We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 80 hotels in Richmond
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times traveling from FL to home. All the rooms are in a "rectangle" and easy to get to. Upon arrival you can have a delicious cookie and The USA Today if you'd like. They have a cocktail hour from 5-7 with great (free) snacks! They also have an excellent included buffet breakfast and the rates are reasonable. It is off the interstate so is easily accessible when one is traveling.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for submitting a review. We are thrilled you selected us on your drive from FL. Our location is very good for stopping over on I-95 as well as I-64. We hope to see you again. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    127
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
185
68
20
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is everything I expected from an Embassy. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, good service, and clean. The hotel was not noisy like other Embassy's that I have stayed in, so I was able to get a good nights sleep. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Please do come stay again, and again, and again!! Thank you for posting a review and we hope to see you return. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughters and I really enjoyed everthing about this hotel. It was my daughters birthday weekend so she really enjoyed, the spa, swimming. For breakfast we eat until we could eat no more. The location was great because if you didn't want the food from the hotel, there was Friday's TGIF...Famous Dave's, and Hooter's in the area pretty much right outside the doors. No problem in accessing to the internet and cable on TV. For swimming there is adult swim after 10PM. NO KIDS that was cool. Open bar when we arrived, just had fun enjoying my family for the weekend. Yes, I would like to do it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Than you for writing a reveiw and we hope you come back soon. Love to hear you just had fun enjoying your family for a weekend! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. C.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoy staying here because we can relax in the suite's living room area that's separate
from bedroom and have a great breakfast. Love the tropical plants. Location is very convenient to shopping, movies, downtown concerts.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on third floor next to heating/cooling units outside. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious suites and Full Cooked-to-Order Breakfast! We hope you will visit Richmond and us again soon. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stewart Pillow is ultra polite. check in was painless and check out was even less painless! had a late check out and had lunch in the hotel. Maris was a very pleasant server. The food was fair/good. the only complaint is that when I called to make my reservation I specifically asked the young lady if I could make my reservation with her and she said "no I can't make your reservation but I will connect you to the 1800 number". After being on hold for 5 min I called the front desk again and she decided to let me make my reservation through the front desk. I asked her why she told me that she couldn't do this 5 minutes ago and she said" I thought it would be faster through the 1800 number". bottom line, she was just being LAZY. other than her, everyone was very polite and helpful including the construction workers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and I will share your comments with Stewart and Maris. I apologize for the delay you experienced making a reservation with our 800 number. Our first choice is to let our 800 number take reservations to allow our front desk personnel to service the guests at the hotel. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with two adult family members over Christmas for a total of five nights. We were very pleased and will return. The major plus factors: a suite is terrific when folks go to bed and arise at different times - the hotel was very clean - the breakfast setup is terrific - the staff is friendly and accommodating - the location allows easy interstate access - there are lots of good restaurants in the area - plenty of free parking and free wifi - the rooms are well appointed at the 3.5 star level. We had no complaints at all.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious suites and we have found our guests do appreciate our WIFI, Full Breakfast, and the Nightly Manger’s Reception included without additional charges We a very happy you plan to return! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed last night at the Embassy Suites in Richmond (Commerce Center). The front desk person was very nice. There were kids running through the lobby so she told us she would give us a higher floor to get away from the noise. Nice idea but it didn't work. Kids were running up and down the hallways and yelling at each other from across the atrium. This went on for hours. Our bathroom was gross. There was something green on the ceiling in the shower and there was hair in the drain. In the morning the maid tried to come in the room at 9:00 (we didn't have a "do not disturb" sign). I told her we were still there, she tried again about 30 minutes later..geez. The worst part of the stay are this high pitch singing in the pipes that started around 7:00 am. It didn't stop, it was horrible. This was by far the one of the worst experiences we have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas for improvement. I understand that cleanliness and noise were issues during your stay. I apologize that your comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team to ensure that this is not a problem in the future. However, I would like for you to know that we have addressed our housekeeping team in regards to your bathroom, and we don't see cleanliness being an issue going forward. We are also sorry you were also bothered by a high pitched noise. That is quiet unusual and we will look into the matter to see if we can discover anything that could cause such a noise. We do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.
Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.