We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Richmond
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We thought we would give Embassy another try after our last experience and we were much happier here in Richmond than in San Juan. Employees at both locales were equally as welcoming, the breakfast here was smaller in terms of choices, but it was equally as good. Those Krispy Kreme donuts here were fabulous and there were no crowds in Richmond. We didn't have time to try the pool but it looked clean and inviting. The room was modern and the beds were luxuriously comfortable. WOW. Plenty of free parking and lots of restaurants close by. Go down a couple more exits and you near the Antique mall on Staple Mill Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from stairwell because the doors would slam very loudly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to hear you decided to try Embassy Suites Hotels again in your travels! We hope you will choose Embassy Suites next time you visit Richmond or another destination. Your comments are appreciated, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    135
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
189
70
20
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Charged me for a day that I did not stay...notified them within 48 hours (Wednesday) that I had to leave due to a death in the family. When I attempted to check out Friday, I was told there would be no refund since I "pre-paid" online for this reservation. I don't have to stay at the Embassy Suites - Commerce Center in Richmond, VA as I have other options, but i have stayed there for 3 years in a row for the meetings I have to attend yearly for the VHSL Spring Meetings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel and for sharing feedback on your recent stay. We are sorry for the frustration this caused for you on your departure Friday. I see since then you have spoken with our Front Office Manager regarding assistance with your Advance Purchase situation. If I can be of any additional assistance please reach out to me directly, 804 521-1600. We send our condolences to your family and hope that next time you are in the area you will consider staying with us again. Warm Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel and the rooms in particular were cleaner and nicer than expected for the price, and than expected from the rather drab exterior. The hotel was fully booked with kids in a soccer tournament, but we thought the staff did a reasonably good job of managing the crowds, particularly at the pool and during breakfast. Location turned out to be a bit too far from the center of the city for us (all those traffic lights on Broad Street, ugh). Also, we ordered in room service for dinner and were very pleased with the quality. Get the shrimp and corn beignets (not really beignets, but still delicious)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you writing a review! We are glad you enjoyed dinner thru room service. We hope you choose us again for another stay and dine with us again when in Richmond! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager Embassy Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

An overnight stay while traveling on I 95 brought us to this recently remodeled Embassy Suites. Everything was new, crisp and clean. We always appreciate the 2 room suite with fridge & microwave, where a door can give a nice separation. As usual for Embassy Suites, the included full breakfast buffet was plentiful.

The only negative is a very small bathroom, although an extra sink area is provided in the bedroom.

Extra Hilton Honors points were accrued for eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are easy access when travelling on I-95 and we are glad you decided to stay with us! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Arrived mid day and was told our room was ready (around noon). We checked in and were sleeping (between 1 and 2 pm) when housekeeping knocked on the door and woke us up to ask when we would be checking out and leaving! Yes, the hotel was full (soccer tournament in town -- which we were participating in), but we had been told our room was ready (and it was), so why did housekeeping come to clean an already clean room?

The manager's reception was a bit disappointing --- yes, free drinks, but the "light appetizers" consisted of tortilla chips and salsa, veggies and dip, crackers and mixed nuts.

The next morning as we packed up (between 8 and 9 am), housekeeping knocked on our door AGAIN (thank goodness we didn't sleep in!) to find out when we would be leaving. If you advertise a 12 pm checkout, why are you knocking on doors before 9 am??? I have never felt as rushed to leave a hotel by the employees as I did with this stay. I like Embassy Suites, but I would hesitate to book at this property again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
While I was pleased to read we were able to check you in early, I was disappointed there was confusion with your room’s departure date and we caused you to feel rushed the next morning. I have shared your comments with our staff and thank you sharing your thoughts with us. We do hope you will give us another try if in Richmond and we hope you enjoyed the soccer tournament. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was very central location to everything - including the mall! The KONA GRILL near there was really good as well! I also ate at their great restaurant, happy hour, breakfast. I will definitely stay again. The employees were great too. They were very accommodating and rooms were very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are glad you were able to stay at the Embassy Suites Richmond and found our location to be convenient and well kept. It is great to hear you enjoyed our evening Manager’s Reception and Cooked to Order Breakfast. Our staff appreciates knowing you enjoyed their hospitality. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area! Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a surprise this hotel turned out to be. I paid almost nothing an got a huge suite, drinks at Happy Hour, breakfast and great service.
If I ever get back to Richmond, this is where I'd stay....in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you sharing your thoughts about the value of your stay at the Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are glad you were able to experience our difference with our Suites, Full Cooked-to-Order Breakfast, and Manager’s Reception. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.