast, bagels, assorted muffins, oatmeal, made-to-order omelets, donuts, assorted cereals and several beverages including white milk, chocolate milk, juices, etc.

Room: The room is what let me down and kept me from giving this hotel a higher rating.
Pros - the separate living/sleeping area is nice as is having a fridge and microwave in the room. The bed was comfortable and I really didn't hear any noise at all coming from outside my room. I also greatly appreciated the free WiFi.
Cons - the first thing I noticed was a musty/smoky smell. My room was non-smoking, but I'm pretty sure that it just recently became that way because it did not smell very "fresh". The bathroom was also uncomfortably small - I am not a large person, but still had trouble maneuvering around to get the door closed. The shower was nice, clean and large but only had two very tiny soap shelves so no where to place shampoo, razors, etc. Also, you had to hold the handle down for several moments in order to make the toilet flush.

This was not a horrible stay by any means, just not what I had expected. On my next visit to Richmond I will most likely choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This was our second stop on the "Embassy Suite Route" from NH to Sarasota, FL. And it's pretty much everything we love about this hotel chain.

The atrium is one of those green, gorgeous spaces with tall trees, ferns, several ponds, a bridge or two, and tasteful lighting. This is the kind of place where you want to spend some time.

The rooms are also up to expectations. A comfy desk chair, two desks, newer sleeper sofa, nice furnishing, large kitchen area, and two "bathroom" areas (one with usual bathroom amenities and the other in a sink and mirror in the bedroom.

There are a few drawbacks to the room: the first one we were checked into (a king-size bed) didn't have a bathtub. We asked if there were room with tubs, and learned that we could get one with a room with two double beds.... so we switched. The baths don't have hangers or hooks for wet towels, so we used the back of the toilet. There's also no vent in the tub bathroom, so you might want to leave the door ajar. The lamp between the two double beds doesn't work unless you've flipped the switch on your way into the bath, and the bath itself is located in the bedroom, rather than just off the living area. Minor problems, really.

The Manager's Reception is top notch: complimentary cocktails (no limit), and a diverse spread of hors d'oeuvres. The restaurant is located within the bar/lounge area, and serves a fabulous "she-crab" soup (highly recommended).

It's wonderful to find an Embassy Suites that doesn't disappoint, and this is one of them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We have stayed here before and still very satisfied. Got a rate of just over $100/night during the Christmas holiday. Good location right on Broad Street which has almost any restaurant you could possibly imagine on it. Nice because it offers suites which is a separate bedroom from the living area. They also offer a HOT breakfast every morning at no additional charge. The only problem is, that the breakfast menu doesn't change at all and we stayed there 5 nights and no change at all in what was offered. But they do have an omelet station for made-to-order omelets. The rooms don't have the most comfy of furniture but served its purpose. All the personnel seemed very friendly and we will probably stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.3 mi away
HYATT house Richmond-West
HYATT house Richmond-West
#4 of 84 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#5 of 84 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.