We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the happy hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Loved the happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

One night stay was pleasurable. Check in easy and king room had plenty of space. Bathroom was a tad small, but 2nd sink in the bedroom was a plus. Microwave and refrigerator was wonderful to have in the room. Manager's cocktail reception was great. Top shelf booze and a good selection of munchies. We watched football and relaxed as we enjoyed our cocktails. Made to order breakfast capped off a perfect stay. 30 minutes from Richmond airport. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our large suites and evening reception! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    150
    50
    25
    8
See reviews for
201
80
21
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
IOWA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Second time there. Front desk staff was very nice. Room was very clean but bathroom was tiny! Went to the bar for a drink and the bartender gave me my beer had asked to be excused lol and didn't come back! For like 10 minutes! Then I went over to the happy hour after I paid for my beer and the guy told me I couldn't bring it in ! He was a giant jerk! I will have to see if I stay here again for that rate.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for you feedback on your recent visit. We do review our comments to see how we can improve our guest experience as well as passing on appreciation for employees who have made a difference in a stay. We apologize for the frustrating experience in the bar and will address this with our staff. Also, due to our liquor license, alcohol purchased in the lounge cannot leave the lounge and I’m sorry that was not better communicated. We do hope you will consider returning for a third stay if you return to Richmond! Warm Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great atrium with open space, greenery, and good food. The rooms are quiet and well designed. The workout room is fine and there is a sauna. Excellent service from the front desk. Check in and out were both smooth and quick. Service during the business meetings was efficient. I would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area! Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The property is located off emerywood pkway close to the 64 Freeway and also very close to a number of urban-commercial centers. Restaurants and shopping centers are all within 5-10 min. drive up the street.

The rooms are as expected, suites with a very generous ante-room with TV, sofabed, microwave/frig and some dining space. The backroom is the actual bedroom, en-suite bathroom and even a separate sink outside of the bathroom. There are 2 TVs. the staff are very nice and patient. Wi-fi speed was average - faster during the day, slower in the evening likely from multiple users but usable. M-Thu as in all embassy suites they had a complementary evening reception - basically simple snacks (chips, fruits, dips, soda, beer, and pretty full bar) all included.

breakfast in the morning was as expected. eggs cooked to order, proteins (bacon/sausage), scrambled eggs, french toast/waffles, home fries, fruits, oatmeal, various breads/cereals, coffee, tea, etc. Very nicely done.

if ever back in richmond, definitely would stay. the hotel is very quite despite being close to commercial centers. rooms were clean and spacious. while not as updated on the outside, the interiors were fine.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your time to write a review. We hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area! And if you stay with us on the weekend, we offer our evening reception then as well. Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We checked in at 9pm and checked out at 6am. We were catching the train out of Staples Mill Rd. Very convienent location to train. The breakfast staff was awesome as they were not yet open and they welcomed us with two kids in as they were preparing. We had a solid start with food/beverage before we left to board. Will definitely stay there again if catching the train.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are glad you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast and the staff was able to accommodate your family. It’s a great way to start the day! Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites and we look forward to see you again. Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not a place I would recommend. The first room had uncleaned bathroom / toilet, and the second room I was moved to had crumbs on the floor and there was a half-drank can of beer in the mini-fridge from the person before. Made me wonder about the sheets too. Bed uncomfortable and there was a dust problem that gave me an awful headache. I was supposed to stay four nights but left after the first. The staff was kind and accomodating, but the lack of housekeeping really blew it. I cannot recommend this facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. We have shared your feedback with our team and are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Although the neighborhood is brutal urban-commercial, the immediate setting is very nice on a brisk autumn day with splendid fall foliage, matched inside by flourishing plants in the atrium and elsewhere. We stay here fairly often, and on this visit noticed that the staff, as usual, are all extremely polite, efficient, knowledgeable, and helpful. The business center is small but very well equipped: computers, printer, copier, pencil sharpener, paper cutter, and a handy collection of office supplies, and everything is free of charge.

The manager's reception offered a little less than usual: not much but chips, dips, salsa, some fruit; but the bar was impressively stocked with Jim Beam, Grant's, and other such superior brands, along with a good brown ale.

The omelet chef at the breakfast did not impress me as accomplished; after standing in line and watching him work, I retreated to the ordinary scrambled eggs and bacon.

One complaint: the ham in my ham panini in the Atrium Restaurant was by far the number-one toughest piece of meat I have ever encountered in a fairly long career as a carnivore and even as an occasional judge of culinary contests. Another member of our party of four also got the ham panini: he had to remove the ham and attack it separately. But other diners found their hummus wraps and burgers very good.

On the whole, almost as good as ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your insight and on your experience and will use this to make some improvements. We hope you will visit us again soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.