We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Blacksburg, United States
1 review
“Embassy Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great Stay, very comfortable and love the evening reception you provide. Hits the spot after a long day of work. The accomodations were very clean, parking was convenient, and the hotel is close to good restaurants. I recommend this hotel for business or family stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please do come back and enjoy our Evening Reception again! Thank you for the recommendation. Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    138
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
192
72
20
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Richmond, VA is where I was born and raised, and I stay at this Embassy every time I go home. This is my second favorite Embassy (first is in Baltimore, MD near the airport). I've never had a bad experience at this Embassy. My room is always beautiful and clean. I enjoy the breakfast they provide and the room service is pretty good. If you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are a great number of restaurants right outside the hotel doors. Some are close enough to walk to. All of staff that I have contact with have been great. I wll be staying there agian in October hopefully.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback on our Staff, Suites, Breakfast, and our Evening Reception! We hope to always be your home away from home when you return to Richmond and we hope to see you in October. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have been to this hotel on numerous occasions in past years and found my most recent stay to be consistent with all my associations with this hotel.The same man I would see at the desk,whose name is Bobby,has been employed there for 18 years and he remembered me.Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so glad you chose Embassy Suites for your stay in Richmond! It will be my pleasure to share you remarks with Bobby and how he has made a difference! We hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us over the years - Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very good hotel. Peaceful at night, good/clean hotel room. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Complimentary dinner needed some upgrading. Mostly servered were peanuts, carrot sticks, celery, crackers, and dip. I had to go back and get several helpings before being satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area! We, and standard to Embassy Suites, offer an Evening Reception and the food options are light snacks. Dinner options are available in our Atrium Grill or Room Service. I hope this avoids disappointment if you should stay at Embassy Suites in the future and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have stayed at Embassy suites in three other cities. We have had very good experiences at all four. This was no exception. We were in town for a LAX tournament in Midlothian. 3 nights..

Positives were many - The rooms were spacious and clean, fold out bed pretty comfortable, terrific and polite housekeeping staff, and the food at breakfast was usually hot, always being replenished, and delicious. The made to order chef was a really nice guy who never stopped cooking...The front desk staff were fast, knowledgeable, and very pleasant. Our online reservation rates were intact, and we had no problems checking in and even got an extra half hour for late checkout. Parking was decent and close. the 24/7 laundromat saved our butts when our daughter realized she didn't air out OR wash her gear after a week of practice in 100F heat...detergent and fabric softener available in a rather tiny but handy general shop across from lobby.

It's hard to point out any negatives, but there were a couple. The trouble isn't really found with the hotel, but with clueless guests that make everyone else's stay unpleasant. Two things could have made this a five star review. Embassy suites has large central atriums and they can be noisy if you are not used to it. Some people are too stupid to realize they are in a public place where people SLEEP; same ones who don't know how to tell time.... management and even corporate can begin an education process for all guests to remind them to use lower volume after 11 PM in the atrium. Still, some morons thought it was cool to talk to each other from the balcony at 1 am. I also would've liked to see a cleaner swimming pool ( pretty filthy) and staff lifeguard, or staff control, to deal with parents who are clueless on how to keep their kids under control. I have 3 teenagers who are far from perfect, but these 6 teen girls were just plain obnoxious and rude. It's sad to see such a decline in personal responsibility among parents and their kids on the road these days.

Great tournament, really good hotel. 4 stars out of 5.

Room Tip: Try for top floors. Avoid rooms near ice machine or elevator if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for being an Embassy Suites fan! Please keep returning for more of our Full Cooked-to-Order Breakfast, Complimentary Evening Reception and Friendly Staff. We appreciate your feed back and will share yours with our team. We apologize for the noise created by other guests and behavior as you described, it is disappointing too and important for us to manage. We have also just converted our pool to a salt water pool. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager Embassy Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Nice Hotel; Very Clean; Friendly and Attentive Staff; Very Clean Suite; No Complaints; Complimentary breakfast was excellent. They have manager's reception during the dinner hour (5 to 7?) that I did not partake of but others I talked to seemed to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area! Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stay at this hotel a couple times per year as our team's home base for weekend soccer tournaments in the Richmond area. We love that the suites are able to accommodate everyone. We love the free manager's reception each evening, and we love the delicious breakfast. Our room is always clean and neat. The amenities, such as a sleeper sofa, fridge, and microwave are wonderful. The housekeeping service when we ask for extra towels and such is always prompt and friendly. Checkin and checkout are always smooth and quick. There is always plenty of hot water. The kids love the pool. I make use of the exercise room. And of course the atrium is beautiful and inviting.

I would like to highly recommend to management that they do something preemptive to address the apparent noise issue. Maybe they can consider erecting a partition or wall between the bar and atrium to serve as a sound barrier. With an open atrium, it is inevitable that noise from the bar will be carried up to the suite levels. It is not unreasonable for bar patrons to want to be able to enjoy a bar setting with a certain level of revelry, so a partition or wall would be a great way of serving ALL their clientele. I plan to return in November and am hopeful this part of the experience will be improved.

Room Tip: If noise is a concern for you, definitely ask to be in a room higher up and off to the sides, away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with your family. Our large suites are ideal for families and our evening reception and full breakfast is a convenient and great value. Our Atrium Restaurant requires us to keep noise levels conducive for an atrium hotel. We are not currently planning to enclose this area, but thank you for your thoughts. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;