We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just remodeled, clean 2 room suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just remodeled, clean 2 room suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

An overnight stay while traveling on I 95 brought us to this recently remodeled Embassy Suites. Everything was new, crisp and clean. We always appreciate the 2 room suite with fridge & microwave, where a door can give a nice separation. As usual for Embassy Suites, the included full breakfast buffet was plentiful.

The only negative is a very small bathroom, although an extra sink area is provided in the bedroom.

Extra Hilton Honors points were accrued for eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are easy access when travelling on I-95 and we are glad you decided to stay with us! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    138
    48
    21
    7
See reviews for
192
72
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Arrived mid day and was told our room was ready (around noon). We checked in and were sleeping (between 1 and 2 pm) when housekeeping knocked on the door and woke us up to ask when we would be checking out and leaving! Yes, the hotel was full (soccer tournament in town -- which we were participating in), but we had been told our room was ready (and it was), so why did housekeeping come to clean an already clean room?

The manager's reception was a bit disappointing --- yes, free drinks, but the "light appetizers" consisted of tortilla chips and salsa, veggies and dip, crackers and mixed nuts.

The next morning as we packed up (between 8 and 9 am), housekeeping knocked on our door AGAIN (thank goodness we didn't sleep in!) to find out when we would be leaving. If you advertise a 12 pm checkout, why are you knocking on doors before 9 am??? I have never felt as rushed to leave a hotel by the employees as I did with this stay. I like Embassy Suites, but I would hesitate to book at this property again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
While I was pleased to read we were able to check you in early, I was disappointed there was confusion with your room’s departure date and we caused you to feel rushed the next morning. I have shared your comments with our staff and thank you sharing your thoughts with us. We do hope you will give us another try if in Richmond and we hope you enjoyed the soccer tournament. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was very central location to everything - including the mall! The KONA GRILL near there was really good as well! I also ate at their great restaurant, happy hour, breakfast. I will definitely stay again. The employees were great too. They were very accommodating and rooms were very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are glad you were able to stay at the Embassy Suites Richmond and found our location to be convenient and well kept. It is great to hear you enjoyed our evening Manager’s Reception and Cooked to Order Breakfast. Our staff appreciates knowing you enjoyed their hospitality. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area! Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a surprise this hotel turned out to be. I paid almost nothing an got a huge suite, drinks at Happy Hour, breakfast and great service.
If I ever get back to Richmond, this is where I'd stay....in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you sharing your thoughts about the value of your stay at the Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are glad you were able to experience our difference with our Suites, Full Cooked-to-Order Breakfast, and Manager’s Reception. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice so far, and have really enjoyed it both times. The furnishings and interior are slightly worn - our last room could use a paint job. But everything else about our stay was enjoyable. The suite was nice and spacious, and the bed was quite comfortable. The kids loved the inside courtyard, and indoor pool. The happy hour was a great way to unwind after traveling, and I think this point alone could convert me to an Embassy Suites loyal customer. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and made us feel right at home. The free hot breakfast was a great perk - an omelette station, fresh fruit, great coffee....and who doesn't want endless amounts of bacon? We really enjoyed the stay, and we will definitely be returning to the Embassy Suites during our next stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, spacious suites, Full Breakfast, and the Nightly Manger’s Reception We hope you and your family will visit us again soon. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stay here once or twice a year, and have always enjoyed the experience. This Embassy Suites offers roomy suites that seem well maintained, and it does what all these properties do in providing a generous manager's reception for a couple of hours every afternoon and an equally generous cooked-to-order breakfast every morning. Depending on your capacity (as well as hunger and thirst), these benefits could be worth $40 per person, so that you get a $140 suite for two for what amounts to $60.
I can add that the place is laid out in an usually complex design, so that it can be difficult to find the public restrooms---but that is by no means a serious drawback.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We are glad you enjoyed the benefits and value we offer with our Cooked-to-Order Hot Breakfast and Manager’s Reception. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts and also for choosing to return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond! Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me begin by saying that this staycation for my husband and I was very much needed. I am a full time grad student, I work full time and we have a 12 year old daughter so my time is very limited with my husband. We decided to go to the Embassy Suites in Richmond because it was just a short drive from home and we have had wonderful experiences with Embassy Suites in the past. I only pick hotels with hot tubs because I don't have one at home and I love relaxing in the hot tub. Well, we had a great dinner and great service at the hotel. We changed and went to the hot tub at about 11:00 PM, only to find that it wasn't even lukewarm. My husband called the front desk and he was told that it must have just been refilled and it wasn't warm yet. So, I was ok with just going the next morning. Well, the same thing happened the next morning. We were told by the maintenance man that he would have to drain the tub and refill it and that would take away from the water pressure in the hotel so he couldn't do it. He said it would take 2 hours to heat up even if he could do whatever he needed to do. Sooo, I didn't get to go to the hot tub during our stay. I believe that the front desk manager said that she had that problem the week before but was able to rectify it. We were given $20 worth of movie tickets as an appeasement....did I mention that I have NO TIME for anything but school, work, and family??? I have no idea if or when we will ever use the tickets. I know it may sound whiny but I almost cried when I couldn't enjoy the hot tub because I was so looking forward to relaxing in it during my one night getaway. Also, our room was right over the HVAC system so I barely slept because of the noise of it turning on and off. The sliding door didn't lock but since we were on the 5th floor, we just dealt with it. All in all, I wouldn't go back to this hotel and it is sad because I usually love Embassy Suites.

Room Tip: DO NOT GET A ROOM OVER THE HVAC SYSTEM!!!! Check you sliding door when you first get in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues with the hot tub and we will work with our maintenance team to ensure that this is addressed immediately. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and we hope you will consider staying with us again. We would love another chance to provide a great stay for you and your husband. Thank you again for your comments. Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.